We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like paradise”
Review of Islander Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islander Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a night in Islander resort and we found the place beautiful. The two swimming pools and the beach were just splendid.
Our room was nice , very clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The price is affordable for the Keys much as we were 2 adults and three children.
We loved the place and we're be coming back on the way to Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy you found us and look forward to seeing you on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked in on our way to the keys as a stop off, and loved it so much were happy to hang around longer. Staff are friendly and helpful. Stayed in a twin room, enough space for 4 sharing and at a very good rate. The restaurant had god selection of food at reasonable rates. Didn't use the pool as sea was much nicer and at waist high for a long way in. Clean beach, plenty of loungers and space and shade. We will be booking in on way back from keys too, if here is room.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Cluckington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We got lucky here...just driving by on our way to key west and came in. Wow. Checked out the next morning and drove to key West and turned around to stay here for three more days. No comparison! Love it! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank techgmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your post. We are thrilled you found us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I happened on the Islander after staying at another place (Kon Tiki) and wanting an upgrade for the second half of my trip. Cheeca was too expensive and too golf/spa-ish. Islander is perfect! Older resort, refurbished but still has some of its mid-century appeal. The management made some smart choices in where they spent their money - on the pools (two, one saltwater), the outdoor bar, and the beach area. I couldn't get out of my first hotel's registration right away, but I spent all day there on the beach. Cute furnishings, not too fancy. Very clean rooms, with comfortable mattress, granite countertop in bath, good toiletries. I also liked that, as a woman here by myself, I felt secure, and the heavy drape closed all the way so no one could see in. The courtyard areas, where most of the rooms are, are well-maintained, with gorgeous, mature trees and good landscaping. Staffers are friendly and seem to like their jobs. The food is good at the outdoor tiki bar - grilled chicken was delicious. Try the virgin mango daiquiri! The screened porch (every unit) is great in the evenings. (To save money, you could cook in the kitchenette and barbecue on the grill outside your screened porch.) I also did the Waverunner tour, for an hour, seeing manatees, herons, pelicans! Tour guide Joe was great, knew some back ways in the mangrove tunnels. Very cool and worth the $99 (plus tip). I'll be back for sure, with family or a group of friends. Love this place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank jetthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking time to post this review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely pass along your nice comments to the staff, especially the Beach Hut folks. Thank you - hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I can remember the first year my husband & I went to Islamorada, we kept seeing this very retro looking sign for the Islander Resort from the road, & we passed by it several times throughout our stay. We kept making fun of how 70s looking the sign was, saying how the place was probably a total dump that hadn't been redone in decades. So one day to amuse ourselves, we decided to pull in to take a look. All you can see from the road is the sign, so we thought we'd be in for a good laugh as soon as we went back into the resort. Well, we were sure wrong and in for a big surprise when we saw how beautiful this resort is. Set on a beautiful property, the hotel rooms each have their own screened in porches, that lead to the beautiful yard I guess I'll call it, which is a large area with hammocks and beautiful foliage. You keep going, & it takes you down to the pool/beach/bar area, which is just amazing. The rooms are nice, the prices are affordable. We actually made the decision to pack up our stuff & change hotels! Since then, it has been kind of our place, & we go back again and again. It really is a great resort for an affordable price-you won't be sorry if you choose the Islander!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Islander for 2 nights, paying much more than we usually would $558. The place was clean, but my biggest complaint was the pool area. First there was no shade, but there was an option to rent an umbrella for $10 half day or $15 for a full. I would not expect that I would have to pay for an umbrella. There was no food or drinks allowed in the pool area at all. People all around were sneaking water & snacks in their bags. We had a diet coke & were told to get rid of it or stand outside the fence & drink it. It was ridiculas for grown people to be sneaking snacks. One woman had a snack size bag of chips & was spoken to. It was explained they wanted us to buy everything from them. A small glass of coke was $6 & a small rum runner was $9. You could not even bring in juice boxes for kids. The continental breakfast was similar that you would get at any Red Roof Inn. The beach was large, but the sand very coarse & hard. I felt they were trying to get every last nickle they could. We are not ones to complain but at these prices we were expecting more. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank o13bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

It seems at $558 you were most likely in one of our ocean front suites and April is one of the busier times of the year in the Keys. You will find more economical rates during the week and in the summer months.

With 2 pools, 1,300 feet of oceanfront, scattered palm trees, and covered seating by the upper pool in the Tiki Bar area, we like to think we can accommodate people's desire for sun or shade. However, based on your comment, we will certainly reconsider this and discuss it with our owners. Currently, we have an outside vendor in charge of renting umbrellas, snorkel gear, bicycles, etc…

We will definitely speak with our staff to be sure they explain our policies to guests in a more professional manner, as it is mandated by our state food and liquor license to not have outside food and drinks within the pool / Tiki Bar service area.

We're sorry you felt that we were "trying to get every last nickel from our guests." Many of our guests take advantage of the full kitchens in each of our guest rooms, the picnic areas and grill stations. As well as, our complimentary daily continental breakfast.

We have a natural sand beach. In the Florida Keys, sand is primarily made up of fine particles of coral rock. That is why it seems coarse and hard.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Islander for 4 nights. The resort was perfectly located for exploring the Keys ( we went to Key West on a day trip and also visited the Bahia Honda Park) and relaxing. The resort offers both pools and a secluded beach - though I need to point out that the beach is not sandy and to get into the water one can either use some steps or the boat landing area, but be careful there were some rubbish like plastic bottles and even broken glass on this stretch which was in contrast to the otherwise really well kept resort. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen area well equipped. What was surprising was the fact that the breakfast (which was offering a good selection) was served on plastic plates and with flimsy plastic cutlery.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beasck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,851 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort

Address: 82100 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanside, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $160 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Islander Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing