We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great End of the Season getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great End of the Season getaway”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We went at the beginning of June, which turns out to be the end of the season for the Keys. Didn't think about that, but it was awesome! We practically had the resort to ourselves, which was very cool. Everyone was very nice and interested in us having a great vacation. We loved the pools, but as I read in other reviews, the beach really isn't as great as it may sound. The sandy beach areas are fairly small and there is a lot of seaweed right under the water. Our room was nice, though a little small. I paid the cheapest rate I could, though, so I wasn't that upset. I could still see the ocean from the room! The decor of the rooms are very nice and the bed was very comfortable. I especially suggest you check out the lobby, Tiki Bar and Rumrunners. Very cool decor! We also went on a snorkeling trip. I found the price to be very good and it included rentals! The boat captain was extremely helpful, especially as my partner was brand new to snorkeling.

All in all, I was very impressed by PCI and I will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your trip. Beaches in the Keys are not like they are on the mainlnd, however, PCI does have one ofthe best beaches in the area. Keeping the seaweed cleaned up is a daily chore. Come back soon and often. We are getting better every day!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    649
    331
    184
    120
See reviews for
567
881
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stopped here for the night on our way from FLL to Key West. It was easy to find and sits right on the ocean. The room was nice and spacious, clean and well equipped for all our needs. The bed linen was ocean white and the pillows were so soft. We even had a microwave and small refridgerator. The pool by the ocean allowed for a nice view in the morning; all the boats leaving on their fishing expeditions. There are lots of places in walking distance from the property which if we had time would have been nice to explore. This would be a nice place to stay for a getaway and probably has some good scuba diving close by too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We hope that you will return soon to PCI !

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our third hotel in our roundtrip in Florida. We where visiting the hotel and had a nice welcome at the reception. Then we went to our room with the elevator. We entered this great room with a very nice view over the palmtrees, beach and see. The beds where very soft, eveything looked very new and modern, the only thing is that the bathrooms where not in the same shape as the rest of the room. The toilet was not very clean and sometimes had a bit of problems while flushing. The bars where great, the Brazilian bar-keeper was very nice and told us his stories about football and all. That bar was great, with nice views of the see having dinner. Even when having a Storm, which wasnt a storm for the barkeeper, we had much fun there! The pool area is great and i had a great snorkling experience just outside the beach! This was a great stay and i recommend everybody to visit it while in the Keys!

Room Tip: Have a seeview room in the main building as high as possible. Great views and big rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThijsPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and and constructive comments about the bathroom. We appreciate all of your feedback and will endeavor to correct anything that was not up to our high standards. We hope you will return soon and often!!

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

4 months have passed and we returned for another stay at pci holiday isle...we were walkins.. No res and expected an off season rack rate.. Tony and saiya(sp) at the desk found us our favorite bungalow in the section called "capitain"... Old pine, ceilings, walls sitting on a cove .. Great beds, cold air and a view of the sunrise that is spectacular.. But the difference here is the service... Smiling , helpful.. The few glitches we experienced were handled quickly and the followup was surprising...pat at the bar and mike in Engineering were standouts.. Another great stay.. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefkbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Welcome back! Happy to hear that you returned and enjoyed your stay in our El Capitan section of the resort. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stay here for the location ..... right on the beach! Rooms that overlook the beach have balconies or patios. Rooms are "standard," but with most needed amenities and are clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruiseking15, General Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay with us. Our location is unsurpassed in teh upper Keys and our bars, restaurants, marina, pools, fishing and diving make for an incredible stay.

Hope to see you back soon!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This"renovated " property has a horrible Acetone Smell in all Of the Rooms Due to Brilliant Weatherproofing chemicals that these folks Thought would save them the trouble of replacing the rope wound headboards- Bathrooms are unrenovated and have old cracked tiles and unsealed grout- If the spliiting headache and skeevy bathrooms werent bad enough
The Lack of security is the dealbreaker People simply drive up to this place- park and walk to the "PRIVATE" Beach And Pools And Set up camp People Having sex in the pools and drinking beer and smoking weed on the beach is de riguer for this classless place-gates are wide open and no security personnel in sight- We stayed for four days and got eye rolls and "well you got a really good rate" were what we encountered when we brought all th
ese points up to the Nonexistent "MANAGER" Book anywher but here!!

Room Tip: book a different hotel this place is a mess
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0tamused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was a little Leary trying a new location to visit but my husband and I stayed here for 7 nights getting a decent rate on line! Upon arriving it was memorial day weekend it was after midnight and the parking lot was full of drunk people!! I was very annoyed .. Saying that checkin was fast friendly and simple we were in room 622 with a king bed and a view of the fishing docks our room was very big!!! Nice tv and couch and a king bed recently updated and was clean !! we were the only unit on our side so we had little noise! You could hear the tiki bar band until 1 am but only on memorial weekend! The room- bathrooms small but function able plenty of warm water but didn't have an outlet ? The bed and pillows were very comfy!! Our main complaint was the air conditioning wasn't as cold as we'd like!!! The place has great places to eat !! Shulas has great food! Breakfast and dinner! A must try !! Good service and quick!! The beach is small but all are in the keys plenty of lounge chairs so you don't have to save them!! Plenty of spots to view the spectacular views of the ocean .. Great towels and bar at the pool!! Really was a perfect location you don't need to leave the resort!! Just stay away on memorial day weekend it's a huge party but by Monday we had a very relaxing week no craziness at All plenty of quite and places to be alone!! Location is ideal service was great and food excellent only complaints were the air conditioner the maid wasn't very good and the party on memorial day weekend! Other wise perfect!! I'd live to come backand will recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmhines73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
12.1 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing