We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I hope”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got there at 2:30 pm " check-in was At 3 clerk said they had 96 check outs. I understood it was Labor day weekend She said, It was garuandteed. We did not get in our room our rom to 4:30 and only after the bartender called to up for us. We walk into a "stench" of cigarette smoke The rooms are "smoke Free" , but people are allowed to smoke on the lanai. We had to go out and buy room fresher . The rest of week , went better, pool bar and pool were great, with great food and service. The entire property is very attractive and well maintained

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIVERDICKFl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Diver Dick - I'm so sorry your lanai smelled of smoke. We are "smoke free," but, you are correct and folks do smoke out on their porch and that smell does linger. Our next step might be to become a totally smoke free property. Happy to hear the bartender took care of you. Thank you for taking time to let us know about the smoke smell, I'll use that as an example in our next housekeeping meeting and ask them to check the porch areas better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
There are newer reviews for Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

To celebrate a birthday, 8 of us gals stayed at the Islander. We were delighted with the cottage type setting, the kitchen and the screened in porch.

the only improvement would be queen in stead of 2 doubles in the rooms.

Lunch at the on site Tiki Bar was great, as was the service. Lounging on the beach and the pools were great. Although we did not need it, the hoist for disabled in the pool area was indeed thoughtful. All 8 of us would return.

Room Tip: Staff very helpful and informative to meet your needs. We stayed during the week so know problems.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan432013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a nice hotel but it could be better. It was just not clean enough for me. Awesome location and a lot of room for kids to run around. Needs better restaurant on site and more activities. The Pool was awesome and the restaurant across the street was real good and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alssndrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a family reunion at the resort with 10 people. We stayed 10 days and had a great time. The grounds are wonderful and the beach is beautiful. Caught many fish off the beach. The only downside was the local traffic coming in and using the facilities. On the weekends car loads of people would show up using the pools and the beach. Made this peaceful place very active. There were no Security chasing them away or asking them to leave. You pay good money to saty there and people are coming in for free.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom facing the ocean. Beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bzukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello -
We are so glad you enjoyed the resort and beach. Even better that you caught fish ! We are a popular place for locals, as well as, hotel guests. We do have security on the weekends and try to limit the non-hotel guest traffic. I'm sorry if it felt crowded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel and the location is great. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beach is adjacent and has a wonderful view. You can bring a canopy, soda, water, music as well. The pool on the other hand is very strict. All those items are not allowed and you will be told immediately by the pool attendant. Also, they will walk around the pool constantly to make sure there is no outside food or drinks. Water sports equipment can be rented but show up early. Kids everywhere!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JmeVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello JmVC -
We are so glad you love the hotel and the location, but, so sorry you weren't happy with the staff. If you can share a little more info on that, it would be appreciated. Please feel free to email or call our General Manager - Robin@islanderfloridakeys.com. The fenced in area around the Tiki Bar and pool is all considered "food service area" by the department of health so we can't allow outside food & beverage in that area. I hope that clarifies the policy.
Thanks again for sharing your post !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Manager at the pool - Mark Gardner - doubted my legitimacy about my guest information. Came back to me with 2 security guards and told me I was "too inebriated" to be at the pool. Mind you I had had 2 beers. And made my 2 friends and I leave. Everyone at the pool was shocked and confused. Other hotel guests told me they thought it was ridiculous and his actions were rude, unnecessary and demeaning. I will never stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megankrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

I am so sorry your stay did not go as planned. I'm very surprised to hear Mark treated you with anything besides respect. That sounds very out of character for him. Can you please give our General Manager a call to discuss further ? 305-664-2031 Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

There was nothing we didn't like about this resort.We went snorkeling 50 feet from our room,our lunch and dinner were marvelous...Cuban lobster...WOW.Our room was huge and stocked with all the essentials including a wine opener.And even though the ocean is only a few feet away the have two lovely pools and a spa tub,A screened in porch by the pools was great to relax in.We WILL be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you Sharon ! So glad you had a good time. Only another wine drinker could appreciate that cork screw as much as I do: ) Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,846 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $155 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing