We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, expensive, inadequate amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent a few days here on a recent trip to the Keys. Wanted to see what it looked like after spending a lot of time there in the 80's and 90's. While the renovations have improved the rooms, there are locations of the resort where it seems they skimped on renovations. For the price rooms should at least have a micro/fridge combo. Bedding is adequate and not comparable to midlevel hotels I normally frequent for business trips. A/C units cycle on and off frequently and are noisy. Restaurants are grossly overpriced and nothing more than pub fare. Building locks do not work at all (so much for security). For a resort setting there are really no activities to speak of. Icemaker in our building was undersized (and therefore always empty). Worst of all, the service from the staff is cold at best. They have lost the local friendliness they Keys has been know for for years. Sadly, we won't return. We will drive further south and find a more Keys-like atmosphere in Key West.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV3TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. I am sorry that we were not able to deliver the type of atmosphere and service that we typically do. Regarding the mechanical issues, we are working hard to insure that all of our ACs are in good working order. We also are aware of the low ice issue in one of the buildings and will begin hand filling that machine to keep adequate amounts of ice in it. We are also adding more refrigerators to the rooms in the near future. Hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had an ocean front double bed suite for 4 nights (Wed - Sun). Our room (147) was in the main tower and was renovated and clean. From what I heard, the non tower rooms may not be as special, I strongly recommend you shoot for the "main tower". Our A/C had no noise issues and we had a fridge as well. Our family of 2 adults and 2 children had plenty of room. The view from our balcony was excellent....water, beach and palm trees...

The beach was above average for the keys. As a FL native, I know you don't go to the keys for white sugar sand beaches, that's a west coast FL thing. There were plenty of chairs available and lots of room. On Sat they had a masseuse on the beach for those so inclined. Towels were readily available and staff were on the grounds to ensure only guests were on that part of the property. The pool area was equally roomy and we didn't have to hunt for seating. The lounge chairs offered an excellent view of the ocean and the surrounding area.

Location was excellent. We used our room as a base to head off to Key West one day, and up to Largo for snorkeling another day.

The Tiki Bar was less active than I remember from my misspent youth, but they had drinks, atmosphere, and music, so it was a nice place to wind down the day. Certainly it didn't prove a noise problem from our room.

Staff was friendly and efficient.

Would I stay there again...Yes. Would I recommend it to friends...Yes

If you are looking for a five star, ultra fancy, immaculate resort....the keys might not be for you. If you're interested in a clean, friendly, beautifully scenic keys experience, the Poastcard Inn is your destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to the Keys as a family and previously stayed at another resort. That particular resort was not available for this trip, so we researched and decided on The Postcard Inn. We were delighted with our room and decor, the front office staff were very pleasant, plenty of beach space and by far our favorite "The Lagoon" with its small snorkeling reef..Lots of fish and lobster to play with. We will definitely try booking at The Postcard Inn "first" next trip!

Room Tip: Oceanview Balcony close to the pool and Lagoon..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We paid full price for an Oceanview King.

The good:

-Renovated rooms look just like the pictures, including the bathroom.

-Check in staff are friendly.

-We stayed Mon to Wed so we cannot comment on Tiki Bar/RumRunners bar noise issues.

-Tammy, the bartender, rocks.


The bad:

-The floor mounted a/c unit in room 145 is SO noisy that each time it cycled on, we woke up! ALL through the night. Even though we had been drinking! I almost cried by 3:30 am. We had to change rooms. (The great part is we were upgraded to an Oceanview King Suite, with a living room and double size bathroom. This made the sleepless, expensive night worth it.)

-There were sweat (?) water (?) splash marks on the decorative glass tarpon over the bed in room 141. EEEW.

-For room rates at almost $300 in low season, the sheets are still budget hotel sheets - scratchy. The mattress had some sag in 141. Room 145 was a much better mattress. We presume it is booked less often b/c as a suite, it is much, much more expensive.

-No fridge in the room. Really? It's Florida. It's hot! We are buying the $7+ cocktails on the property... many, many of them in fact. We can't keep our water/iced tea/gatorade cold for the morning thirsties??

- I almost forgot! The elevator machine room in the Tower Bldg, aka Bldg One, aka where the renovated rooms are, is SO DAMN LOUD it is almost unbearable. We barely heard it once we were moved to the corner suite, but that is b/c we were as far as possible from it. THIS factor alone should be enough for you not to book here. (Sorry, Holiday Isle. But I cannot tell a lie.) Each time the elevator moves, the noise penetrates most of the rooms. Horrible, horrible.

-The "beach" isn't really a beach. The largest of the three ocean access areas is concrete w/sand poured over it. The other two, small areas are, well, really small!! You can drive to some nicer beaches. Although, the Keys are not really where you go if it's beaches you seek. They simply do not have any nice ones. (And we love the Keys and go often to fish, drink & eat.)

We loved our cheapo Key West hotel room much, much better!!

If you do end up here, eat at Ma's Fish Camp & Marker 88. Excellent.

Note that there is also a policy against bringing your own beverages.

We used to come to Holiday Isle pretty often, even before the renovation. Sad to say, we will NOT be returning.

All in all, our recommendation is to stick with Key West. There are tons of great places to stay at all price points and with whatever amenities you want. Great restaurants are within walking distance of each of them. You can go lowbrow or highbrow on Duval....all up to you and what you like. You won't need to rent a car in Key West either. (Can you tell that is where we will spend our time when we return to the Keys?)

Good luck and think twice about The Postcard Inn/Holiday Isle.

Room Tip: Room 145 is an Oceanview King but the a/c unit is unbearably loud!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank aniawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.I am sorry it did not exceed your expectations.As a frequesnt visitor to the Keys, you are aware that there are not a lot of beaches anywhere in the upper Keys. We happen to have what I believe to be the bestand most accessible beach in the area. We have experienced some problems with our air conditioners. I do apologize for the noise you experienced with bith the AC and the elevator equipment room in the Tower. Thanks for recognizing Tammy and our guest services team, she is doing a great job for us.Our newly renovated rooms have been a big hit with our guests and several have requested refrigerators be added. We agree and will take steps to add as many as possible over the next few months.
Again, thanks for your comments and do hope that you will stop by again!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place has beautiful scenery, but it's way too expensive. We didn't even have a mini fridge or micro in our room and for what we paid we should have. After staying here we went to Key West and our hotel there was much better and 50 bucks cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I did a lot of research on places to stay in the Keys before booking at the Post Card Inn. We had initially booked another resort on Islamorada, but after reading so many good reviews changed our reservation to the Post Card Inn. So glad we did!

We found everything we needed at the resort. Here are a few details:

Beach
The beach was great and I have to say probably one of the better beaches for the area. Plenty deep to swim and snorkel right at the resort. Quite setting and easy access to food, drinks, your room and chairs.

Pool
Pool was very clean and nice. Lots of great seating to enjoy the ocean view and have a drink.

Our Room
We stayed in a King Ocean Front in building two. The view was fantastic and the room was accommodating. The bathroom was a little small and the A/C was a bit loud but that didn't bother us. Very clean, well decorated and comfortable.

Bars
Plenty of options to have a drink, OK to stroll up in your bathing suit. Prices were acceptable.

Staff
Everyone was very friendly, eager to help and offered suggestions on local things to see and do.

We will definitely stay here again next time we visit the Keys. A few other things we did in the area that were good was Robbys (snorkeling), Jon Pennekamp State Park (snorkeling in Key Largo), Islander Grill, Lorelighs, and Pierrs.

If you are looking for a great spot on Islamorada to relax, unwind and have a good time, I would definitely recommend this place. We did not bring our kids as this was a couples trip, but would not hesitate to have a family vacation here in the near future.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the updated rooms in building 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank josh_expadata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for such a complete and complimentary review of our property. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you will come back soon and call me in advance if you do and I will insure you get another postcard perfect room!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The resort has been totally renovated. My boyfriend and I got an oceanfront room and loved the the airy, clean and tastefully decorated accommodations. They have a tiki bar on the property, and the music was great. People in the front lobby were welcoming. It feels very upscale, yet has a cozy feel. We went on a rainy weekend and still had a great time. Have stayed other places in the upper keys but this was one of the best.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thanks for teh positive comments about your recent stay. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovation and our staff. I hope you will return soon and often!!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
18.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $221 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing