We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walking trail in old quarry”

Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park
Ranked #13 of 61 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature trails and fossilized coral reefs are the highlights of this park.
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
428 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Nice walking trail in old quarry”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good place for families with kids---area's geologic history explained with a walking tour with several trails -- good to let the kids burn off some energy. Some areas not wheelchair accessible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    96
    24
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great trails and nature center”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful little state park on your way down the keys. The trails are well marked and wind through the hardwood hammocks and three quarries. Eventually one of the trails will end up in an area with a view of the Florida Bay. On the trails,you'll see plenty of mangroves, gumbo limbo and poison wood and other trees that make up most of the higher areas in South Florida. Great informative nature center staffed by wonderful park rangers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodiemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Expected”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We expected this would be a quick stop before heading to the beach but found it to be very interesting entertaining and educational. You must take the guided tour. It is only a hour long but you can learn so much from the guide it far surpasses the $3 price. This is the best value in the Keys. The knowledge gained about native plants fossils and the Keys history is invaluable. Plus for the price you can continue with a self guided tour to view much more. It can be easy to miss so slow down it is just 3 miles south of mile marker 88.

Helpful?
1 Thank BroncoTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely self guided ramble”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were not sure what to expect on arrival at the park as had found very little about it in the guides. At the entrance we grabbed one of the self-guides and began our walking tour of the park. A number of routes are available to follow and in our 2 hour trip we managed to cover a fair portion of them. The guide highlighted many plants and items of interest which was a bonus for me as a keen plant lover. There are also some excellent examples of fossilised corals and the guide explains in detail what you are looking at. As the area was prev a quarry there are also some examples of the equipment used and how the limestone was quarried. We also spoke to 2 park rangers within the park who were very friendly and helped us to identify a couple of bugs we had seen. Good place to visit - wear walking shoes and enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LulaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting park, quick visit”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stopped by this park to see what it was all about. Interesting history, and fun to walk around and see the fossilized reef. Pretty short visit though - plan to spend 30 minutes or less.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColeenDeGroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing