We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average to poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average to poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Given, alot of places in the Keys are pretty average and old. PCI has been remodeled and overall looks pretty good, but the bathrooms have not been redone and are old and dingy, and generally just feel pretty dirty. There have been some other reviews commenting on stained sheets and hair found in the bed....we had the same experience. Hair in our beds, stained sheets, stains and who knows what all over the bed skirts, floors were pretty dirty.

The staff generally was friendly and accommodating, but when we wanted to go to the pool there were NO towels and they didn't do anything to get us towels. That doesn't seem to be very customer focused. They could have simply gone over to housekeeping and gotten some towels, but they simply said they didn't have towels and that was it. Also very little shade around the pool and only a couple of umbrellas. They should offer more umbrellas to guests. It was also a weekend so we should expect the crowds, but it was very busy and noisy, with different music coming from about 3 different areas on the property, making it pretty loud and not really all that relaxing. They could also clean up the beach area a bit. Overall, the place was ok, but i would not stay there again. If you wanted to go and just drink and party, its probably your place...seems more like college kid type focused.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings Adam L -

Thank you for review about Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina. We are disheartened to know that your time in paradise was not up to your level of expectations. Please reach out to me about your experience - jpfander@holidayisle.com. I am looking forward to speaking with you soon. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    637
    330
    183
    120
See reviews for
552
862
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The website pictures make this hotel look quite nice... it isn't. The facilities (inside and out) are in need of significant repair. My room was clean on arrival, but smelled terrible, and on subsequent days, housekeeping efforts were much less than expected. (Like the bed was made, but dead bugs from the night before were not swept up or wiped off of counters) The bar and restaurant staff were friendly, and the beach area was nice, but for the price, I would expect much more out of the hotel itself. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings CasanaR -

We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at PCI. Obviously, we missed many opportunities to create a memorable vacation experience for you and your family. Please reach out to me at jpfander@holidayisle.com. I am looking forward to hearing back from you in the near future. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights this summer. We were instantly excited on arrival as the view of the Atlantic Ocean was wonderful. The workers at reception however were lethargic and unfriendly and we felt almost a burden. Our room was basic but satisfactory. However we had to ask for towels on 3 of our 4 days there and our room remained uncleaned for our last day. Even after calling reception this problem was not rectified. The coffee machine was covered in flies - dead and alive- and was not cleaned at all throughout our stay. Again, we flagged this problem with reception on our first day but nothing was done to solve the problem.
The one thing the resort has in its favour is the excellent water sport facilities. The staff at the jet ski centre were excellent and were in stark contrast to the reception staff. The 3 men in charge were friendly, professional and as a result our experience jet skiing was so positive. Also the lady in charge of the kayaking/ paddle boarding matched their enthusiasm and professionalism.
Also, the staff at shulas were very helpful and customer orientated.
Overall, our treatment in the post card inn did not spoil our stay as the weather and location allowed us to enjoy ourselves. However, I do feel management need to address some glaring issues in the hotel and allow for better value of money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank X480LVJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Greetings X480LVJohnM -

Thank you for your review of PCI from your recent stay this summer. We obviously missed quite a few opportunities to win you over to our beach resort. We appreciate your feedback and please know that we utilize your post as an improvement tool towards future successes. Despite some inconveniences, it seemed as if you were able to enjoy your time on the island and discovered our fabulous water sports outlets - Spray Watersports and Aquaholics! Please come back soon to see all of the wonderful guest enhancements we have planned at PCI. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visit Islamorada at least twice a year and this year had our wedding here at Postcard Inn. The grounds are perfect for a wedding venue. We had our ceremony or rumrunners beach and reception at the Beach Pavillion cabana. It really was gorgeous!

As far as the hotel itself, Postcard Inn did a really nice job of updating the rooms with a beach-chic appeal but stopped short of renovating the bathrooms. Typical of how things work in the keys, they tend to do very cheap construction work and quality is minimal.

The cost of the hotel is ridiculously high for the quality of the room, but again, its the Keys, everything is more expensive. Of all the hotels in Islamorada, I have to say the Postcard Inn is probably the best of any of them Of course, there is always Cheeca Lodge that is really nice but its double the price. I wouldnt turn people away from Postcard Inn b/c the amenities around it are nice and again the rooms are cute...they just need some sprucing up. I hope that Postcard Inn has seen enough comments on here about the bathrooms to start doing something to improve them.

Notes for what to expect:
1. the beach is not much... its the keys, they dont have white sandy beaches its all coral. There is a small little beach at the hotel but its not much and most of the time its consumed with seaweed depending on the year. My recommendation, rent a boat or jetski and go out to the sandbar (just a few hundred yards out on the water)

2. Regardless of the price, its not luxury by any means, but its as good as Islamorada gets.

3. Amenities nearby are the selling factor - the beach/water is literally right there, the pool is nice, the 2 tiki bars, Shulas2 for breakfast,lunch,dinner and theres another waterside cafe thats nice too for lunch or snacks. Also there are kayaks, jetskis, paddleboards for rent, and there is a marina on site for boat rentals and fishing charters.

Its a great place for a weekend getaway or a stop over to Key West. Its definitely a perfect venue for a wedding and I have got nothing but raving reviews about how beautiful my wedding was.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherL1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Greetings HeatherL1674 -

Thank you so much for all the PCI love! We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay at our beach resort and you obviously relished your stay while on "island" time. We appreciate your feedback and have big plans for the future - We can't wait for you to come back and see all of the wonderful things in the works that will amaze and astound our beach resort guests! Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had my wedding here. It was a GORGEOUS venue, with the exception of the price that is highly overrated. (Wendy-the director of catering was the only great person here and isn't a concern at all when booking a wedding)

Rooms for several of my guests had busted AC vents, which caused uncomfortable rooms. My wedding night room was nothing special, it was more like a closet & they knew it was our wedding night!
For the prices of the rooms, venue spots, food, drinks, etc this hotel should offer more for the guests. (The 300 and 400 blocks have busted doors and anyone can just walk through them.---also the very hot buildings)

I went to Costa Rica for my honeymoon, immediately following my stay at postcard and they provided us with a welcome drink, took our bags, gave us a tour, free massage, and decorated our room for our honeymoon....(all for a cheaper price per night than the postcard inn offers)

Also, watch out for them loosing your reservation or double charging you...A few more problems my guests ran in to...

PCI, You really need to acknowledge your guests' and all the money they have spent at your resort!
We brought so much business to your resort the weekend of July 19th & yet nothing was done out of the ordinary to make us feel special......nothing.

Sorry to say, we won't be spending our 1 year here. Too many other places have more to offer and actually enjoy us staying with them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noles414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings Noles414 -

Thank you for sharing with us about what transpired during your destination wedding here at PCI. Your feedback is a critical tool towards our future success. Obviously we missed many opportunities to WOW you or create special memories from your wedding. Thank you for recognizing Wendy - she is a wonderful asset to our PCI Team. Please contact me to further discuss your stay - jpfander@holidayisle.com. I am looking forward to hearing back from you soon. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The pics on tripadvisor made the place look great. Not true. What a disappointment ------everything is really shabby. Where is the beautiful white sand beach ??? Thank goodness we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank JackandGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings Jack and Goody -

We appreciate your feedback from your stay at PCI. Obviously, we missed several opportunities to win you over to our little slice of paradise in the Keys. Please contact me at jpfander@holidayisle.com to further discuss your stay. I am looking forward to our conversation at your earliest convenience. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The photos of PCI are professionally deceiving. While the rooms are nicely decorated the pool and beach areas are run down and much smaller than expected. The room decor will not look nice for long. They don't take care of it. We stayed 4 nights and housekeeping was terrible. They never vacuumed the room or wiped down surfaces. Bugs had been smashed against the walls and never cleaned and ants crawled all over the nightstand. The front desk was called for assistance that never showed. We stayed in a room without a view and over 4 nights paid an average of $250 a night. Then there's the $15 per day resort fee, a ridiculous add on fee. Although after talking with management about my experience and upcoming review, Joe did waive the resort fee for us. My overall experience was disappointing in a way over priced PCI. I suggest you keep looking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fl4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings F14me -

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at PCI. We are terribly disappointed that your experience did not leave you with a WOW feeling from your time at our beach resort. Although we tried to find opportunities to make things better for you and your family, it seems that you are still unsatisfied with the results. Please contact me to further discuss your recent stay - jpfander@holidayisle.com. I am eager to speak with you about your PCI experience. Wish you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
12.1 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing