We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed November 19, 2013

First, if you risk all by staying here get a confirmation price in writting. The clerk/owner will lie in order to over charge you when you check out. The room: Nothing has changed since Pres. Regan was in office (1980's) Every appliance was full of rust, the carpet were disgusting, the showers appear to have low pressure and the water handle were broken. the ceiling had mold. The bed felt like bed rock. There was no cleaning lady. If its wendy the entire room will creek. The Better Business Bureau will be contacted as well as the Heath Dept. BEWARE!

Room Tip: Stay Away and drive past. The pictures do not give this place any indication whats real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Doc29500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are fortunate to have the opportunity to respond to this review.

This gentleman checked into the hotel, signed his bill with the total charges outlined to the penny. When he came to check out, we asked how everything was and he said it was "great" or something close to that effect. When we presented him with the final bill (which matched what he signed at check in to the penny) he exclaimed that he was supposed to get another (lower) rate. He believed that what he booked online was a different rate, yet he could not produce any documentation to that effect. We tried to explain to him that he may have been mistaken, even showing him his own signature on all the charges. We even compared his rates to all the websites, and found no discrepancies.

We are sorry that you felt the need to leave such a bad review for your own mistake! We assure the readers that this is not a valid review!

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 386 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Desperate for a room since we pulled in after dark in the pouring rain, the desk clerk at the Harbor Lights, in respsonse to our question of whether we could see the room replied, "No, we do not show our rooms." Needless to say, we discovered we were not so desperate after all and went on to find a delightful place nearby.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the recent review.

We are not sure why you would give us such a bad review, when you did not stay with us.

We apologize, but there are many times that we are unable to show guest rooms. Because of our limited staffing, we often cannot leave the desk. Our policy to not show rooms at night is also for safety, as our desk staff is female and we are sure you can understand the concern and liability. Our guests expect cleanliness as well, and no one wants to check into a room where someone has tracked in mud (you even admitted it was raining!) and debris!

We are also certain that the hotel you stayed at did not show you a room in the middle of a rainy night either, which is why you did not mention it!

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Manager is not a friendly guy! I got to the hotel about 8:45 and went to the front desk and checked in no problem. I was running about a hour late because of fantasy fest and if you know the keys then is a very busy time of the year and traffic is common. Come to find out there boat ramp closes at 8:00 pm. I had my boat just about backed up in the water and around the corner comes one of the managers friends saying " The boat ramp is closed " Then he proceeds to bring me to the manager. I tell the manager I was sorry and I really needed to put the boat in the water tonight to go bullynetting, He says NO and its not his problem. I was very upset and walked away and I could hear his group of friends laughing. DO NOT STAY HERE place is ran by a Gestapo of a manager and place is ran down. WORST KEYS EXPERIENCE EVER!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are sorry that you felt the rules did not apply to you.

At the hotel it is our obligation to provide comfort, peace and tranquility for all our guests. Our boat ramp hours are posted clearly, so that our guest rooms in that area are not disturbed by the noise of launching boats.

We want to mention that the time was closer to midnight and the amount of noise you were making was disturbing our other guests - exactly why we have the limited hours of operation.

We are just sorry that you felt the need to slam the property with a bad review because you cannot understand that the comfort of our guests is our number one priority, and that the rules are there so that all can enjoy responsibly.

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is a pure dump the rooms were nasty the floor was falling apart the stove didn't work. they need to fire the manager at the front desk this lady was rude as hell I mean over the top rude she acted like we weren't paying good money to stay at this dump. I will never stay at this place if your smart you will just keep driving by. pictures on YouTube

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robertpaulhobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay!

It seems like something else might be going on here, as we have no record of an oven not working (we checked them all) nor do we have anything with the "floor falling apart" in any of our rooms!

Todd & Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We celebrate my 87 year old mom's birthday in the Keys every year for the last 6 years. Usually we stay about 5 miles south in an Hilton property . We decided to go on line in search of another option and thought we got a deal.. That was until we drive up to the property; my mom's face drop and her eyes almost clouded with tears. First of all it is not handicapped accessible; we needed to ask for a room change because there were no rails to enter on the first cottage we were assigned. The second cottage had rails but no kitchenette which had already been paid for via Expedia.com. There is a good reason why this facility is at the bottom of the ratings in our favorite Key.

Determined to make the best of a poor choice, we sat on the porch, enjoyed the afternoon sun and gorged ourselves in the only real asset on the property- the ocean view. Only select this property if everyone in your party is fit and willing to tolerate an older facility.

I am hoping to make it up to my mom by taking her to a few of her favorite restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are so very sorry that you were disappointed during your recent stay.

We can only say that when booking through a third party, please pay careful attention to exactly what is available and what you actually booked! Especially when it is something more specific, and deals with a room that does not exist on the property. We try our very best to accommodate each and every guest, but we simply do not have certain room configurations at the property.

For special requests or information, we urge future guests to contact the property directly!

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at Harbor Lights previously for a romantic get away and enjoyed our stay so much, we came back with our 2 young Son's ( 6 & 2 ). We were warmly greeted by Cynthia at Check-in. Our room was perfect for our Family!!! Big room, comfortable beds, clean, sliding glass doors that led out to a balcony with an amazing view of the Ocean and the Bay ( so beautiful and relaxing), a full kitchen which I truly appreciate! It can be costly to dine out for every meal and inconvenient with two little ones. We loaded up the fridge and freezer with all our goodies. We made hot dogs, Pasta, pancakes, bacon, sausage, omelets & Sandwiches in their fully equip t kitchen. Our day were spent swimming in the perfect temp pool over looking the ocean and fishing on the property. They even have a boat dock and Kayaks. The Owner's Becky and Todd went above and Beyond taking care of our every need and giving us wonderful recommendations for dining and Fun entertainment. I was thrilled to hear they were pet Friendly as well. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 36 and room 37 is huge for larger parties, it looked like they had a double balcony rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audieroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you sooooo much!

We are so very blessed to have wonderful guests come back again and again!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd & Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend and it was a delightful place to stay and relax. The rooms are clean and old school style, but CLEAN. Nice pool, barbeque area, boat ramp facilities and kayaks to use. The management is so friendly and accommodating. Washer and dryer on premises.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 27 and I woke up to the view of the ocean and a lovely screened in balcony to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbummj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review!

We agree that the view is AMAZING here at the property!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
746 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $80 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing