We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaw Raw Bar new menu and service is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jaw Raw Bar new menu and service is terrible”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Jaws Raw Bar now has a new menu which is extremely over priced and not kid friendly. The older bartender is rude every single time I have been. I will not return to eat there. However, rooms are very nice and hotel and beach staff great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth21keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Greetings Beth21Keys, We appreciate hearing the good as well as areas to improve. I'm extremely disappointed to learn of the negative interaction you had with a Raw Bar bartender and be assured I will follow up appropriately. Our Chef has recently added some delicious new items to the Raw Bar menu - at various price points - and there is a little bit of something for everyone. Stay tuned for even more new items soon. I invite you to give us another try and please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I can personally oversee the details. Best Regards, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    670
    339
    192
    123
See reviews for
593
908
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled here driving down from Miami. The bars were super cool, and I recommend the burger at Shula Burger. We really loved the boutique feel of the hotel. Though the door to our room didn't seem to seal well, it was a bit loud. The staff was friendly. I recommend an oceanview room as well. Our bathroom did have these tiny ants running around, but I found this at another hotel further down in the keys. Not too bothersome, but I saw a few others made the same comment. Drinks are a bit pricey, but we are on vacation...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolittledigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear DoLittleDigger, Thanks for making Postcard Inn Beach Resort in Islamorada a recent getaway from the Mainland. We're glad you and your husband enjoyed relaxing with us! I've shared your comment about the tiny bathroom sugar ants with our pest control partner who treats our guestrooms monthly - it's a seasonal thing Florida Keys residents and visitors experience every once in a while. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Girls weekend to Islamorada for the 1st annual Rum Runner Run. What fun!!! The boutique charm of the Postcard Inn, gorgeous location, and friendly staff made it completely understandable why everyone we met said they never wanted to leave! Very relaxing trip, we are already planning the next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, DIrector of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Greetings KimEC, Thanks for being a part of the Rum Runner Run! We enjoyed playing host to the event and were delighted with the turn-out. It was a fun crowd and for a good cause. Check out our website for upcoming Florida Resident specials. Can't wait to welcome you back soon. Best, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

With regard to beach front properties, this is a decent one. Good, clean and reliable. In this price range, its pretty darn good. Not the best hotel I've ever seen, but a decent place! Really fun beach style bars, a few of them, and a few pools. Hardly a high end luxe (which is where I tend to stay$ but I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

If you get an ocean view room, you'll get a nice view of sunrises!

Location on Islamorada is good, right in the middle of thing. Drive to Key West in a few hours. Nearby Marina for fishing, and water sports facility right on the property.

Room Tip: As always, I suggest the best room category you can afford. If you don't need ocean view howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Good Day PaulieT253, Thank you for staying with PCI and for the taking time to post a review. Our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable venue to enjoy a casual, laid-back and fun beach vacation. Our resort maintains a true Keys vibe while providing lots of options for water sports activities, live entertainment or just kicking back with a frozen drink. We're glad to learn you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again real soon. Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s. fla
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at this location this past weekend. Let me begin by saying there was a 5k starting and finishing at the resort and 2 weddings planned.
They did a fantastic job keeping the property impeccably groomed. The service was outstanding and very friendly. And that was in all aspects of the establshment. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, professional and very efficient. The waitstaff at the bars and beachside restaurant were friendly and attentive. The only two downsides I can mention are a) the rumrunners at the Tiki Bar are sub-par and downright undrinkable. There is so much grenadine in the machine it is 8 shades from what a rumrunner should be. Bumble gum pink, not candy apple red!, and b) the beachside restaurant food is a C+ at best.
Breakfast, though, is simple and cheap if that's what you're looking for. The view can't be beat.

The rooms seem to have been redecorated in the past year. Decor is nautical/beachy. Bathrooms got a mini-facelift at best, but clean and acceptable for a beach hotel.

We were in Building 4 and our friends in Building 3. Building 3 had
psuedo-secure glass doors but had a prison cell feel once inside. Building 4 had open-air entry, but was quiet.
All in all, really was not disappointed in this property.

Get out.. take a walk over the bridge. There are 4 other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmwood1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Day Tmwood1012, Thank you for staying at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle and thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. Sounds like the mixture was off on the batch of Rum Runner we served you - my apologies and the next round is on me! We're glad you were otherwise pleased with your stay and hope to see you again real soon. Best Regards, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went to the Keys for the 1st time this past weekend for a destination wedding at the Post Card Inn and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and prompt. Always helpful. The only things I had trouble with was the lighting in the bathroom, the natural smell from the decorative rope on the headboard - but I do have a sensitive nose, and we were in the main building and the noise carried over from the Tiki Bar. Overall, though, the stay was great! I highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Kim B, thanks for staying with Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle in Islamorada, and for providing feedback about your stay. Glad to hear you had a great time at the wedding and we hope to see you again soon. Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly. We would come back and stay again. The food was ok but there are plenty of other places to eat in the area. We stayed in a room right on the ocean front side and it was awsome and clean. The price is good for staying right on the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean Front no other way. Higher room probably has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Greetings Jamie M, Thank you for staying at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina - and for writing the nice review. We're glad you enjoyed a relaxing time with us and look foward to you returning soon! Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing