We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Big Beach Front, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, Big Beach Front, Good Location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked the hotel through Expedia as it was advertised as Pet Friendly. Expedia allowed us to book an Ocean Front room; however, upon arrival, we were informed that only select rooms are available for pets. We were obviously disappointed, but the front desk manager Chrissy went out of her way to find the best room possible for us on a sold out weekend and refunded the additional cost of the room.

The rooms all have a small kitchenette and a very large screened-in patio, which is great for pets. The hotel has a very large and private beach front area. The tiki bar is nice and the staff member taking drink orders from those of us enjoying our beach chairs was a plus. The location is in walking distance to 3 restaurants, including fast food from Burger King.

While we would have preferred an ocean front view, we enjoyed our stay with our pet and would return to this hotel. Kudos to Chrissy for handling a very sensitive situation like a pro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivingDuoATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Diving Duo - or should that be trio ? So glad you and your pet enjoyed your stay and I apologize for the confusioin with the guest rooms. We do try to keep the pets in the same area and there are a few ocean view pet friendly rooms ( my favorite is #123 ). I'm happy to hear that Chrissy was able to take care of things for you. I know she will appreciate you mentioning her. Hope to see all of you back soon. thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    526
    180
    77
    70
See reviews for
499
587
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in September 2013, as the first half of our 8-night scuba diving trip to the Keys.

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food offered by the on-site restaurant. At first glance we didn't have high expectations as it looked to be a typical poolside bar, but every single thing we ordered over the course of our stay was excellent. In fact, it was so good we only once opted to eat a meal off the property. It certainly made for a relaxing visit, not having to leave the property to get our meals. The free continental breakfast served in the lobby was average or better. It was appreciated that breakfast was available starting at 6am, which nicely accommodates visitors who are on morning fishing, scuba, and snorkel charters.

The rooms were nice and clean, no complaints there. The buildings and rooms are well maintained, but are showing their age in certain aspects, although that's typical for many properties in the Keys. The common areas, including the pool and "beach" areas, were very clean and well maintained.

There were only two downsides for me. First, on one night of our stay there was the most loud and obnoxious group of guests partying and literally screaming at the top of their lungs well past 2am in the morning and there was no intervention by the staff to manage it (to be fair, I didn't call and ask, but you couldn't be on the property and not be aware of what was going on). Second, day time food/drink service at the bar and especially the pool was inconsistent. On one occasion by the pool we didn't see our server for 45 minutes after she brought our drinks, we went back to our room, then later she called us and asked us to come to the restaurant to sign our bill (not really necessary since she had our room number, and she could have brought it to us to sign...we had a poolside room).

Great food, good property, large comfortable rooms, generally friendly and engaged staff, clean, although somewhat dated. Overall, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Jeff - Thank you for your nice post. I think with the screened porches, tiles floors, etc.. the property is perfect for divers and dive gear. You will be happy to know we just started re-doing the guest rooms as part of our affiliation with the Guy Harvey Outpost group. I hope you will come back to see the new artwork, bed linens, drapes, light fixtures, etc... Even the restaurant is getting a re-do. We are all very excited. Come back soon ! thanks again, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the resort this weekend and I was very disappointed by the service. The girl at the front desk on Friday afternoon was rude and indifferent and the bartender was no better. The rooms were decent & clean and the property is beautiful. But I will not spend money again at this resort or their restaurant. The people that work at the property reflect the management and how they want their resort run. Too many other nice places to stay in the Keys that want the tourist business.

Room Tip: You will get better service at another resort in the Keys
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Paula - I'm so sorry you had a bad experience. That is definitely not the level of service we strive to provide. It's important for us to hear more about your employee interaction so we can make improvements. Please give our General Manager a call or an email if you have time to discuss further, Robin@GuyHarveyOutpostIslamorada.com thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The grounds and location are excellent. I think the room could have been a little cleaner, however, we stayed in a room with our dogs and I think those rooms are probably harder to keep clean. It was okay though. The rooms had huge patios which were great for the dogs. The kitchen had everything we needed. The woman attendant at check out could have been a little friendlier but I can't say that it ruined my stay. We will definitely return next year if possible.

Room Tip: They only allow pets in the rooms in the back of the property. These are still pretty good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldensForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall great resort. Would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. The best part about the resort is they have so many activities from snorkeling excursions to kayak rentals right there on their beach. Hammocks are everywhere so you can relax and watch a beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jungle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Jungle J - Those hammocks have been a big hit. We just ordered more. Hope to see you back swinging in one again soon - Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend and had a blast. The beach is beautiful and the pool was lively with adults and children. There is a tiki bar with food which was great.
On the beach they have a bunch of water activities you can rent. We rented a boat for half a day (4 hours) and it was definitely affordable. They also have poles, snorkeling gear, bikes, aquatic bikes, jet skis, kayaks, and paddle boards. You can fish off the pier as well. Volleyball net! There is just too much to do we couldn't fit it all in two days.
I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeezN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Islander for the first time 9/21-9/24 to celebrate our anniversary. We’ve been to the Keys many times over the last 10 years and we absolutely adored this property. We will definitely be back!

The Pros: screened lanais, small kitchenette and grills available so that you can cook your own meals. Continental breakfast was included. We would go grab bagels and toast them in our rooms and cook eggs. We brought cold cuts and snacks for lunch and grilled out at dinner. We did eat and drink at the Tiki bar and thought the food was excellent. The prices were all in line for what you would pay in the area. The hammocks around the property added to our relaxation. The pools were very good size - had both fresh and salt water pools. The beach was one of the nicest in the Keys (everyone should know that the Keys are not known for the beaches). Watching the sunrise on the beach and walking across the street to see the sunset at the Lorelei was nice.

The Cons: the room could have been cleaner for my standards. We are kind of clean freaks – was able to purchase cleaning wipes and do my own wipe down of things. Preferred to keep flips flops on while in the room. We could have slept better - mattresses could probably use replacing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello DPaina -
Thank you for your nice post. We're so happy to hear you had a nice anniversary stay and you enjoyed the pools, hammock and the beach. Just wanted to let you know that we are getting new beds and new linens as part of our renovation as we affiliate with Guy Harvey Outpost. Hope to see you on your next anniversary so you can see al the greaet property improvements.
Thanks again, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing