We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Lights Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Whitehouse, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I were getting away for the weekend and were shocked by the prices of hotels. Harbor Lights was the best price we could find so we decided to stay there. Our room was dated, but clean. The beds, linens, etc. were clean. The bedspread looked new and clean. We had a big truck and 36' boat trailer. There was plenty of room to park it. The owner even helped us push another trailer out of the way so we could park. The view was awesome and pool felt great. The location is within walking distance to a busy/fun bar. The owners are super nice. There was a fun party vibe there, but we also got to know an older couple and a family. Everyone was just fun and happy to be having a great time. If you're snooty and high maintenance this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a clean place to crash and have a great time, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    75
    52
    104
See reviews for
97
134
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We needed to stay on a pet friendly motel, we found Harbor Lights in our way south. We were greater very nicely by Todd & Becky Chandler. The room we took was separate from the main building is a Cabana style ocean front view. Very clean indeed. Nice size bathroom, good size front window with a cute balcony. It had TV, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and few plastic cups. This particular property is around 30 years old. We had drove by it and looked at it years back; but we did not dare to stay because it was very run down! It is amazing what the new owner is doing! I hope he or she doesn't stop here, because this place has "huge" potential, specially been a pet friendly location. Todd is a super nice host and he is very friendly and helpful. I took several pictures which I'm posting, hope that will help you see for yourselves.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so very happy you decided to stay!

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to be your regular stop here in Islamorada!

See you again soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We walked in at 2:45 and owner was less than happy to see us. I guess the fact that we wanted to pay him almost $600 for a three night stay wasn't enough to entice him to welcome us warmly. I said we would like to check in and he said I can't help you as check in isn't until 3:30. He didn't add anything to that comment just looked at me as if he couldn't believe we would bother him prior to check in time. Owner could have greeted us nicely and told us we were welcome to walk around enjoy the view in the chairs by the water but I guess that would have been asking too much. We did walk around and checked out the view and garbage in the water and then went back in and checked in at 3:30. We noticed that the maids were working away and it appeared many of the rooms were already cleaned but apparently checking us in early would have been way too much trouble. We checked in at 3:30 w/another less than warm encounter and wondered why someone who quite obviously hates to own a motel and deal with customers would continue in this business. During our stay we witnessed folks using the boat ramp who had to navigate an already very narrow channel around the owners two boats even bumping into them trying to get around. The boats were in the same spot for the entire time we were there and many had issues getting around them. The room was clean enough but weary and old, no curtains on the windows and the fan and cord to the fan were very heavy with dust. Beds weren't in great shape at all. The "Ocean View" was out the back window and not great. The pool wasn't heated so we couldn't enjoy it at all. Their was also a handy man who was creepy and couldn't seem to keep his eyes off the girls in their bathing suits...ugh.... We will definitely not stay here again ever. We should have listened to the comments on Travelocity about the owner and his lack of customer service skills more closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GetWhatYouPayFor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Personally, I would like to apologize for what you may have misconstrued as rude behavior. I assure you that my intent was not to be rude at all. In the afternoons we are focusing on getting the rooms available by 3:30 PM, so there is much to do in that last hour to insure that the rooms are completed on time. What you may have taken as rude, might have been just me trying to get your room ready!

During busy season (like when you stayed) we work very hard to try have rooms ready by 3:30 PM. Often it "appears" that the housekeepers are done when they are not. Rooms might still need supplies or linens, or they might need a final inspection. This is why we try and be fair to everyone by sticking to the 3:30 check in time, and also why we make sure that every customer knows to not expect the room to be available earlier. It is printed on every single reservation confirmation, and we tell every guest who calls the very same thing. I apologize again if you felt that you were being singled out, but that was not the case at all.

Please note the following which you mentioned in your review: Yes, our boat ramp and channel are narrow and have been for 70 years. By law we are unable to widen or alter the shoreline, but most people understand this. Unfortunately, we do have people that throw garbage in the water. We do our best to stay on top of it and remove it several times a week. Fore the record, the owner does not keep boats here - so we are not sure how to even respond to this comment. At any given time we have boats tied up at the dock, and for the most part everyone is OK with maneuvering. The fact that you did not have a boat at all so we are confused as to how this bothered you? Please also note the pool is certainly heated (it is constant 80-82 degrees and checked daily) and it was working fine during your stay.

Once again I apologize for coming off as "rude" when I explained our check in policy and times. It was certainly not my intent.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
380 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped at Harbor Lights on our 10 day jaunt through the Keys. Happy to find a vacancy with the Marathon Seafood Fest in 2 days we were delighted to get friendly check-in and a room for 4 for $135/night.

Our seperate cottage consisted of 2 queens, tile floors, dining set w/ chairs, kitchen with full refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and large emaculate bath. The room was clean, quiet with comfy beds and cheery white and yellow decor.

Although it was too cool to swim, the pool was large, pristine and nice to sit around and watch the sunset and boats pass by on the oceanside of Hwy 1. The motel has a sandy beach, boat ramp, easy access to the ocean, screened enclosures for large group entertainment and grilling.

Worth a stay in the seperate cottages for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The picture of your guys in the "Big Chair" is awesome too!

We hope you can come back soon, and stay longer on your next visit!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The owners of the motel were very pleasant and accommodating. Really nice, quiet place to stay. The motel had clean bedspreads, sheets and towels. We left another filthy motel early so that we could stay at the Harbor Motel. It was well worth the price, especially if you don't like the bar crowd. Also, the beds were very comfortable so we got a good nights sleep while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Nancy,

Thank you so very much for the kind words! We were so happy that you could arrive early and that you enjoyed your stay. We also enjoyed having you, and look forward to your return soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We made a mistake and thought we were staying in Key West another night. All hotels were booked do to the Marathon Seafood Festival stopping and going along the way... Finally a vacancy she said all I have is 1 room left(like I haven't heard that before) So we took it for 165.00 a night. Well it was not worth 165.00 a night. Stains on the ceilings in bathroom stains on rugs and needed a paint job badly. We rested for the night and went to check out the next day and the gentleman( if that's what you call them down there)said its going to be 225.00 we are no way you need to call that lady that helped up last night and well we paid and left it was the worst stay and experience we had the hole 3 weeks exploring the keys....

Room Tip: BEWARE of this is a dirty place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nday621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so very sorry that you feel the hotel was taking advantage of you.

Please understand that the reason we have you acknowledge the rates and charges at check-in, is so that there are no misunderstandings about charges and fees. When I showed you your very own signature on the registration that outlined every dime, and how it matched your hotel bill to the penny, I thought that was enough proof that the error was on your part. We have never been accused of overcharging a guest. You did, in fact, get our last room that evening and we are not sure what the benefit would be of telling you this if it was not true?

We remind future travelers that this property does not charge hidden "resort fees" that are so very popular down here in the keys. We outline all charges when you arrive and this guest was no exception.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

LAKE PLACID,FL
Level Contributor
191 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

TOOK a week to relax n fish even took my own boat and all went well!TODD and his wife Becky
went out of their way to make my experience very enjoyable.TODD helped me launch my boat in the 15 MPH wind gusts which was a great help!THE ocean front room was very clean and the boat dockage was included with stay..No hidden fee's ..most places charge $1.50/2.00 a ft. per day for dockage...A DEAL FOR THE BOATER!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chazLakePlacid_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Charles,

We were so very happy to have you back. We wish we could have controlled the weather better during your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tood & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Property: Harbor Lights Motel
Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing