We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All at one resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great renovated oceanfront double queen room in the tower. Nice sized balcony with awesome views of the water & sunset. Excellent beach & heated pool. JAWS Raw Bar has food for breakfast, lunch and dinner....good quality & quantity. Fun Tiki Bar with live bands, and Rumrunner has more cool views from the upstairs decks. Would definitely go back again for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinschloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

It's been a while. Come back and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,597 - 1,603 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was by far my favorite property out of all the properties that I visited in the keys. If the rating was possible, i would say better than average, but not quite "very good"....the location is gorgeous!! I wish that I could spend days lounging by the pool or by one of the many bars or firepits..or walk around the marina...it truly is a beautiful property. My son and I were only there for 1 night. Was assigned to the smallest room with no view, but hey, the rate was reflected in that. The bed was extremely comfy and the room was clean. We couldn't get a fridge and being a single mom, I asked the maintenance guy if he had an extra cooler, and not only did he bring me one, he also filled it with ice! I wish all of the staff was so customer service oriented. Some are not. The reservation process directly to the hotel was a chore. A few of the bartenders/waiters were a little on the rude side,even when tipped 20 percent. I think they expect a 40-50% for just pouring a beer. The entertainment was a plus...just be aware of the resort fee per day! The rooms facing the ocean with their private patio/lounge chairs, look like heaven and I hope to return soon to enjoy those rooms...with no child next time. (although this place is fine for little ones)

Room Tip: if you can splurge for an ocean front room do it! I paid a fair amount for their smallest room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenansm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is not bad...but it's nothing great and certainly doesn't live up to its very flattering website. Maybe that's because like in most cases with hotel websites, there are no people in the shots so it all looks very lush and magical. Unfortunately this place was quite crowded and you really feel it because the property is small and the man made beach is tiny. The pool has an old wooden bar which could use a make-over. They like to play really sad country songs. The restaurants while lively with music and a tiki hut appeal have so-so food. Breakfast is served in the same place where seafood is served in the evenings..the Raw bar...not very appealing in the morning. The staff was very nice and friendly and tried to accomodate our check-in even though we had requested an early check-in but weren't given our rooms keys until almost 4pm. Not a big surprise but it would have been nice to know in advance wether that was a possible request to fulfill. Maybe our expectations were not met because we thought this place was more like a stylish boutique hotel as per the website but really it's more like a big motel on the side of the highway. Sorry...It ain't all that.

Room Tip: Second floor. A bit noisy on Saturday night due to live band
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg H, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us know your feedback about our property. I very much appreciate it when customers take the time to point out not only the things we do well, but those that we can improve upon.
I would say that I would disagree that the beach is "tiny" as actually we have one of the largest beaches in the Florida Keys. Our property sits on almost 12 acres and the majority is oceanfront beach access. For those customers that remember the old "holiday isle" resort, the beach used to accommodate upwards of 5,000 customers a weekend. Now if there are a few hundred then thats a busy weekend. We try to have a variety of activities on the beach going at all times, from paddle boarding to jet ski rentals to fitness classes, etc. Regardless, your opinion is valuable and thanks for the time you took to educate other travelers. In regards to the music selections, we try to change our music often. But personal choices certainly differ. We have many themes at our six bar locations, from Jimmy Buffet style "of course" to a country music night that was requested by many of our locals and tourist. I also appreciate the comments about breakfast at the Raw Bar. We are trying many different locations, and your comments help us to validate our choices. Thanks again, and I hope that you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations since we definitely fell short on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for a night over the weekend for a family function.

Hotel itself was remodeled within the past few years. The rooms are a modern "Key West" style. Very well done. The bathrooms, at least in our room, were still dated. While they were clean, they still could use a little update to match the room itself. Our room was the southern building (closest to the pool--which is nice and small-tiki dock).

Staff seemed friendly enough (saying "Hi," when we walked by), but we really didnt interact with them much. Bar staff was also friendly.

Venue-wise this place was gorgeous. A wedddin underneath a tiki hut on a dock. Clear views of the ocean with no "ugly" obstructions. Reception was held a short walk away under a tiki hut on the beach. The weather was nice, which was a big help, otherwise it would have been a bit hot (outside with no fans/AC, of course). Food was decent, but didnt expect much more. The view and area (not to mention wedding couple) really made the impression.

Room Tip: Be wise about where you room... the closer to the tikibar and main pool the louder it can be (live m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once again we had another great week at PCI. Stayed in room 231 on the third floor oceanfront. Nice clean and well decorated room with a great balcony overlooking the beach and pool area. The only problem with the room was the bathroom as other posters have noted. It was not renovated and did have some problems with the toilet flushing and sink not draining. Tiki bar and pool bar were great as always. Unfortunately the Raw Bar has changed it's menu and in my opinion not for the better. Overall, the staff and hotel were great. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading many reviews, we decided to take a look at the Post Card Inn as a potential location for our wedding later this year. We booked this hotel to be our home base but wanted to consider not only the Post Card but other Islamorada venues as host to our wedding. Once we arrived I was shocked as the pictures were not at all deceiving, was exactly as portrayed. Simply beautiful grounds and very well kept. This resort was truly a destination resort with everything you could possibly want right there on the grounds. Everything from Tiki bars to live music to marina life to water sports...... The front desk was incredibly polite and helpful. Rooms were very well done. If I could say anything bad about the entire experience is that the bathroom in our room did not get renovated... Didn't bother us, but might bother others. Jill (Wedding planner) helped walk us through the resort seeing EVERY option the resort had to offer for both the wedding and the guests who will be attending. Jill did all this, answered every questions and without any pressure to sign a contract at all. Just shows how confident she is in her resort and staff. She couldn't have done a better job with us and I'm confident we will be back to celebrate our nuptials.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view. Very close and perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy n John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this property for three days over New Years Eve. My husband checked in prior to my arrival and we were put in the non-renovated rooms. I expressly told my husband we were to be put in a renovated room so when I arrived he went back to the front desk and we were given a new room. It seems ridiculous that they charge the same for the non-renovated rooms as they are much smaller and have not been updated since the 70's.
After getting a different room the experience was much better. The bathroom is really the only real downside of the renovated room. It is really small and not updated. There is no room on the counter and it is really tight in there. The shower was REALLY hard to get turned on but you just had to pull on it till you thought it would break.
The setting is really beautiful. We did not have an ocean-view room but the heated pool is right on the water and it is a stunning view relaxing by the pool.
We did eat a quite a number of the restaurants on property and the raw bar was the best for the food. It was nice that they have so many choices to eat on property as eating elsewhere means driving somewhere, not the nicest for an island vacation.
All in all it really was about what I expected based on other reviews. It was not expensive compared to other choices for that time of year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WacMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
3,451 reviews
18.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $216 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing