We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Customer Friendly. Owner rude and with wrong attitude.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We usually do write nice reviews, even with those places that are not quite good. My girlfriend and I are not quite picky and we do not complain, but when we arrived at this hotel from the backside, since we missed the entry, We were approached by really rude and unfriendly guy, totally out of himself and with life death threats about being shot because we were parking from the backside and not being able to find the entrance. We apologize and look to calm down the guy (we are not used to aggression). We moved and look for the reception. There, we found out that was the owner of this place overreacting to our mistake. This is a total lack of professionalism running a business and complete lack of understanding of customer service. Our booking was already charged to our credit card so we did not want to make things more difficult canceling the booking and ask for a refund. We decided to Check in, move around in our trip to Key West, spend the night and leave the place ASAP. The amenities were poor for the price you get, but the customer experience do not worth the savings you could do. There are better places expending a little bit more. The mattress was really bad and too noisy. There was loud music until late night and drunk people were around all night long. Couples and Family, keep and stay away. There are better places with just a few extra Dollars. I would say this is a perfect place for a lonely fisherman with extra beers. With that customer attitude I would not be surprise if this place is out of business in the next months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are so very happy that Tripadvisor allows us this forum to respond to reviewers. What is interesting is some of the facts that this traveler chose to leave out.

This couple parked around the back of the hotel. It definitely looks like the back of the hotel, and they had to drive by the front of the hotel and the clearly marked office to get to the back where they parked. That in itself is not so bad, and we understand that occasionally people can make mistakes.

What happened next, however, is what they left out of their description of events:

These guests thought it was perfectly acceptable to approach guest rooms at the back of the hotel, and proceed to look through both open and closed windows and sliding doors. We are talking full on staring with cupped hands and everything!

Were we mad? Yes. We are not sure of any excuse that can be given for suspicious people (who park around back where the office cannot see them) who then proceed to look into guest rooms! We are not sure how looking into these rooms was going to help you find the office at the front of the hotel.

We take the safety and security of our guests very serious. This did not ring true when they gave this excuse, and it does not ring true even now.

Todd Chandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Lights Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 386 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

The kids (early 30's) liked it because it was convenient to The PostCard Resort where they could swim in the ocean and there was a decent size pool. I was OK with almost average condition until the charges hit my bank account. They said, "Oh, yes. We can split the charges between your card and your friend's card." I signed for one night but was billed for two in our room and one in someone else's room. Today the guy said, "sorry... those have already been processed." So have the over draft fees and I am 1500 miles from my bank with an overdrawn account, but that's not his problem.

No phone in the rooms. 19" color TV. WIFI signal is better from DropAnchor2 at adjacent hotel. No beach. No microwave. Faucet missing a nozzle so you get shower while you brush your teeth. Last person who painted needed glasses. Trim paint on ceramic tile, window glass, floor. Forgot to paint around outlets by the bed.. Piece of ceramic tile missing from tub wall. Coffee available in office when they get around to opening at 8:30. Toilet flushes if you hold the handle down until it gurgles. Venician blind looks like it went thru a war.

The nicest thing is that not many people were staying there (go figure) so we had the pool to ourselves.

That being said... My signature on a $125 statement yielded $410 charges plus overdraft fees that the hotel guy said we could work out between ourselves. Ugh.

Room Tip: Try an RV. The two rooms on the end can see the ocean. Others see parking lots. The cabins do se...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KURTZINPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

This review is unfair at best because it is either a mistake or a fabrication.

There are three people that work the desk here at the hotel. Two females, and one male (myself). I can say without a doubt that I have never had a conversation with this reviewer about a split bill or multiple charges. Since I am the only guy that works here, I am assuming that they are talking about a different hotel or are outright lying. And I would never say "work it out between yourselves" when it takes 30 seconds to fix a charge!

On the outside chance that this was a recent family that rented two rooms, then switched rooms amongst themselves and then switched cards at checkout - all without telling the desk - This is not fair to blame the hotel for your actions!

Sincerely,

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a room on the second floor; nice view, big room with fully equipped kitchen, and clean. Some rust and old paint is expected from the tropical weather. The pool area is great to spend a relaxing afternoon after a day of exploring the Upper Keys, and enjoy breakfast watching the sunrise from the picnic area. We are looking forward to go back and stay in one of the cottages. Great place if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Second or Third floors have the best view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your business!

We appreciate the nice review, and hope to see y'all again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's practically in the middle of everything! We really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the place is dated, but what do you expect when you deal with tropical weather. It's CLEAN!!!, It's COMFORTABLE!!!
You get what the photos show you and if you're on a budget, it's a perfect place to stay. We're looking forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for the great review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just checked-in, extremely underwhelmed. My husband and I received this reservation as a Christmas present. When we arrived, the elder female host was extremely rude and treated us like thieves. The room smells like bathroom cleaner, and isn't much bigger than a bathroom (that is the queen size room). The television is ancient and the furniture looks like it was picked up by the side of the road. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every sound in the room next door. The A/C is a window unit (for a hotel room on the Florida Keys) and inconveniently located above and behind the humongous, out-dated television. The room does not include a closet, an iron, or a hair dryer. If it does not get better soon, we may just head back home.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tallygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are so very sorry you did not enjoy your stay!

We have an overwhelming amount of people that stay and love the small basic queen rooms. They are VERY affordable, clean and comfortable. People love them because they are comfortable and do not break the bank. We are not sure what you were expecting for so little money, but next time have your friends spring for any other (larger) room or even an oceanfront unit!

Todd & Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This room was beachside with beautiful view. Bed was amazing and after a long trip it was perfect. Staff was very friendly. Our room was a little pricey and small for an old hotel but was very clean. Pool was very clean and we felt like we were in a safe environment .people had their boats docked within 50 ft or less from the hotel too.we will try to get this room again next time we have a trip here.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

For being spring break, it was what we could find at a sort of reasonable price, but some of the descriptions were off. Apparently not all rooms have kitchenettes, but microwave, nor coffee maker were in our room either. Yes to mini fridge, though. Also, this property does not have a "beachfront", but rather it is on the ocean (rock edge).

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunDaysNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and review! We do want to mention that the vast majority of the rooms have full kitchens, and this is stated clearly in the room description when you book. At least that is what we are told. We are on over 3200 websites, so please let us know which one may have misrepresented the room type and we will correct it immediately!

Thank you again for your business!

Todd & Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $70 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing