We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Habanos Oceanfront

Habanos Oceanfront
Ranked #26 of 91 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate lunch here. I thought it would be closer to the water from what I had heard, but it was still very, very nice. I saw locals here, including several police officers. The food was quite good, and the service was very attentive. We would definitely go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReeseFL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    132
    46
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, MD
2 reviews
“Best grouper sandwich!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A locals type restaurant. A plain clean place with good food and large portions. Very good Cuban and American choices, and an excellent bi-lingual staff to keep all bases covered. If you don't stop by on your way to Key West, you will have missed (at the very least) the best grouper sandwich in the Keys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowieite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
366 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Order the Caesar with Mahi Mahi!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I thought I was going to get a few chunks of fish and a lot of lettuce, but I received a large fillet on a reasonable amount of romaine. My fillet was larger than the grouper entree that my partner ordered - and his was $14 more! Both selections were excellent - moist and nicely grilled. I also had the sweet plantains - a Cuban mainstay & something well worthwhile at this delightful (and busy) waterfront restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“huge portions and great food!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a place the locals like to go to. The portions were huge and everything tasted great. Can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An asset to Lower Matecumbe (which is not well served with restaurants good or bad) authentic, tasty, inexpensive, friendly service, great location right on the water, plenty of parking, handy for locals and travelers. Food to go, Cuban coffee to die for. A must go to when in Islamorada. Even the sheriff eats there. Love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanos Oceanfront also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Long Key, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Habanos Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing