We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Huge Lobster Apparatus draws you in...”

The Rain Barrel Artisan Village
Ranked #11 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
380 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“The Huge Lobster Apparatus draws you in...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

...but the quaint shops keep you there. We spent hours browsing and buying amongst small wooden venues packed with, for the most part, hand made merchandise. From tin works of art, leather, wood, pottery, glassware to scruptious food, eclectic knick-knacks, beachwear and baubles, packing our suitcases with reasonably priced "treasures"!

All the shop keepers were pleasant, friendly and a wealth of information about local attractions & sight seeing. Watching the artisians sculpt their wares was amazing and flawless. So much talent here!

Do not miss the Rain Barrel! It is a must stop and a highlight in Islamorada area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    178
    100
    36
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Check out the Fla-Key Croissant Cafe!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in here on our drive back to Miami. It was a definite photo op in front of the big lobster. Lots of quaint shops with unique art. The best part was the Fla-Key Croissant Cafe. Very friendly ladies serving up smoothies, croissant sandwiches, gi-normous cookies and the best key lime pie we ate our whole trip, and trust me, we ate a lot! Try the sugar cookie with key lime icing, yum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bayoumom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyouk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint little shops”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the cutest little shops in the keys. Very unusual.It has a large lobster in the front of the village so you can't miss it.Great photo.Most of the shop are reasonably price.There were so many things that I wanted to buy just no room in the suitcase.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great vacation photo opportunity - and fun shopping”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the GIANT lobster at the front, to the yummy Nathan's hotdogs that Laura serves, to the artisans at the back...this is not your average tourist stop. The pottery is a talent laden shop, the glass artist is amazing...and yes, you can get good jewelry and souveniers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFishingMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always worth the stop”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Tons of arts and crafts and fun things to look at with outside garden area full of things. There is a quaint coffe shop that is fun to visit. A place to get milkshakes and the 3 art studio in the back has great handmade all Natural soaps. With the stop for sure. See Debbie and Larry in the 3 arts studio!!!

Helpful?
Thank 1keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rain Barrel Artisan Village also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Rain Barrel Artisan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing