We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backwater fishing with the Master”

Skins and Fins Fishing Charters and Guides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Keys Fishing Charters and Guides: Captain Ted and Captain Donnie Benbow are the Father and Son team of Skins and Fins Charters and Guides. We fish the shallow waters of the Florida Keys, Islamorada, Key Largo and Flamingo in the Everglades National Park. We have three boats to meet your Flats and Backcountry fishing and fly fishing needs. Specializing in Tarpon, Snook, Bonefish, Big Sharks, Sea trout, Grouper, Mackerel, Snappers, Redfish and more. we fish out of the Holiday Isle Marina at the Post Card Inn. Beginner to experts, we will show you a great time on the water. Both Captains are sponsored by "Bud Light" and we cover the fishing forecast for GAFF fishing magazine. Call us for more details. Check out our fishing Blog and web site
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Backwater fishing with the Master”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a blast with Captain Ted and on top of that, the fishing was great! He's a local Captain who grew up on these waters, which he knows like the back of his hand. He is not just a skilled fisherman, just out there to find some fish for the angler, he's also a conservationist and educator, interested in protecting the waters and the species that live there. He's the real deal and well worth spending a day with on the water, tracking your catch in the beautiful Florida Keys and Everglades National Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfried286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    1
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Best Guide Ever”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Captain Ted was an absolute blast to fish with. If you get on his boat with a good attitude, he'll return the favor. We spent the day catching fish, cracking jokes, and laughing. Scored a couple of decent Reds, a Snook, and enough Snapper for a nice little dinner. If he tells you that you suck, he means so endearingly. I highly recommend going out for a day with him for Backcountry, or his son Donny for sight fishing the flats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total package backcountry fishing!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I knew that we just had to go back country fishing at some point during our Keys vacation. My wife hadn't been fishing in years and she really didn't know what to expect. Captain Ted welcomed us on board and took us out to the hot spots quickly and safely. We were almost instantly on some good fish and having a blast. Fishing with Captain Ted was an awesome experience and one of the best days of our Florida Keys vacation. Big thanks for everything and we'll see you again next year!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back Country - Florida Keys!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Again, My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of going out with Ted Benbow, Charter captin of Skins and Fins out of Islamorada this past Friday, 3/29/13. Not only is Ted an expert of the back waters, he also remembered what we like to fish for! Knowing your customers year after year is a huge plus and makes you feel incredible! Although we had some chillly weather in Florida, Ted was still able to find us fish! We caught several different types of back water fish. Anywhere from Black drum to Sheep Head and tons of Sea Trout!!! We did release all of our fish so there is plenty left for other fishermen.. We have found our Back country Charter Captin for many more years to come!!! See you in 2014!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captteddy, Owner at Skins and Fins Fishing Charters and Guides, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for Chartering us again this year! I always look forward to fishing with you. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing with Donnie”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My son and I went out with Donnie this past Thursday into the backcountry. Donnie showed us a good time, he made us welcome on his boat and showed us how to catch fish the Florida Keys way. We caught a variety of different fish,more than I expected. I plan to tell friends and will book on my next visit to the Keys. All in all a great experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captteddy, Owner at Skins and Fins Fishing Charters and Guides, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about fishing with Captain Donnie! We hope to fish with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skins and Fins Fishing Charters and Guides also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Skins and Fins Fishing Charters and Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing