We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The keys is expensive regardless of where you stay and what your comfort level is. This place is a happy medium, you can save a few $$ with having the kitchen and the picnic BBQ grills and bring your own food, but the restaurant here is delightful and you pay for what you get. They were very accommodating and we enjoyed our meal very much, service was good, waiter was pleasant. The only cons the bed, not very comfy at all, and a few bugs, common in FL, so we are used to them, but just a few more than our comfort...., other than that it has been relaxing and calm, exactly what we were looking for, would still recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebs2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    515
    176
    72
    69
See reviews for
488
575
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you want a snazzy, 5 star hotel, this isn't it. But It's a great place for families. Each room has a kitchenette, a king or 2 queen beds, a fscren TV, a table and 4 chairs. Then there's a screened porch with another table and 4 chairs. They even provide a small breakfast buffet, with plenty of kid-friendly choices. Walk a few minutes to the pools, hot tub, water sports hut, and beach. Lots of options for the whole family, with some great restaurants close by, like Chef Michael's and Pierre's, if you want to spend the money you just saved by staying here instead of the fancy place close by.

Room Tip: Dt choose the rooms closest to the beach, because they are also closest to the pool, which means les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was looking for a stop off before Key West so looked on line and found this.I should have done some more homework and looked elsewhere. I would rate it a glorified motel not hotel. Booked in the summer for Christmas week and there were plenty of rooms available. Because of weather delays got to the hotel late nite but called ahead and told them of the problem in which they didn't indicate a problem. The room we got was probably the most out of the way room in the complex in the pets alowed section. We were checked in by a night clerk who if he made more than minimum wage should give it back and rudely told us that if you loose any keys that we would be charged $50.00 each. Hello to you too mr rude. Room wasn't the cleanest, the beds were uncomfortable and the continental breakfast was just ok. Long walk to the pool from the room through unkept grounds, Oh maybe it was because they put us in the pet area! Pool area and beach area was nice but if I was to go to that Key again I would stay at a nicer place for the same money.

Room Tip: I you have to stay here ask for a room near the pool or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel/motel/resort is a little caught in the 1980's but is a great location, good beach and has a nice breakfast buffet included in the price of the room. The rooms have been redone "recently" but the entire resort reminds me of something out of the 1980's. The staff was somewhat friendly but more aloof. They have an onsite bar/restaurant with okay food and slightly expensive drinks but hey you are right on the beach. Overall it was a comfortable and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front are close to the breakfast and away from the noisy pool, but have no view. Pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Drive into the resort and you are off the main highway far enough you feel you're not "on the strip." All of the rooms are within a short walk to the pool, restaurant and beach. We were glad we did not have a room near the pool since the music was loud and so were all the kids. We were far enough away to have a quiet room but close enough to get to the beach quickly. Our check-in experience was really disappointing, with a very rude employee who insisted that all the rooms were full and that the only one left was the handicap room. She also told us the restaurant was overbooked and we couldn't get in. We finally accepted the room which was uncomfortable with a very low bed. I called the restaurant and they told us to come right over. It wasn't even half full and they said they had lots of room. Dinner was excellent and we enjoyed the evening. We drove to Key West the next day and came back to the Tiki Bar for dinner and drinks. It was busy so we sat at the bar and ordered our dinner. The hotel manager was sitting next to us and the bar/restaurant manager next to her. I told them both of our experience the night before and they apologized profusely. We learned that the hotel was not full and the manager apologized that we were given the room we had been. Because we were leaving soon and were unpacked, we kept our room even though she offered us an upgrade. We did appreciate the offer and the bar/restaurant manager treated us with appetizers and drinks. I felt they were sincere and am sure that the rude employee was reprimanded. We would consider the hotel again if going to the Keys. The location was good within easy driving distance to a few restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Close to the pool is noisy. Select one which is further away and you'll still find that it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a brilliant week staying at his lovely resort. The 2 pools, beach and the restaurant were idyllic so was the food. Superb catch of the day dishes. The villas are situated in lovely well cared for gardens with beautiful plants and trees. One small thing that we were slightly disappointed in was the inclusive continental breakfast it just needs to be improved upon. We would definitely go back again though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindafoster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. We had an ocean view room. Nice areas to grill, decent pools. Great outdoor areas, but the room was dirty and the AC very loud (Impossible to sleep in room 114 ). The floor was so dirty that we had to make sure to wear sandals all the time. the kitchen floor close to the stove was greasy, dirty and gross (It looked like not being clean there for months! They do not bother to clean behind the toilet either! Also, the bed sheet had a yellow stain... For $250 a night, this hotel was a big dissapointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJMiami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
662 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing