We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, loud, loud guests, no phone, no coffee maker, lumpy beds, no help from the front desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Lauderdale by the Sea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loud, loud, loud guests, no phone, no coffee maker, lumpy beds, no help from the front desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I should have known when we arrived. Front desk was too busy answering the phone to even smile at check-in. But, we were still happy. Went to our room located in a building near to the beach area. Regardless of what they advertise, beach view means a tiny bit of view from 200 yards away. Still happy.
I need to say we are very fun loving, no strangers to a good party but, we were located smack in the middle of a very boisterous family reunion. They must have had 10 rooms scattered around us. VERY loud music until 1-2:00 AM every night. Not so happy.
Tried to call the front desk but the room phone did not work, neither did the coffee maker or bed side lamp. Finally emailed the desk and got a response a day later on the morning we left to say they sent security who did nothing, nothing, nothing to even slow the party down. One of the worst hotel beds we have ever slept on, lumpy and worn. Had no maid service the first day there, I notified the front desk who said "I'm sorry" that's it. Not so happy anymore.
If I had paid $59.00 a night I would have expected this type of accommodations but at $238.00 a night with every single amenity an additional cost I thought I was taken advantage of.
There was no regard for the comfort of other guests regarding the noise from this reunion. We took our bed comforter off the bed to hang over the door to muffle the sound. I know it's the keys, things happen, we came to relax and enjoy the incredible beauty this area offers but NEVER at the Islander again! Spend the extra $100 a day and go to the Cheeca Lodge, heaven on earth!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    459
    155
    63
    63
See reviews for
421
496
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked a pool side king room for our first anniversary. Check in did not give us a very good first impression. There was one lady at the front desk taking a phone call and signaled to us that she would be a minute, which is fine. Then she hung up the phone, and ignored us. Two people walked in, went behind the desk, and also ignored us. Then another lady came in and asked if we had been helped. We said no and we are checking in. She looked us up, gave us our keys and towels and sent us on our way in less than 2 minutes. She was quick, but it was not a very warm welcome. We were never told the pool hours, breakfast hours, or where anything was. Our room was nice. It was nice to have a kitchen and the little sitting area outside. I did not find this place to be very clean though. It wasn't filthy, but the baseboards could all use a dust and the walls would benefit from a fresh coat of paint. Also, there was always hair on the bathroom floor that clearly did not belong to my husband or I. The walls are very thin and our neighbor decided they would rearrange the furniture at 11 pm every night, or at least that's what it sounded like. The pool area was nice. There were always kids having a blast. The beach was OK, the water is not really swim-able in my opinion. Lots of sea grass and fish. Very shallow and very rocky. All in all, this place did what we needed it to, but I was expecting more. It did not ruin our vacation or anything, but I was disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your stay. We will definitely talk to the front desk about check in procedures. I'm so sorry you got less than stellar service - that's no way to start your vacation. Not sure what to think about your "late night decorating" neighbors, if you reported it to the office I hope we were able to quiet them down for you. Certainly we will discuss the cleanliness issue with our housekeeping staff, there's really no excuse for missing hair on the floor. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were upgraded to a beach side unit for our 33 wedding anniversary, it was very nice of them! The staff is outstanding and very accomodating, making a reservation was a bit of a challenge, I could not understand the gentlemen on the other line (India call center) after two attemps I hung up and booked on line with Expedia, other than that it was a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taxibigjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

WE WOULD definately stay here again! Perfect Location! We took our 15 yr. old son and had a great time! Awesome HUGE beach area, not the best for swimming, but there are plenty of other places to swim in the ocean around the area. We took a day trip to Key West, which is 77 miles South, Robbies is awesome and the Lorilie right across the street is an inexpensive place to eat, with good food! Tower Of Pizza also delivers to the Islander and their food was good too!

Room Tip: Don't stay by the pool unless you love to hear screaming children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanlover1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came for a family reunion and had a GREAT time. The front desk staff of Krissy and Trisch were a pleasure to see every morning with the complimentary breakfast. Anything you need, they are there with a smile on their face ready to help. The Tiki bar and restaurant was a big surprise. We expected a place to get a drink and have some OK food, but it was much better than that. Andy (The head chef) is fantastic and had great specials every night. We caught enough yellow tail snapper for two night’s meals and he made it four different ways that were all fantastic. (The sides were great as well) Vern the bartender was super and more than willing to accommodate special requests. He seemed to read your mind and just did things before you even knew you needed them; but of course a few minutes later you would ask and he was already on it!! We ate at many other restaurants while we were there, but the food at the Tiki bar was as good as anywhere else we ate. (We just like variety, so of course we would mix it up)
Be sure and check out the water sports on site for snorkeling,jet skis, large paddle boats and sailing. David & Joe were so good, we ended up jet skiing four times and that's only because we ran out of time. We could have gone several more times, since they are ready to mix up your trips and never made you feel you were a bother. The snorkeling trip to the reef's were a big hit with lot's of beautiful coral fish and they did not hurry you at all. My young grandson went out once and then wanted to go right back out. David made it all happen and watched over him, even snorkeled with him!!! These guys are just great!!! The swimming pools were clean and overall the staff were always friendly.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are much better and have a cool breeze on the patio all the time. The rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had our wedding here on June 20th. The location is gorgeous. Upon getting here we wished that we would have made reservations to stay here (we stayed at a home rental). The property is awesome! Big pool area, great bar and nice beach area for the kids! The food at our reception was out of this world! Everyone was great and accommodating. I would not change a thing about our day, especially not the location! Thank you to Karly and Corie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgodlewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your wedding was just perfect ! We're so happy you spent your special day with us. Hope to see you back for your anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent two nights for a short vacation the resort was immaculate,the onsite tiki bar and dining were fantastic and the rooms were great. There was plenty to keep the kids buzy and it was close to everything that we like to do in Islamorada.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your post is so nice - thank you very much ! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing