We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Oh, why did I have to leave!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Oh, why did I have to leave!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay at Ocean View was one of the highlights of our vacation. After several busy days, it was great to simply relax by the pool, take the short walk to the bar, sip our drinks, and just enjoy the sun. Our room was great, clean, and had a coffee pot (with enough coffee for 16 cups), a fridge and a microwave. There is no alarm clock, nor is there a hair dryer - no big deal, though.

We didn't eat at OV, but we did have drinks - very reasonably priced after what we experienced at Key West. We enjoyed talking with the other friendly visitors - a nice couple from England that we shared the sunset and drinks with.

A great find was the little boardwalk that took us to the water. Walk from the pool, past the fire pit and horse shoe pits, and you will discover your pathway to the water. There are benches to sit and relax as you watch the boaters or the sun. Take two drinks with you.....one won't be enough!

We will be back to visit Ocean View Inn, it just won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our short stay. Clean well presented room with a small kitchen area, private walkway to pool a great idea. Food at the inn was ok but choice of menu could have been better. Too much fast food. Whilst we enjoyed the friendly relaxing atmosphere, the motel would benefit from a maintenance schedule, the gardens need a gardener. My only negative comment is that visitors to the bar are allowed access to the private pool and the area is not big enough to cope. Generally good value for money. The rooms would benefit by having more utensils and plates, dishes etc

Room Tip: If you like your nights peaceful avoid rooms 1 to 3 as there is noise from the busy and lively bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glengoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a great stop - A great little motel, clean, comfortable, great outdoor poolbar and super sports bar for those who prefer neon tans. Rooms are bright with some amenities ( coffee pot, microwave,) end rooms are a little larger. This was an excellent spot for our overnight stay.

Room Tip: End rooms are nice - a little bigger but they all have outside patios to sit and watch the day go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenreiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What else can I say. There's an inside bar, outside bar, fire pit, and outside dining area. Bar tenders are friendly, bar food above average, at least the burgers and Cubans. Rooms have patios the connect to a path the the pool and outside bar. Huge NFL Sundays both inside and out. Rooms a very clean. The only reason it's not 5 is the age. They have done a good job with upgrades, but it's old and there is only so much they can do. Unless you are used the high end hotels, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whether you are lucky enough to snag one of the 6 rooms at the OV or you just enjoy the back patio and Sports Bar - this is an Islamorada tradition that must be savored. If you are passing thru to Key West or further South, time your trip for lunch here. Lars and staff run a casual but well organized venue where the drinks are generous and the food delicious. Try the Mahi Mahi sandwich. The rooms are always spotless and each room has a patio./ Lanai in the Palmettos with trails leading to a surprisingly nice pool out back. Lars has the most amazing array of digital screens out back so if you are watching sports you have truly arrived. Congratulate him on his recent marriage if you go soon. Gulf out back and Atlantic across the street. A gem

Room Tip: I like the one next to the bar but that would only save you a few steps LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had a very nice stay at this property with my family. The first night we got locked out of our room and the owner was not too happy to let us in. You get just what you see in the pics, and free WiFi. I did find this to be a hang out for locals and they sometimes hang out drunk at the pool. Nothing close by, so a car ride to anything of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F150nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a really nice, comfortable "home" to come back to after our day trips to Annes beach, Robbies for kayaking, Key West and Looe Key snorkel. The pool is perfect after such hot days and the bar is great to just walk up from the pool to get a drink. We got the chili fries and they were delicious! We walked out to the boarwalk and pier to watch the sunset and although it's off to the side, it is still beautiful. The firpit was also great. My husband is a very early riser and enjoyed going out on the private patio with his book to wait for me and our daughter to finish sleeping. The outdoor shower was a nice addition and kept the sandy floors to a minimal. The only drawback was on our last morning, we had run out of coffee provided in the room so I went to the bar to ask and she did not seem happy to get up to get me some, but it was good just the same. The evening bartender was very entertaining and the housekeeper was such a nice lady :) A great stay overall. Extra info: we stopped at the Lobster trap art gallery nearby and they have some great unique items by local artists and my hubby bought me a gorgeous sea glass pendant there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingeast_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Property: Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing