We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in the middle of the keys. One of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Can hear the ocean from the room. A great big bed and proper pillows. Speak to jim at the water sports desk great guy with a lot of good local suggestions

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    669
    339
    191
    123
See reviews for
593
908
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for two nights in March. First impressions, we both loved it. They have done a great job refurbishing the hotel. We had an ocean side room and it was cool enough at night to sleep with the doorwall open. The beds were comfortable. They have a very nice small beachfront with all the water toys available and lovely little pool. We went snorkeling and only had to walk to the on site marina. Now.....for the things they still need to improve.....the bathroom tub was old, but we really didn't care much because the shower was nice. The fire alarm went off before 8am on Friday morning, and they seemed to have a little difficulty getting it to stay off intermittently for about an hour....things happen, and at least we know it works. The elevator only worked on Thursday.....after that it was stairs only, we were on the forth floor. We are both healthy and in reasonably good shape, but with the humidity my mom had some trouble with the last flight...and we still needed to get all the luggage down to the car on the last day! Housekeeping did not tend to all of the details when they cleaned our room, they didn't make my bed or leave new soap....but they did sweep and leave new towels. The room was nice overall, but the ropes that make up the headboard had an odor....don't know if it was the glue or the rope itself, either way, not a nice smell. The bathroom did not have an electrical outlet, so for the ladies, a little challenge to do your hair.....and the lighting in the bathroom was poor. One last thing, in the morning I drink coffee, which they had in both the room and lobby....but mom likes tea, and they only had it in the Raw Bar, which didn't open till after 7:30, and I don't know that it would have been complimentary.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask far a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganTracyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A friend was in town from up north for a quick visit to soak up some sun. We chose to drive the couple of hours from my home in south Florida after work on a thursday and go to the Keys. I booked about a week before, and after a quick search decided upon the Postcard Inn. Many years ago I had stopped by the tiki bar and remembered that the location was great.
The woman who took the reservation was personable, funny, courteous, and professional. Unfortunately a rarity today. Upon arrival, we found the same type of attitude at the check in counter (I believe the man's name was Matt). Instantly we are put in a good mood.
Our room had been recently renovated, and although no Ritz Carlton, it was clean and very attractively decorated. Very pleased with everything in the room.
The next day we asked about kayaking at the front desk, and again (gasp) more great service. The woman behind the counter was personable and gave us some good suggestions.
We sat out by the beach for an hour or so and got our sun before checking out and doing some kayaking. Location is beautiful, and the whole waterfront area was very pleasing.
Although we only stayed one night, I left with a strong impression. Well done all around, and kudos to the management for their choice and training of their staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It's been a while since you visited. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean rooms great house keeping. Beds were very comfortable. The pool and the grounds very well kept. Shulas has great burgers. All the food on site is bar food but close to OK dinning. The desk and other property personnel are very accommodating. Good place for families but far amount of partying at night. We rented kayaks and boards and had a great time. The "guide" for the waverunner tours is an excop (so am I) and has a bit of an attitude. I would recommend going else were an "eco tour" do not use there guide. The fishing guides however are excellent!! Highly recommend Steve Leopold the "yabba Dabba Doo ". I have fished many places, he is tops, great with a family! No fitness center

Room Tip: Seem all rooms have been updated. Not everything is new but adequate. King rooms are smaller than 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myopinion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg H, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our oustide paddle board vendor. I will certainly let them know of your post to trip advisor and share your comments. I am surprised to hear that the experience was not up to par, as our customer feedback to date has been very postive to date. I am confident they will want to hear your constructive feedback to help them improve. Thank you again and I hope we can serve you better in the future.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pros: Great location. Beautiful view. More "beach" than you'll find on your own excursion. Besides the three different bars to choose from and the two different restaurants, it's close to a lot of variety, including a CVS (which comes in handy). Other great restaurants and things to do near by. Lots of great places for lounging morning, noon, or night. I have to say, the fire-pits by the quiet docks were definitely one of my highlights to a close of good day.

Cons: [ground floor, ocean view room] The only real sense of peace and quiet is from midnight till 7 am. I was awoken by these sounds by 7... brushing of sidewalk outside our door, then seagulls, then fishing boat motors... not pleasant for vacation. On the p.m. side, people talking (or yelling) to other people or friends to and from the balconies. You can literally hear everything--complete conversations as people walk by your door. Then there's the bass from the music from either the bars or the wedding parties. In general, music in your ears over breakfast, lunch, or dinner...

Another issue I have is that their overall description and cost do not match the reality. The room was decent enough, but the few things that should be taken care of instead of chincing on the cost (for the price of the room): bathroom fans; new tile to go with the rest of the remodeling, and a black-out curtain that actually covers the window, especially considering it's the ground floor. An extra blanket in the room wouldn't hurt either.


Tip: Free coffee in the reception area. Otherwise pay $3 for it 25 yards away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1happycamper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg H, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your post. I certainly appreciate your feedback on trip advisor and I want you to know that we hear you! We are targeting several upgrades to our bathrooms and your feedback is very valuable. My apologies that the sound proofing in the room you stayed in was less than adequate. If you get an opportunity to return, I would suggest requesting the top two floors of the tower building as a quiet alternative to the ground floor ocean front unit you stayed in. Excellent feedback for our staff, and thanks for the positive comments as well. We take all of your comments to heart and will continue to do all we can to improve upon our services.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want a great stop in the keys that is not Key West but gets you a proper feel of the rest of the keys, this is your stop. Get an ocean-facing room. Enjoy the peace and beauty of the resort, and surrounding area. Have a drink at Morada Bay beach restaurant for heavenly sunset. Go to Robbie's Marina for amazing snorkelling, and fishing and eat at the Hungry Tarpon while you are there (as well as feeding them!). Speak to fab Jim at Postcard Inn watersports and go on the jetski trip with Skip. He took us straight to the dolphins where we followed them on jetski, and on a great tour of thye area. Postcard Inn rooms are comfortable and cosy (ocean-facing), and staff are polite. Highly recommended, Also, stop at all the tourist info offices along the keys for great advice on local eateries on the water

Room Tip: ocean facing - the only option you should consider!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family was really looking forward to staying here. I booked the "renovated" 2 queens standard room for spring break. Unfortunately, the supposed "renovation" was mainly cosmetic, and you can see the deterioration underneath throughout the property. If you don't go "Ocean view", they put you in side buildings near the pavilion where they hold weddings every few nights, so be prepared to enjoy Rap and old Disco tunes from the DJ until late in the evening. You can't close your sliding door though, because the A/C unit sounds like a jet landed in your room. Maintenance issues will arise all around you, because they upgraded the paint, pictures, and re-finished the furniture, but did not address the plumbing, walls, bathroom tiles, old A/C units, or building exteriors. The nice pictures on the web site are accurate, but mask a low budget "re-model" that starts to show by your 3rd hour on site. We left a day early because my wife was getting so upset at all the issues. If you are used to even Marriott Fairfield or Springhill level, this is not it. Upside: Great scuba shop on site, and nice location/view

Room Tip: Go "Ocean view" or nothing. Don't bother with garden rooms. The buildings are old an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surf2Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,755 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing