We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
tampa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I did not set very high expectations for the quality here and glad for that. It is a fun stop in the keys but do not expect luxury. Poor AC systems either too cold or too hot & the poor person who has to sleep in the bed next to the AC. Noisy hallways, broken ice machines, slow service if you can get someone to come. Our drinking age kids had a good time. Our young child liked the game room. Our middle age kid found some fun trying to snorkel off the beach. It was fun for the $$. The management did acknowledge our concerns, appreciate that. Fun throwback experience at PCI. PS You have to eat at Shulas - outstanding burgers!

Room Tip: Rooms by the doors are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampaspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    638
    330
    183
    120
See reviews for
553
863
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We are traveling with family and friends here in the Florida Keys. My family and I have been looking for a nice place to vacation. We live approximately 4 hours from this place. I have stayed here many many years ago before it was Postcard Inn and have very fond memories of the building and location. We decided to stop by and have a look to see if this was the place I remembered. WOW I said as we pulled I the parking lot. This place has improved its look ALOT! I was excited to go in and take a look around and show our friends and my family the place thinking it would be an awesome place to stay. I was greeted nicely at the front desk and asked for a brochure. The girl handed me a trifold and I continued to asked the room rates. She told me to look on the Internet web site. Oh okay....... She then said the website address was on the back of the brochure. A little snooty I thought to myself. However I continued to ask if they would mind I we had a look around the property to see if it was the right place for us to stay. We were given a prompt reply of "sure". As we strolled we first decided to have a couple of drinks at the raw bar. The service was terrible... We ordered a total of 4 Premade ice drinks and 6 sodas . It seemed to take forever.... Tried to order food and became invisible to the fella behind the counter. Okay so after we had our drinks we decided to check out the rest of the place. We were not on the property 2 minutes when half way to the pool area we were stopped by a young man asking for our room key. I explained to him that we were looking at the property to see if we would like to spend our family vacations here with them. His reply to me was you need a room key to be on property. I again explained to him that the front desk told us we could look around. He then again said to me that we couldn't be on the property. I turned to my son and said to him " I guess this guy just made up our decision for us about spending out money here. Now I understand security and privacy ... However to be rude to a potential customer lows my mind. What these people didn't realize is that we are traveling with approximately 45 others (friends and family) we have 4 boats and most visit here in the Keys every year and have been for nearly 20 years. We will not be staying here anytime soon. Not with the reception that the few of us received on our short scouting trip.
With all due respect. We never did experience the rooms or any other part of the place. However after the first impression was a loosing one for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rmules68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all wheter they be good or bad. Although we do have a private beach and pool area for our registered guests to enjoy, you should have been permitted to walk through and see for yourself if you wanted to stay here. I will speak to all departments and refocus training on courteous, welcoming, and warm communiocations with guests and visitors. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,


Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I did read all the reviews before booking so I was not really surprised at the room size. The room was small but clean, it smelled nice. The bathroom renovation was poor, you can tell they did a rushed job, no space, shower was stained. Definitely bring your own TP, theirs is cheap and rough. Private little beaches are nice, you can snorkel around but there's not much to see, snorkel trips are a must if you want to see a lot of fish. There is plenty of seating and the grounds are constantly maintained. Staff will ask to see your room key to confirm you are staying there, don't take offense to it, it definitely keeps the non paying crowd off the property. This hotel does take dogs, so you will see them around and in the water at times. They have a watersports company (rents waverunners, kayaks, paddleboards, etc) behind the Jaws raw bar, they're pricey but at least you don't have to drive around. Overall the property is average, I think a bit pricey for the room, staff is nice, beaches are nice, views of the water are beautiful. There are bars on either end of the property, but by far the best one is Jaws raw bar... very deceiving. The bartenders are AWESOME, they have their hands full with the bar and food service, yet they are always pleasant and attentive. When you see this bar you think, greasy food, but no way, DELICIOUS! Don't be afraid to order breakfast from here, it's really good. I was impressed, it's not gourmet but it's flavorful home cooking without the grease.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast service and bartenders. They are a hard working group of people, many who have worked here for more than 20 years. I hope to see you back again soon!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Were very excited to come to this hotel, being the most expensive, we thought we were in for a real treat! Not true unfortunately. Checked in and although the view was fantastic, the room was small, no place to put luggage, no fridge or microwave (although there was an area marked out for one), had to make coffee on the floor (no outlet on the shelf). The bathroom was old, no vanity for makeup etc., toilet got plugged, and the blinds on the windows showing this beautiful view, fell off at least 3 times and had to get maintenance over every time. Had a power outage one morning and went to the breakfast area where I was charged 3.00 for a lukewarm coffee. Once the power came on (about 15 minutes after breakfast was supposed to end) we asked for our breakfast and was told sorry-we are on lunch menu now. Had to drive elsewhere. Although the manager did give us some money off our room, we were still very disappointed since we were vacationing through the Keys and Gulf area of Florida for our 30th Anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We (family of 5) just stayed at The Postcard Inn for 5 nights. We had a double queen room, and it was a tad small, but we were a group of 5, so we expected to run into each other. Our 4 year old plays musical beds, so we didn't think spending the extra money for a larger room/suite was worth it. Although we didn't pay for an 'ocean view' room, we had a great view anyway! We were right over the surf shop, in the 500 building, and had a view of the marina and ocean on the side. Although we were also right above the Tiki Bar, so we heard the music late into the night. The pool deck is a bit dirty, too. Lots of cups and straws strewn about, as well as clogged hair and sand, etc, from the pool drain. I saw the employees cleaning up every morning, so I know they are trying. The renovated rooms are nice, and despite having a sugar ant problem in our room, we felt the room was nice enough for what we paid in the off-season. I did request a fridge for the room when I made the reservations, and at $15 a night, it was worth it to have, even though it was just a mini-fridge. We enjoyed the pool, snorkeling on the beach, and the frozen drinks from the pool bar. We went elsewhere for meals (with the exception of going to Shula Burger one night, it was pretty good) but felt that you could stay on the property the entire time with no problem. Since we have a little guy, we couldn't really take advantage of renting wave runners, and we couldn't decide whether to rent a boat, but we saw lots of people doing so, and if that is what you are looking to do on vacation, then PCI is a great spot for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We wil look afterthe pool a bit more closely to insure that drains and filters are cleaned out more frequently. Glad to hear that you had 3 children with you and that they will have fond memories of Postcard Inn. Please come back soon and often.


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Point, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Decided to stay here for a weekend trip. Read many reviews good and bag and I have to say that the good reviews were dead on!

The PostCard in is nice and looks exactly like something you would see on a postcard! We arrived to the resort very late due to delayed flights and a nice drive from Fort Lauderdale. The staff who was working the front desk had already taken care of everything since I would be arriving late and the gentleman working at night was very quick at getting us taken care of.

The room was nice and very cool! We were in the 300 building and our room had a balcony and a few chairs. You could tell the room had been remodeled. Looks just like the pictures online. Beds were very comfortable.

The pool area was nice and there was another pool which was less busy near our room in the 300 building. The beach area was nice and clean, there was a hammock and many chairs to relax in, as well as cornhole boards. There are 5 bars (Rum Runners, Raw Bar, Wreck Bar, Tiki Bar, as well as a bar by the pool). Kim at the bar by the pool was very friendly and could suggest a lot of things to do.The wreck bar was always packed and serves food which is good. There is another restaurant named Shula Burger but never ate there. The Tiki Bar and Rum Runners was nice just wished there was more going on the Sunday that we were there as it was dead.

There is a Marina on the property. There you could rent boats. Also there was a spot to rent jet skis and kayaks. The boat and jet skis are a little expensive. There is a sand bar in the middle of the ocean that is always packed with boaters having a great time. Decided to rent a kayak as it was the cheapest way and went out... very neat and suggest that you do it!

If you get a chance make sure to drive to Key West. It's about an hour and thirty mintues from the resort but well worth it! If you are looking for a nice place to eat, check out Lazy Days. Kim suggested it to us and it was very nice and had good food.

All in all can't wait to go back! The resort is nice and relaxing, rooms are comfortable, and has nice places surrounding the hotel. Can't wait to go back and enjoy it more.

Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mporter289205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just stayed here this past week (August 1st) Was very hesitant b/c a friend had said it was not good, but she knew the place before their recent renovation. Let's just say whomever decorated the lobby and rooms did a great job! Everything is beachy and clean. The lobby is very cleverly decorated, there is a children's area with some video games, chalkboard areas every where and even a small rock climbing wall!
We were in a regular queen room in the 400 building which is on the side of the property. Although I did not love the location of the room, it was a very quiet building and as I said before wonderfully decorated and clean. The bathrooms are a bit small, there is definately not enough counter space, but it's manageable. As stated in previous reviews, they definately need to have a small fridge in the rooms. I also disliked the placement of the air conditioner, if you were on the bed next to it you would get massive air blown on you all night long. There was no way to adjust where the air flowed. Also our unit seemed to not be working correctly, we kept it on 60 and the room still stayed warm at best.
The beach area the first day had tons of seaweed but the next day they did have people raking it up. Also the main beach pool was very dirty, we felt we could not even use it. The water was cloudy with all kinds of material ( and I do not mean stuff from nature) floating in it. We also witnessed a kid throwing-up on the pool deck and then returning back in the pool. So we left, never to return to that pool. We did use the smaller one by our building which was clean b/c noone seemed to use it often. But it had no ammentities. Had to walk to main pool for towels. Also know they do provide towels and chairs but if you want any kind of shade you will have to rent an umbrella which was $20 for 4 hours. All in all we had a nice stay here. So if you want a relaxing trip laying on a beautiful beach, snorkling or enjoying some drinks with clean rooms this is a great choice in the keys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinderella5272000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review. Glad to see that you enjoyed our new decor in the lobby and guestrooms. We have received a great deal of positive feedback since our renovation was completed last January. I will take a fresh look at those umbrellas prices and make sure they are competitively priced. If they are not we will definitely reduce the price.

Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will return soon!


Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,601 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
12.1 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing