We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but could have been so much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but could have been so much better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Postcard Inn on a family vacation. This place has everything in place to be such a great hotel. The location is unbeatable, the beach, the activities, the staff (well, most of the staff), but it missed the mark by providing bathrooms in near deplorable conditions. Our bedroom was clean and obviously somewhat recently refurbished, so to find the bathroom in this condition was frustrating. Our room was away from the beach, which initially seemed less than desirable, but in the end we came to appreciate our location. We heard a few other guests who had the beach front rooms complain that the noise from the bars kept them up late. The rooms have a floor AC unit, which is a bit noisy, but worked well and was sufficient for our needs.
The staff is very accommodating and quite pleasant with one notable concern: we had just checked in when my brother was walking to our room and crossed paths with a staff member, who asked him if he was going to his room. As soon as my brother said 'yes', pointing to the room (it was only a couple of doors away), the man quickly opened the door using his own key card - my brother hadn't asked him to do so. He never even knocked on the door and my wife and daughter were in the room. Luckily, they were dressed. Perhaps he was being overly courteous (we'll give him the benefit of the doubt), but courtesy in a hotel is as important as security and respect for its guests. Fortunately, the situation did not repeat itself.
One more thing that can use improvement: the staff at the breakfast cafe were either overwhelmed or need a refresher course in customer service. Each morning we ended up picking up our own menus, going to the counter to get our check, and almost fighting off the ill-tempered (?) bus girl to keep her from picking up our plates before we were done. We saw other patrons go through the same thing. Oh, well, some things you have to brush off, but this could be so easily addressed.

Room Tip: Unless you are going to be out or partying late, get a room away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinodad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We've shared your comments with our staff and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We've also addressed your concerns over breakfast and will make the changes necessary there to ensure guests have a great time at every visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    635
    330
    183
    120
See reviews for
549
862
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great stay for a reasonable price. Great room facing beach. Nice pool, nice little beach area, plenty of places to eat or get a drink, very friendly staff, beautiful view, really have no complaints at all! Located in a great area with plenty of places to go, things to do and many restaurants in area to choose from. No complaints from the postcard inn, they even gave us free postcards to send home to the kids, stamps included! And mailed them for us! Too cute!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lsantiago015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place consists of several buildings. We were in the 500's overlooking the marina and from my balcony I could almost touch the people at the tiki bar.... on karaoke night we didn't get any sleep. We complained and asked to be moved to be told that the person who needs to do that wasn't in.
#1 Our room had ants and bugs
#2 The shower had been painted and was falling apart
#3 Karaoke until early morning hours
#4 A broken fan in the front of the building that sounded like a plane landing 24/7.
#5 A broken safe that beeped every 15 minutes and required 3 trips to our room to fix
#6 carpet was stained

And for all that we were charged an additional $15 per night "resort" fee. I would have preferred to have been charged less and not been next to karaoke and loud fan.
Great place if you do not want any sleep at all!

The mixed reviews are due to the different buildings. The main building may not have been as bad as ours and no howling drunk that cant sing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We sorry to see we failed you on so many levels. We've shared your feedback with our staff and will continue to work and improve. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was nervous about staying here due to the mixed reviews, but since we were diving with Islamorada Dive Center which is located at Postcard, it made the most sense. When we first arrived, we were put in room 531 which is a building with no elevators. I wasn't exactly happy about hauling my luggage up 3 flights of stairs, but I didn't complain. The room looked really nice and I was pleased. Until I walked into the bathroom. The tile was stained and the shower looked dirty. (We actually kept our flip flops on while showering.) Then I found tiny ants crawling around the cabinet. I did report that to the front desk and was told engineering would be sent to take care of it, but apparently the ants are not afraid of engineering. We decided to make peace with the ants and spent as little time in the room as possible. There are several bars located on the property as well as two pools and many water activities. On our third day, my key wouldn't work so I went to the front desk for a new one. Ashley asked if I was enjoying my stay and I told her I was after accepting the ants as roommates. She asked if I wanted to move. She kindly put us in an ocean front room in a different building (this one had an elevator!). The bathroom still wasn't great but it was better than the first one, and the view made up for the difference! We were enjoying our trip until my husband left his phone in a taxi. Rachel at the front desk went above and beyond to help him find it. She also made reservations for us so my husband could have his lobster he caught cooked for him. Hazel was also very friendly and helpful at the front desk. Bottom line-friendly staff, nice rooms, good atmosphere, many activities, but bad bathrooms. My husband says we will be back. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money on an ocean view room. That's the only way I'll stay there from now on. Also, if you are not fond of climbing stairs, make sure you are in the building with the elevator!! I do think it was a little pricey though. If the room rate we paid included the resort fee, it would've okay, but since there was an extra $15 per night, I think it's overpriced.

Room Tip: Ocean View is a must! Room 531 is right next to Tiki Bar so it's loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teecoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind words about our staff. Little pests are truly a challenge in the Keys and we remain diligent with these issues. We're sorry you encountered a few challenges and we certainly do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well, it was supposed to be a nice weekend getaway, but this place is a mess. Even though most of the rooms were renovated recently, they are still disgusting! The building is old, nothing is maintained and updating the tile and decor in a room and leaving the bathroom original, is not a renovation! Our room had ants, dirty floor, more ants, ceiling damage, that was patched and painted multiple times with multiple different colors and the room was just overall dirty. I don't expect a perfectly clean room in the Keys, but I do not accept ants on every surface of the room, my feet getting dirtier from walking inside then on the beach and a bathroom with rust and mold. There are many other things I found but you get the idea. On a positive note, the staff was polite and they did everything they could to try and help me. All the Front Desk Staff should be congratulated for doing a great job including Tia, Ashley, Nikki, Anthony and the new front office manager. Thank you all for trying so hard! I would be giving this place one star if it wasn't for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondedrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to read of the difficulties you faced. Our staff takes pride in their role and we appreciate you acknowledging this in spite of the difficulties. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have one gripe with this hotel. So before I gripe, let me say that this hotel is remodeled, and is a very nice choice. You will feel comfortable in the high thread count sheets and beautifully tiled room. If you have a boat or Jet Skis the dock is ideal to tie up and there are some really nice Ticki bars to have fun at. Now for my gripe. There was a gigantic roach on our ceiling when we arrived. It took two phone calls to get it removed. Now being in the tropics pests appear, even in nice hotels from time to time and I wont hold this against this hotel, BUT first the maid that turned the room before we got there ignored the roach and then it took hours and two calls to get management to come take care of it and that really upset me. When paying more than $200 a night I expect much more and for that I say F..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackjack1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We've shared your comments with our team and we hope you can forgive our slow response time. It's indeed unacceptable. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were a little nervous when we pulled off the highway into the car park but were pleasantly surprised when we got inside the very cool, tranquil reception area. A bit disappointed when we realised that they had automatically put us in a family room which we don't remember requesting. Very nicely done rooms with excellent beachfront position; plenty of space in the sleeping area, enormous beds with plenty of pillows and great aircon. But bathroom was very small for 5 of us (incl 3 teenagers) and in desperate need of updating.
Great atmosphere onsite especially at the weekend. Good food and plenty of places to purchase beers/cocktails. Lovely location right on the beach.
Did the JetSki tour with the onsite organisers - highly recommend. Was great fun and great value if there are a group of you.
Family did 3 Scuba Dives with the onsite Dive Shop - excellent. Watch out for the Fire Coral allergic reaction from the wreck dive. One daughter got very seasick on the dive and was very well looked after by the staff.
Would definitely return but would request our own room next time and enquire whether bathrooms had been improved. Great place to stop off for a few days on way to Key West.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
12.1 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing