We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing in the Sea Horse”

Sea Horse Private Charters
Ranked #3 of 159 Tours in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our friendly experienced crew will help you catch fish and have fun on a fully equipped 39 foot Harris Sport Fishing Boat with a full Tower. We accommodate up to 6 anglers with plenty of seating and two fighting chairs. We are committed to making your Sport Fishing trip as productive as possible. We search area reefs and the Gulf Stream for the best fishing opportunities available each day. Sailfish, Mahi, Tuna, Wahoo, Snapper, Amberjack, SWORD FISH, Marlin, Sharks, Cobia, and other Sport Fish are real possibilities and can be caught on the Sea Horse. We are Sport fishing and it is possible you may catch only a few fish due to adverse weather or possibly no fish in the area. We are located in Whale Harbor Marina Islamorada Florida Keys, mile marker 83.5 next to the Sea Food Buffet. Whale Harbor is a fishing destination known as the Sport Fishing Capitol of the World. We welcome novice and experienced anglers to have fun fishing on the Sea Horse. We encourage you to ask us questions about Sport fishing and the Florida Keys!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing in the Sea Horse”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband Mike and my son Michael spent the day fishing with Rick and his mate Tommy on August 12. My husband and son caught a total of 17 fish with one being over 30 pounds, they had a ball and we ate the best fish we had ever tasted for days! Next time we come down want to see this picture hanging up on the dock.....Thank You Captain Rick!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laurieblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaHorseCharters, Owner at Sea Horse Private Charters, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Nice, thank you for taking the time to tell traverls what you think about your day of fishing on the Sea Horse. We are happy to know you enjoyed your day on the water. We look forward to fish with you again when you visit the Keys.
Sincerely your Capt Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    4
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“FISH ON and ON and ON and ON!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This past trip to Islamorada was to find the Lobster and maybe get some fishing in but we didn't expect the highlight of the trip to be our last day charter fishing with Cpt. Rick on the Sea Horse. We have chartered many times and many places and never had a Cpt. so dedicated to getting the fish. We came across some tuna almost immediately and after catching four he decided to go out further for some Dolphin or Wahoo. We ended up catching more than 8 Dolphin 2 over 35 lbs. We had a blast and couldn't have asked for a better day! Cpt Rick was extremely knowledgable and determined to make the day a success! We are already planning a few days when the weather cools for a trip back to Islamorada! Whoooo Hoooooo!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin S Meyer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaHorseCharters, Owner at Sea Horse Private Charters, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
What a great day on the water. I am so happy to know that we did a great job for you. Wish everyday could be so productive. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
“Victory at Sea!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sunday August the fifth at sunrise, well, a little after sunrise, my wife, sister, two neices ages eight and nine and I collected ourselves at The Whale Harbor docks for a half day fishing tour with Captain Rick and mate Jeremy.
We headed straight for all the Dorado we wanted.It was like shooting fish in a barrel. Our eight year hold neice caught her first fish ever, a very nice size Dorado,while the nine year old spent the trip with her head limply hanging in a custom five gallon bucket provided her by Captain Rick.which was great because more fish for us.
Had we more time we would have stayed out all day for sure. The fish were everywhere, and Jeremy and Rick focused on making our experience FUN. All told, by the end of the trip we had 14 fish in the box, 11 Dorado and three Blackfin tuna.
Upon returning to the docks we noted one of the other charter boats had returned with its catch of the day too. It was similar to ours, they were indeed fish, only smaller.....and fewer of them. We will absolutely sail on the Seahorse again with Captain Rick and Jeremy.

Lance and company

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaHorseCharters, Owner at Sea Horse Private Charters, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Victory at sea! Wow, thanks for such a great review. Most people never get to see such large fish. Nor do they get to catch so many on one trip. Your party was blessed to have such a great day on the water. I look forward to fishing with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Reel! Reel! Reel! Reel!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had a blast Captin Rick. And to the mate who explained why he threw the fishes head in first so he could watch his body swim away was my deep sea HIGHLIGHT.

Helpful?
Thank Ericksnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaHorseCharters, Owner at Sea Horse Private Charters, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a great trip! thaks for fishing with us,
Sincerely, Capt Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“sea horse charters is awesome!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

fished sea horse eight times now (4-29-00)-(7-16-12).capt don clark in the early years and now capt rick rodriguez with mate jeremy at present who were awesome at best described.these guys go out of their way to make your day a fish catching adventure.i truly believe these two fisherman want to catch fish more than most people that charter the sea horse boat(except me).they are great with children,spouse and less experienced anglers.want to catch dolphin,tuna,wahoo,SWORDFISH and other bills, check these guys out at whale harbor marina in beautiful islaromada fl(my favorite destination) you will not be dissapointed!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonathan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaHorseCharters, Owner at Sea Horse Private Charters, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! I am so happy to know you had fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Horse Private Charters also viewed

 

Been to Sea Horse Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing