We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Quiet Resort 53 Years Later”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quiet Resort 53 Years Later”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We honeymooned at this resort in 1958. Since then we have travelled the world but returned for a week only in April 2012. We hoped to find "The Keys the way they used to be" at Coral Bay. We were delighted to discover that a pool and tidal inlet had been added. The room that we rented had been renovated and fitted with new appliances and a very comfortable King sized bed. Being an intimate property well off the busy highway, Coral Bay was indeed "The Keys the way they used to be".

The pool was large and well maintained as were the beautiful grounds. While we were there, the lounging furniture, which was perfectly acceptable was being replaced with new chairs and loungers. We met the owner who had planted numerous native species around the property and he gave us an "horticultural tour". Angie the manager and her husband Tim were extremely friendly and helpful, contributing greatly to our pleasant stay. All the other staff were fast, efficient and friendly. Our experience was greatly enhanced by the local pelicans, gulls and terns on the dock and by a flock of Indigo Buntings that lingered for several days.

Sunsets from the dock were superb as was the location which was easily accessible to numerous excellent restaurants. They say that "You can't go back", but with Coral Bay, we did and loved it. It is a beautiful quiet resort at a very reasonable price. We recommend it highly!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water near the inlet provide the best views and excellent access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    54
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
105
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This resort is a "real find" between Mile Marker 75 and 76 for those who want to just rest, relax and chat with friendly guests in an intimate small resort. We found the people there very nice about sharing information on the area and considerate about noise late at night. You can dock a boat, swim in a small lagoon or use the heated pool and then cook your meal(s) on charcoal grills that they provide. You can also relax on a sandy beach to read or sit on their dock, sip a drink and watch the sunset. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would stay at this location again. They have a new manager who is very accommodating and gave us a better room because they didn't have it rented for the night when we got there.......very nice marketing ploy!!! I was impressed. BTW, there were couples (young and old) as well as families who were occupying rooms while we were there.

Room Tip: All are effiency but I liked the smaller one with only 1 door entrance rather than the ones with fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMate61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Loved it! My new favorite spot in the Keys!

A boat ramp and protected overnight inlet (no bigger than 22' though), great swimming and snorkeling area, heated pool, grills, great restaurants close by, clean rooms and a friendly and helpful staff! Angie is AWESOME!! We are coming back again and again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VuduMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were making last minute reservations for Memorial Day weekend and everywhere we sought out was booked or had very high prices. After searching and nearly giving up we encountered Coral Bay Resort, having 2 openings. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor and seeing they had availability this weekend, we were expecting very substandard accomodations. This being the only place we found with vacancy we reserved a room for 3 nights, thinking we wouldn't spend much time in our room with two double beds.

Wrong! We were so pleasantly surprised by not only the resorts accomodations, but the friendly staff we had read so much the opposite of. Apparently management recently changed and the rude front desk manager was gone, to be replaced by Tim and Angie. They were great!!

The room had a full kitchen we weren't expecting and was literally spotless. This place had all the comforts of home either in the room (dishes, cookware) or readily accessible (dvd player, laundry facilities). All of the rooms offer a covered back patio with table and chairs, as well grills are plentiful for cooking out leisurely.

The tidal pool located onsite was great for some quick snorkeling before starting our tour of the keys and the boat dock for our userelieved so much would-be hassle had it not also been onsite. The dock also features a bucket of fish food to use at your whim for some light entertainment. The pool was very inviting and in very close proximity to all the available units. The place was all around quiet and peaceful, very comfortable. Exactly what I want when staying in the Keys for a long weekend.

We loved our stay and are going to rally our rather large family together for the next trip. We can't wait to get back to Coral Bay Resort!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed with Angie and Tim for a week. The room was clean. The grounds well kept and beautiful. Angie checked in with us every day to make sure all was well and Marie kept our room clean and stocked with neccesary items. We were so sad to leave but will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maspeth ny USA
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Coral Bay Resort was beautiful. The room was clean. The grounds are exquisite. The fishing was great right there - you could catch the fish there and cook it right on the barbeque!I took my son there and can't wait to go back. We had a fantastic time. The managers were friendly and helpful. The sunsets were breathtaking. Do yourself a favor and check this place out - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stumbled upon Coral Bay Resort on our way up from Key West. Angie the manager was so pleasant and accommodating and the grounds were beautiful we decided to stay. What a lovely experience! The rooms are clean and fresh, the pool is perfectly warmed and clean and the tide pool and beach/dock areas are a real treat. Wildlife is abundant and the fish in the tide pool were mesmerizing. Angie came out in the morning to gret her guests and explain some of the fish we were looking at and other information about the nature and area. When ever we return to the area this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
8.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing