We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & Wonderful Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
St. Croix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place & Wonderful Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Two couples on a trip to Key West wanted to spend the night to enjoy the middle keys and surrounding food & entertainment.
Wonderful clean rooms with onsite pool with both outside and inside bar for relaxing.
Informative fun locals you can interact with to enjoy the area.
Good place for Parrot Heads and Key West bound fun seekers.
A+++++ Lets Flip for a Drink during "Happy Hour"!!
Thanks Linda & Larz

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnWillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have been to the Ocean View many, many times over the years and keep coming back. Gary Dunn has done a great job renovating the rooms having recently installed new beds, quiet new windows, large flat screen tv's and furnishings. His staff is very friendly, laid back and really take a personal interest in making sure you are taken care of and having a good time. All of them seem to have worked there for many years.

The rooms, gardens and pool areas are clean and beautiful! The indoor/outdoor bar serves great, inexpensive food, boat drinks and ice cold beers. We enjoyed the chili, wings, mahi salad, sliders and cuban sandwiches this time around - really delicious for a sports bar - and there is much more to choose from on the menu. Also enjoy the rather large kid's playground overlooking the bay and especially walking down to the dock at night to check out all the stars not visible around the city lights at home.

There's plenty to do in the immediate area, i.e., tons of fishing, diving, restaurants, and shopping as well as Holiday Isle and Theater of the Sea across the street, but we spend most of our time kicked back by the waterfall at the heated pool and enjoy the view of the bay and the gardens. Love having both the pub and the pool just steps away from our patio! Backwater fishing captains will usually pick you up at the dock.

The rooms are cozy, but there's plenty of space on the grounds to relax and enjoy the breeze. Free wireless internet works fine. You'll find the rates very reasonable given that clean rooms and nice a/c units can be hard to come by in the Keys. With only seven rooms, book early.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank festivalstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

A great location .3 miles north of the Tiki Bar Holliday Isle at half the price. The room was quit spacious and very clean, the bed was comfortable and clean. The outside back bar had a very friendly staff and is good for viewing all the games with new TV's and a good menu. The only thing was check in and out is done at the inside bar, which is a very dark, local, smokey bar. But once those tasks are complete the rest of the place is great. Can't wait to go back and enjoy the OLD Florida Keys Feel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boars919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford (N of Toronto), ON
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Because our week long trip in South Beach and Key West required us to arrive at the Charlotte-Boca Raton airport for a return flight, we had decided to stay overnight in Islamorada. Harrahs & Dunns Ocean View Inn & Pub at 84500 Overseas Highway was our choice, following (my bible) TA’s #1 hotel ranking in Islamorada.

We had stayed at TA’s (deservedly) #1 rated B&B in KW, leaving after breakfast to take in Bahia Honda’s beaches and views, lunch at Seven Mile Grill (yummie), before checking in mid aft. (Driving past, I’d also now add Anne’s Beach & Boardwalk (MM 73, Lower Matecumbe Key) as a stop - breathtakingly beautiful:

http://floridakeystreasures.com/Beaches/annesbeach.shtml

It seems clear to me that Islamorada’s Ocean View Inn & Pub is short on pretense, and all about the “product”, always making a quality choice. Not that pretty from the frontage or in the inside bar, the rooms are fabulous, the pool and grounds at the rear very nice, and all maintained in good condition. The King bed is huge - 5’ across - offering maybe the most comfortable sleep we’ve ever had.

It is owned by two U of Miami grads: Gary Dunn, former defensive tackle and captain of the Super Bowl Champion Pittsburg Steelers; and Dennis Harrah, an All-American and 1st round draft choice and former right guard with the LA Rams. In short, the standard is that which professional athletes would demand in their frequent travels.

Amazingly, I believe that the Ocean View website’s photographs of the pool and individual rooms at the Ocean View are accurate and do it justice. The rooms are very large, with high ceilings. The large ceramic tile floor is a nice choice. The bathrooms are large, with a walk-in shower. The rooms are new and maintained in top condition. Each has a secluded patio with table/chairs and an individual pathway that leads to the rear pool and bar area.

It appears that the Ocean View has a huge, loyal following. Given that there are only 7 rooms, it’s a smart move to focus on local trade for food and drink. The inside bar (which doubles as the check-in) appears to be for serious drinking, horseshoe-shaped in a relatively dark interior. There are several booths along the front for meals. I understand from the reviews that its food is very good. While checking in, one of its off-duty cooks was at the bar. Unlike others, he said that the staff was qualified chefs and not just line cooks. There are regular specials ($15 for a 16-oz strip loin steak the day we were there). I wish we’d had the time to try something (because I’m certain anything would be delish and very reasonably priced).

We did, however, have an opportunity to sample a handful of margaritas within a short period of time at the outside bar, which is adjacent to the pool (to 5’ depth, lots of poolside chairs and lounges to sun). While wine is on HH (4-7, I think), margaritas aren’t. At $4 each regular, though, they’re still about ½ the HH price of some in S. Beach and KW (I paid $40 for 2 drinks in S Beach - principally because I think there was the usual 18% automatic tip added without bringing it to my attention, and, without thinking, I added another tip).

There’s a boardwalk out to a dock through mangroves on the bay side.

The staff is naturally friendly. Easily the nicest rooms we had throughout our trip, and that’s saying something because our B&B stay in KW couldn’t have been better. And, whether in rooms or bar areas, huge hi-def TVs!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FrostyBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Awesome service and good food. Four beers and 2 entries under $30. We liked the local atmosphere and the cigarette smoke was tolerable...we are nonsmokers. Kitchen is open late.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanienchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed for four nights with hubbie, brother and sister-in-law. The room was lovely and clean and more than adequate for four adults and the beds were the comfiest we had all holiday. Everything is super clean and well looked after and the staff can multi-task with the best. We liked the fact that it was a local bar and flip night is such a great idea. It is on the main highway (aren't they all in the Keys?) but if it was any further off it it would be in the bay. No problems at all with noise or dust.

Also worth a note as many reviewers seem to find it an important factor when reviewing places the wi-fi was free and extremely fast and reliable - more so than a $350 a night Miami hotel.

The $6 pork special was a good food choice. We found it excellant value for money and will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Big disappointment.
Very close to the noisy and dusty Interstate 5.
The rooms are clean, colourful and adequate.
The pool is OK and there is a path to a jetty which was nice.
Inside the sports bar was dark and dingy. I like, and understand, the game Americans
call football but unlike several other sports bars we have visited we were not inclined to linger.
The was an outdoor bar area too which is fine if you enjoy other peoples smoke.

There is no where within safe walking distance (lots of traffic, no pedestrian areas).
For our evening meal we drove south a little to Lorelie's.
N ice bar, good live music (on a Monday night), a nice meal on the beach right by the bay. Great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
741 reviews
2.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Property: Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing