We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, dog friendly, but a little pricey for an obviously older property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, dog friendly, but a little pricey for an obviously older property”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

If your expectations are not too high and you're not too picky, this is a decent place to stay. There are a lot of little things that could be improved to make it better - touch up paint, newer appliances, some new kitchenette accessories. Friendly staff, no issues with our dog at all (we stayed in one of the duplex cottages.) Great location to launch kayaks or small boat, easy walk to several restaurants, nice pool area, nice beach for sunning/relaxing but with a rocky edge (common in the keys) so no direct water access. One of us would stay again, other would like to see some upgrades first.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCKWCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review!

We do plan on continuing to improve the property, and will take your suggestions to heart!

We hope that our future guests understand that the property is clean and dated, which is why it is not twice the price like some other resorts!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    84
    80
    53
    110
See reviews for
102
140
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel has nothing a normal hotel has like a coffee maker, bath tub, phone, hair dryer. What they did give us was a few towels a rag 2 plastic cups and a roll of paper towels. The beds were horrible too you could feel the springs in them & they made noise every time you moved. This place was very raggedy & it was nothing like the pictures I seen online of it. They had a picture of a sandy beach & beautiful water but when you get there you can swim from it cuz its got a sea wall witch is a 4 foot drop to the water you can't even touch the water there so I was mad about that too The ac also sucked & the toilet was broke when we got there. The only good thing I can say is the owner gave us a refund after we found another place to stay for the same price but was a %100 better. If you looking for a nice place to stay go a little further down & stay at the islander resort! I'll be writing a great review about them also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cresong2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the review.

To be fair, we do have bath tubs, coffee makers and hair dryers.

We are confused, because your review is titled "Not worth what I paid" but you never stayed or paid anything?

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from a trip in Islamorada and stayed at this property. We arrived early and were denied early checkin which is understandable. They did let us use the boat ramp so we could get right on the water. We finally checked in around 4pm and saw our rooms. Our kitchens barely had anything. (1 knife, 3 forks, 2 spoons, 3 plates and one bowl) The bathrooms had all broken towel racks in both rooms. The air worked great and the rooms were spacious. The staff cleaned our rooms only 2 of a 5 day stay. The staff was friendly but the female owner was not. She was very short with several guests, not just us. The location of the motel was perfect for access to the water. The pool was inviting and so was the grilling area with hammocks.

Room Tip: If you plan on cooking meals at the hotel, get a room with a larger fridge and bring extra cutlery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We have passed you comments on to housekeeping and maintenance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is older and it shows, rust spots, cracked tiles, etc. If that bothers you, don't go there. The rooms have some updates done but lack others, bathroom is clean, TV and fridge in room, bed was pretty old however, it squeaked with any movement and the springs are worn. As my luck would have it the night we stayed was the start of lobster season and at 3 am a boat was being off loaded, not sure whether the office knew since the boat ramp is supposed to be open from 8am to 8pm. The in wall AC unit was pretty loud and it makes sleeping hard. I found it humorous how resourceful they are with the toilet paper, hole in the wall? Put a wad of toilet paper to plug it up. Missing plate from electric outlet? Put a wad of toilet paper to covert it up. Shower curtain rod not long enough? Put a wad of TP to help it, I'm surprised they didn't put a wad of TP under the AC unit to cover the hole between the unit and the wall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidccs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the recent review!

We are so very sorry for the noise. Lobster season can be crazy, and as much as we try to enforce our rules, there are always some guests that take advantage!

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ok so I have traveled all over the world. Decided to come to isla morada for some relaxation. Upon check in which was 3pm. They alerted me my room was not yet ready. So at 730pm they called me and said I could finally check in. I asked if there was a discount she said she was calling and calling my phone. When I showed her my phone with the time she pushed it away and said "I know what time I called". Rude as ever! The locks never worked on my door. Had to prop a chair behind it To keep it closed. They never sent anyone to fix it. Dirty sheets... Dirty carpet... Dirty bathrooms... Will never ever stay here again!! Do not book this hotel unless you want a night of horrors!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

We can assure you (and future guests) that our rooms are clean and the linens are fresh! We are sorry that you felt there were problems with the lock, but had we known which room or had we been notified of any problems, we would have fixed them immediately!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the worst place to stay. Starting with the administration !!!! These two people Todd and his wife are very unfriendly, racist with hispanics and also Thieves.
Don't waste your time coming to this disgusting motel, all the rooms are old, and dirty.
And these two don't deserve to have clients.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alejandrp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We obviously had to ask this guest to leave the property for some reason or another.

We are just sorry that they are still allowed to post a negative review.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good experience for the second time! Management had changed but the rooms were still the same! 2queen beds although I would believe they might have been big twin size! Good stay for one night on travel purpose! Bar across the road had easy food, excellent staff and a nice game playing for us. Pool was heated by the sunlight. Will be back and mostly because of the cleaning ladies who made you feel at home

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Chantal,

Thank you so much for the great review. We do have a great staff, and we are glad they made your stay special!

We have been here over four years now! Time has flew by these last few years!

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
5.5 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Property: Harbor Lights Motel
Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing