We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the in infamous Banana bread but not the service...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Days

Lazy Days
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go for the in infamous Banana bread but not the service...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having been told to book ahead as this restaurant is very popular we did expect it be good....
the greeting was quite hostile from the getgo from a very a irate person on the front desk. I put it down to a very busy evening and brushed it off but from where were sat it seemed that things were getting a little out of control. people could bring their own catch in to be cooked as well as dine in so the front area was very crowded and understaffed.We were greeted by an off hand waitress who was barely going through the motions, however the, beverages and the infamous banana bread was delivered to our rather sticky table that I had to wipe clean. on the upside the the bread was delicious.
The crab cakes that I had for my main course were mediocre, nothing to write home about, but my husband had the catch of the day which was very nice. My son's childs meal was disgusting!!!
I will not be going back there, ever, I can only suggest that you hunt down smaller establishments that are not tourist traps and where you would get a far better bang for your buck and where you would be treated with a little more respect.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaygoogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    1,050
    332
    128
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a great stop a must when in the keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

i love this place the service ti good the people are friendly, the food is Excellent, drink are wonderful, i have done lunch and dinner there, the veiw is not bad either.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artbug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ala Roach!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Having been a Conch in an earlier life and had the pleasure of living in the upper keys I wanted to revisit some of the key delights remembered from those days like Cracked Conch. Someone suggested to us that Lazy Days Restaurant had really great Cracked Conch and to be sure and order it Lazy Style. There were 5 of us for dinner. We were seated without delay but from that moment on things really slowed down as far as service. The waiter finally took our drink and appetizer order and then we waited after about 30 min we inquired about the appetizer and were told the order had been placed. We were seated close enough to the semi-open kitchen to see how chaotic it was. The ? main cook was very emotional and several times really treated the wait staff rudely - screaming at them. We were seated right next to the counter where the servers completed the orders before taking them out to the diners......food sat there way too long....we also saw a ROACH crawl up and over this same counter.
By the time our food finally arrived none of us were hungry........The roadh really took our appetite way + we had eaten our appetizer, salad and bread (they served hot rolls and banana bread loaves). 3 in our party ordered steaks with crab cakes and were all over cooked. I had the lazy conch and my husband had the plain cracked conch. The conch had been so chopped up it was like eating ground meat with a thin layer of breading. Also watching a ROACH crawl around with all those people about and a chaotic, loud, rude cook can definitely say this is not a place we would return to nor recommend. You pay way too much for less than mediocre food, poor service and questionable cleanliness.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonilda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Great deck, food is pretty good. Excellent key lime pie. We are full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Average Taste for a High Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our second trip to the Florida Keys, we were very excited to try the famous "Lazy Days". For starters, you must call ahead and reserve a table!! We had been on a plane and in the car all day, and were not allowed to sit in one of the many empty tables outside because we hadn't called ahead! We were very disappointed... The food was extremely average tasting... and pretty unreasonably priced. We are a family of four and got 2 entrees; the fried seafood platter and the grouper with "Greek Roasted" potatoes with rice. $66!!! The seafood platter was again, average. The grouper was rubbery and covered in WAY too many toppings. The potatoes.... extremely undercooked, VERY flimsy. The rice was ehh... so-so. The one positive I can say is that our waiter was very polite and very helpful! And their banana bread was amazing!! I just wish they spent as much time on the food as they spent baking the bread!! I was so mad because I had read and heard so many great things about this restaurant and was extremely disappointed. Don't waste your money!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticForYou_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing