We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here”

Lobster Trap Art Gallery
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lobster Trap Art Gallery is a unique gallery full of colorful art from Nadine and Glenn Lahti and other local artists from the Florida Keys. Our artists have created hundreds of original works and our frame shop has constructed thousands of hand built and custom lobster trap frames, made from original lobster trap wood, since 2003. With bright tropical colors and island music playing, come see why this gallery is the epitome of "Island Life". Visit our website to see our online gallery and do more shopping. You don't have to live on the islands to lead the "Island Lifestyle!"
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love it here”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I met the owners of this gallery at the Delray Affair, in Delray Beach, Florida about four months ago. They're are very nice people and have a wonderful selection of pieces at their gallery. Make sure to stop in while you're in the area!! We have three of their pieces in our home now.

Helpful?
Thank JCTravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are honored to know that you have THREE of our pieces in your home! Thanks again!

Nadine, Glenn, and the team at Lobster Trap Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    57
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Dade
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Art store in Islamorada”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am in the Keys every week and have been a visitor since the late 70's but in the past 5 years, have been collecting Art from local artists.
A couple of years ago,while at Robbies,I saw a stand with cool painted tiles on lobster traps so I bout one. Then,a month later,saw another I liked but the lady told me to go to the gallery store and they could personalize them anyway I wanted so I did.
I met the artists,the lovely couple,Nadine and Glenn and have been buying ever since.
My Chiki hut is full and so is my Florida room,lol.. It makes me feel like I am living in the Keys and my guests all love them.
Don't miss out on this acquiring one of their lovely pieces for you or as a gift.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MiamiDadeBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled that your chiki hut and florida room are full with our art! It's great to hear that our pieces can re-create the feeling of being in the Keys. Thanks again!

Nadine, Glenn, and the team at Lobster Trap Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the Keys home with you”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love the Keys and I love Lobster Trap Art Gallery. They have great colorful items that take me back to the Keys each time I look at them. My Tiki is decorated with many of their unique items and iithey are a topic of conversation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Bob,

Thank you for your words of praise! We are delighted to hear that your tiki is decorated with our art and that it has become a topic of conversation for you and your loved ones.

Nadine, Glenn, and the team at Lobster Trap Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love stoping”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stopped at the gallery on my way to Key West last summer and almost didn’t make it to Key West. I love the shop and could have spent the rest of the day there. I ended up with 3 beautiful paintings that I just love. Every time I look at them they take me back to keys. I hope to stop there on my next trip to the Keys.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Walter,

Thank you for your kind review! Your comment about almost not making it to Key West made us chuckle. Thank you for purchasing 3 of our pieces! We look forward to seeing you again!

Nadine, Glenn, and the team at Lobster Trap Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Gift Shop in Islamorada!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stopped into Lobster Trap Art in a frenzy to find some FL Keys souvenirs for my family (because I waited too long to shop) and they had everything I was looking for! Really cool and inexpensive artwork, T-shirts, jewelry, music cd's and custom signs (they make them on the spot for you). I even got Nadine (one of the owners and artists) to personally sign the picture I bought!! Now that I have been there in person, I will be doing my Christmas shopping on their web site :-)
Thanks you guys!! You are a life saver!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Karen,

We are so happy that you were able to find all of your souveniers in our gallery! Nadine enjoyed meeting you and signing your piece! Thanks so much for the great review and we hope you enjoy your Christmas shopping!

Nadine, Glenn, and the team at Lobster Trap Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Trap Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Trap Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing