We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caloosa Cove is old and unattractive...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I rented a week for April 2012 from Charles Roberts who advertises on Craigslist quite heavily.
My wife and I thought we might like to buy a timeshare week at this location. So, we visited the Florida Keys in October of 2011. We found Caloosa Cove to be very dated and unattractive. The landscaping looks like it hasn't been maintained for decades. The building exteriors are old and worn. The pool looked nice, but the decking had been replaced with simulated wood and the railings were splintered wood...not at all what you would expect around a swimming pool. Six months before our reservation, we cancelled our reservation with Charles Roberts and asked for a refund of our $200 deposit. He has refused to refund any of our deposit. So, beware of who you are dealing with when booking reservations for the Caloosa Cove resort.

We are very happy that we took the time to check out Caloosa Cove before attempting to buy a timeshare week there. It would have been a major mistake. There are many nicer places to stay in the Florida Keys.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank lawdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great Atlantic Ocean views. Room that I had was a one bedroom, two bath unit with 2 patios overlooking the ocean. My son and wife stayed in a studio unit. Both units were clean and modern compared to other resorts that we stayed at in the Keys. Been going there for over 20 years and enjoy the "do nothing - or do as much as you want" atmosphere. Caloosa Cove Resort has one of the largest pools and party decks in the Keys. Great staff and very friendly. Looking forward to my next trip there in 2013.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place is really nice, quite, very helpful staff, squeaky clean top to bottom. The Cuban food at the restaurant is outstanding. They have plenty of parking including on site parking for boats and trailers, charter fishing next door, bait, tackle and grocery's. I'll go there again.

Room Tip: The charter boat "Tiki" next door at marina, Capt Roy, best skipper in area, knows where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wife & I just returned from an extended weekend stay at Caloosa & could not have been happier. Well kept grounds & pool in an excellent location make this a great place to stay. As nice as you will find in the Keys...We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SSJH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was on a sailing/fishing trip with some buddies and decided to spend some time in Islamorada. We went online and booked Caloosa Cove based on the TripAdvisor rating and reviews. Overall, the place satisfied our needs in most ways - the unique unit design is quite spacious and well-equipped. The wall-mounted air conditioners do the job, but in a typically noisy fashion - so you may need to turn them off to sleep (which is what we did). Probably not an option in mid-summer.

Convenient location, quiet and relaxing. Like many online photos, they're professionally designed to present a favorable impression - the best angles are used and you'll notice that the vast majority of Caloosa's are outdoor shots, which usually makes me suspicious.

However, it is definitely a unique place with a lot of good points - just VERY dated and in need of some judicious renovation. For example, the entry doors to the rooms have two old-fashioned keylocks, but getting them to work was more challenging than it should be. With only 30 rooms, it should be a simple matter to replace them with more modern (and secure) locks. And the sofa-beds are definitely not a place to spend many nights.

Would I visit again? - probably, in the right circumstances, and in full knowledge that there aren't many options in this area. If you prefer higher-end properties, Caloosa wouldn't make the cut.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hello again it's been two years since i last reviewed this resort although i've stayed there twice(spring and fall/winter) a year for nearly 15 years. In fact My wife and i love this place so much we bought 2 weeks here(timeshare) and use them faithfully every year, I feel quite guilty keeping quiet about Caloosa, as it's probably been one of the best kept secrets in the Keys for years and every now and then my selfish guilt prompts me to write a review.so sorry in advance to the other Caloosa fansand here goes.
The views are fantastic from all of the property including the rooms 1 balcony for efficiencies and 2 for suites,
The Safari Lounge is the onsite bar and has some amazing views too, as well as some very welcome and extremely cold beer.
The resort is maintained to a very high standard, mainly by Barry and Ron, which is no mean feat as the climate here can be brutal, and yes some areas of the the main building do show a little well repaired age related patina, which one of us doesnt?
The grounds and pool are beautiful and immaculately maintained and there is ample car parking, and luggage carts, the composite decking is very user friendly and looks good too.
the elevator is situated to the left of the office and is ideal for transporting heavy luggage and shopping:) although pretty much unnecessary most of the time as only 2 floors.
The rooms/suites are always very clean and well presented with everything you need to keep the beer cold and even cook the catch if you dont feel like using any of the excellent eating places locally, just don't expect glitzy Orlando style 5 * accommodations YOU ARE IN "THE KEYS" Trust me in the Keys this is what passes for Really GOOD, Just look out of the window, or sit on the balcony enjoy, unwind and repeat and for pete's sake bring your own hairdryer, if it's a life or death thing for you????
Some people find the old air conditioners noisy, it's never bothered me, however they are gradually upgrading them for newer quieter versions.
My Wife and i have tried many of the hotels and accommodations in the Keys during the last 15 years, and it never ceases to amaze us at some of the places that supposedly rank higher than Caloosa, it's a very hard act to beat, if you know & love the keys then i don't think you'll be disappointed, just don't come too much as it makes it more difficult for us to get an extra few days or a week booked at short notice:) only kidding- enjoy!
Wi Fi is free and recently upgraded
and surprise, surprise there are bugs in the keys, although you rarely ever see one actually in Caloosa, there are also small lizards running about outside, and if you get lucky maybe a land crab or iguana, or even a Manatee in the marina.

I’ve also included my 2009 review below and just updated/added any bits you might find useful,

Look for the big rhino advertising the on site and extremely friendly bar "Safari Lounge" as you drive down the keys its around MM 73.5ish
If you are looking for pretentious nonsense, then Caloosa is not for you! if you want cheap and cheerful(not a lot left in this area) then its still no and if you want to pay through the nose for some dressed up vintage motel then Caloosa is not for you either, if you want a location that is up there with the best the keys has to offer, in a friendly well maintained resort with friendly helpful staff ( The Ladies in the Office will look after you especially Betty and Dusty) with a proper marina on your doorstep(right next door to “Channel 2” Tarpon Heaven) then this is the place for you!! and you'll probably love the place as much as we do
best breakfast approx 10 miles north and well worth it’s still Mangrove Mikes although they do fantastic lunches too
Best Dinner same direction Tower of Pizza, not much to look at but if you like Italian- the Fooood is superb(not exactly fancy just real good)
up and coming restaurant on site at Caloosa Habanos, Habanos has been increasing in popularity my experience is limited but reports are good.
On site Gas station/tackle bait shop and a separate Hardware/Marine store
Best tackle shop around still World wide sportsman (Bass pro) and they have an Islamorada Fish company restaurant on site and the Zane grey Lounge for a Beer while the sun goes down,
Good steak at Outback Steakhouse(Hampton inn)
Marina facilities onsite from Caloosa Cove Marina although they stopped hiring out boats some time ago
Charter boats on site
check out the tarpon at Robbies marina- you can feed them too just watch out they can JUMP(webcam)
Hope i'll see you there
ps my only negative point, they recently replaced a lot of the beds with really SOFT mattresses and they take a bit of getting used to, going to bed can be a little like throwing yourself into a really big super soft marshmallow, once you get used to it it's ok and if you like a soft bed you'll probably love it,

Room Tip: they are all good, however rooms on the Marina side have a view of the Marina/ocean and rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank silver_kingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hello:
Just spent a few days at Caloosa Cove in the Keys. There were 2 of us, so the smaller unit was fine for us. Clean, everything worked, internet was great. Pool was great. Only downside is the beach is sand only. There is really no way to get into the water. The outdoor deck was great and we used a computer there. We did have to ask for an extension cord for the power to get to the deck. No problem.
I can highly recommend Caloosa Cove.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tpcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
6.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
11 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
5.2 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
11.2 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
753 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina

Address: 73801 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range: $222 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caloosa Cove Resort is a 30 room, Oceanfront Resort in Islamorada on Lower Matecumbe Key Mile Marker 73.8. All rooms have spectacular ocean views. Our rooms accommodate 3 in an a Jr. Suite, 5 in a Den Suite and 6 in a Lg. Suite. Each room has a fully stocked kitchen with essential cooking utensils, full size refrigerator, stove oven and microwave, 1 or 2 full bathrooms, 1 or 2 outside patios with seating and more. At the resort we have a very large pool and deck area with TIKI huts for shade, beach, tennis courts with rackets/balls, Shuffle Board, free WIFI resort wide and much more. Self serve laundry services and amenities also on property: Habanos restaurant, The Safari lounge (Temp. Closed due to Hurricane Irma), Caloosa Cove Marina and Storage , The Island Store for bait, tackle, fishing licenses, fuel and basic grocery items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloosa Cove Hotel Islamorada
Caloosa Cove Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing