We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vacation food place”
Review of Lazy Days

Lazy Days
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good vacation food place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We ate at Lazy Days for dinner two times during a one week stay in the Keys. I can imagine once that this was a typical fried seafood vacation restaurant typical of beach towns. We were pleasantly surprised to find a more modern menu lead by chef's daily specialties. Two great surprises we found were the chef's willingness and the staff's preparedness to have our daily fresh catch prepared in house. The other was their "lazy style" of preparing fish. I would definitely recommend taking your fresh catch dolphin or snapper filets and asking they prepare it grilled and lazy style. We picked the restaurant based in advice from locals and boat crew. That's always a good hint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,383
    1,064
    344
    129
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2 atmospheres, fish in the pier”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

It's more romantic downstairs on the beach with torches and live music, more casual, happy upstairs. Staffs friendly.
We were upstairs, had broiled seafood platter and crab salad. Food is ok, not very special, lobster tail and today's catch mahi-mahi from the broiled platter is terrible. Maybe we ordered wrong? Anyway we had a happy evening there.
There's a pier near, in the evening light attracts tarpons and sand sharks. We enjoy fish watching too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabi-gaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SUPER Lazy Days catch of the day or chicken is AMAZING!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Every year we come to Islamorada, our dinner at Lazy Days ends up being the best meal! Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible Food!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

All that glitters is not gold. Of course, on first glance, this restaurant looks like a dream. Set right on the turquoise blue water of the keys, it promises a great dining experience.

But that was not the case for us when we ate there. The food was really bad. I had the fried seafood platter, thinking that the shrimp, oysters, scallops and fish would be fresh off the boat. Instead I got an over breaded, over fried mess that was inedible. My wife's scallops were rubbery and tasteless. The salad that my friend got had canned peaches in it!

And when the waitress came by and saw that I had put aside my plate after eating almost nothing from the plate, she didn't say anything, making me think that perhaps my experience was not that uncommon.

She did say that they didn't have the "special" desserts that were referenced in some of the reviews, however. But she added that the fudge cake had just been defrosted and was good. So that confirmed my fears that almost nothing in this place is made fresh. It's mostly prepackaged frozen products that you could get back home in your grocer's freezer section.

And the restaurant is not cheap either.

So do yourself a big favor and find another place to eat when you are in Islamorado.

You have been warned!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie123109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
Level Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Consistent Quality”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice during our stay to Islamorada. Blackened stuffed grouper is a must. Great views and quality seafood. A definite must try if your looking for a great meal in Islamorada.

Helpful?
Thank ocloanshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing