We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in the Florida Keys”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Topsider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topsider Resort
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the Florida Keys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It's too easy to pass Topsider Resort as you drive south on the Overseas Highway from Robbie's. The resort sign has seen better days and is situated well back from the road but don't let this put you off. If you persevere past the 'Private' signs you'll find yourself in a hidden paradise with tennis court, swimming pool, two small private beaches and a long fishing dock where visitors' boats are often moored. The accommodation consists of only twenty detached octagonal stilt houses which were constructed over twenty years ago but although basic in design, contain all the amenities and facilities you need for a fishing, swimming and beach holiday for couples or families. However Topsider's best feature isn't the lovely landscaped gardens or even the popular fishing dock, it's the friendly welcome you receive from all the others who obviously adore this place and go back year after year after year....

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the bay and be in the thick of what's happening, go for 'units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaTeresa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I can't believe some of these reviews by some people who seem to be high maintanence! This is the keys and you will find bugs! Tuesday and richard have been extremely nice since I have owned. 2001! Some people just can't take care of themselves on vaca. Love the place and would never trade. Manny is great and takes great care of the place. My ashes will be here someday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sharkman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The location of the Topsider is pretty convenient. There are some fun things to do nearby and it is about 1.5 hours to Key West.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful, as is its location on the Gulf of Mexico side of Islamorada. We stayed in unit 4. Pretty much everything in the interior was in serious need of updating. The beds were pretty comfortable and the towels were very nice. Was surprised that the management tells visitors not to turn the thermostat below 75 because the air conditioner might freeze up. Frankly, I'm not interested in staying in a place in Florida where I'm expected not to set the temperature to my liking. I wondered if it wasn't more about saving money on utilities than concern about the air conditioner. The other unwelcome surprise was finding ants in one of the bedrooms. Had to ask the management to get a blow dryer for the unit, surprising in this day and age.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went for the 1st time with another couple, not a Four Seasons but very nice. Good central location and about an hour and a half from Key West. Some nice shops and restaurants nearby too. Robbie's was very inexpensive for gifts. Walking down to the pier every morning was so peaceful, great place to sit back and read a good book. Took the bikes out for a long ride and there were also some kayaks. Friendly people and an all around nice trip. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Near the water if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

what can you say about a place where you move into a small house in a small community that welcomes you with open arms? plenty! while this resort is not a 5* place and does not have an on sight restaurant what it does have is a feeling of home. the units all offer 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large lounge/kitchen area so there is plenty of space and privacy no matter what the weather brings. the kitchens are adequate to cook simple meals (and who really wants to prepare large gourmet meals on vacation?). the grounds are open with a lovely heated pool, Jacuzzi and the crown jewel of a boat/fishing dock. the families from the 20 units all tend to meet up down here and boy do they make you fell welcome! it really is it's own little community! we were offered drinks, soft drinks and even invited for dinner at the boardwalk barbeques!
while the decor in the units is rather out of date this was not a big issue for us since we spent the majority of our time outdoors. we had looked at several other accomadations in the area and soon relized that for less than half the cost of those units we felt we could live with older decor and use the savings on fun things to see and do.
all in all we ended up very pleased we had this liitle village to call home for a short while and will definietly go back again!

Room Tip: units 1 & 11 are waterfront and units 10 & 20 are closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank evilelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This "timeshare" screams 1980s! If you are looking for a place to stay with lots of friends and family and you plan to do lots of fishing and drinking (why else go to the keys) this is a great place to stay. Our family has been visiting The Topsider for 30+ years. This is run as a timeshare so this is not a service-y resort. A very laid back atmosphere, do as you please (within reason). You will most likely make friends with many "neighbors" in the other units which will bring you back year after year. The pool, tennis / basketball are bonuses but the real fun happens on the dock (beach) especially at sunset. And this is pretty reasonable compared to other places. If you want luxury you can find it easily but be prepared to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in unit #2 last week and the first night was interesting since we had TERMITES SWARMING inside the unit. We were very tired and I know they don't bite so I calmed down my girlfriend and joked about it. The real fun was the next night when I dozed off watching TV on the sofa and got 150+ BED BUG BITES!! I was uncertain of the type of insect bites until I got home and my doctor said I was allergic to bed bug bites! I guess the only good that came from this experience is that I am now well educated on the little bloodsucking critters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
8.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort
Caloosa Cove Resort
#1 of 7 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsider Resort

Property: Topsider Resort
Address: 75500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-4005
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topsider Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topsider consists of 20 fully furnished octagon shaped stilt homes nestled in a lush tropical setting facing the bay. Each unit has two bedrooms, two baths, living room and a full kitchen. Downstairs you have your own storage/laundry room with a full size washer and dryer. HIGH SPEED INTERNET ACCESS IN EVERY UNIT On site there is a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and two shuffle board courts. There is a play ground area with swings and slide for the kids. Bicycles as well as kayaks and canoes are also here ready for your enjoyment! Topsider has its own boat ramp that guest can use at no charge. Of course we can't forget Topsider's famous pier. This "T" shaped pier jets out into the bay 180 feet giving those with boats plenty of room for docking and those who don't a great place to fish from. It's also the perfect place for everyone to enjoy those fabulous Florida Keys sunsets. So please take a moment to explore the site and see all the wonderful things that are available to you here at Topsider and the Florida Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Topsider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topsider Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing