We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Save
You added Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice little out of the way hotel,,,,, Clean, great pool, and terrific sports bar. Great staff. Just right for a single night or several. ....each room has a lot of conveniences if your stay a few days, or just the night.

Room Tip: I prefer the very end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlypalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    45
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay at Ocean View was one of the highlights of our vacation. After several busy days, it was great to simply relax by the pool, take the short walk to the bar, sip our drinks, and just enjoy the sun. Our room was great, clean, and had a coffee pot (with enough coffee for 16 cups), a fridge and a microwave. There is no alarm clock, nor is there a hair dryer - no big deal, though.

We didn't eat at OV, but we did have drinks - very reasonably priced after what we experienced at Key West. We enjoyed talking with the other friendly visitors - a nice couple from England that we shared the sunset and drinks with.

A great find was the little boardwalk that took us to the water. Walk from the pool, past the fire pit and horse shoe pits, and you will discover your pathway to the water. There are benches to sit and relax as you watch the boaters or the sun. Take two drinks with you.....one won't be enough!

We will be back to visit Ocean View Inn, it just won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our short stay. Clean well presented room with a small kitchen area, private walkway to pool a great idea. Food at the inn was ok but choice of menu could have been better. Too much fast food. Whilst we enjoyed the friendly relaxing atmosphere, the motel would benefit from a maintenance schedule, the gardens need a gardener. My only negative comment is that visitors to the bar are allowed access to the private pool and the area is not big enough to cope. Generally good value for money. The rooms would benefit by having more utensils and plates, dishes etc

Room Tip: If you like your nights peaceful avoid rooms 1 to 3 as there is noise from the busy and lively bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glengoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a great stop - A great little motel, clean, comfortable, great outdoor poolbar and super sports bar for those who prefer neon tans. Rooms are bright with some amenities ( coffee pot, microwave,) end rooms are a little larger. This was an excellent spot for our overnight stay.

Room Tip: End rooms are nice - a little bigger but they all have outside patios to sit and watch the day go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenreiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What else can I say. There's an inside bar, outside bar, fire pit, and outside dining area. Bar tenders are friendly, bar food above average, at least the burgers and Cubans. Rooms have patios the connect to a path the the pool and outside bar. Huge NFL Sundays both inside and out. Rooms a very clean. The only reason it's not 5 is the age. They have done a good job with upgrades, but it's old and there is only so much they can do. Unless you are used the high end hotels, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whether you are lucky enough to snag one of the 6 rooms at the OV or you just enjoy the back patio and Sports Bar - this is an Islamorada tradition that must be savored. If you are passing thru to Key West or further South, time your trip for lunch here. Lars and staff run a casual but well organized venue where the drinks are generous and the food delicious. Try the Mahi Mahi sandwich. The rooms are always spotless and each room has a patio./ Lanai in the Palmettos with trails leading to a surprisingly nice pool out back. Lars has the most amazing array of digital screens out back so if you are watching sports you have truly arrived. Congratulate him on his recent marriage if you go soon. Gulf out back and Atlantic across the street. A gem

Room Tip: I like the one next to the bar but that would only save you a few steps LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had a very nice stay at this property with my family. The first night we got locked out of our room and the owner was not too happy to let us in. You get just what you see in the pics, and free WiFi. I did find this to be a hang out for locals and they sometimes hang out drunk at the pool. Nothing close by, so a car ride to anything of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F150nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Property: Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing