We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Homeless Person Might Like This Motel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2010

After reading the reviews on this place, we thought it sounded okay. Someone said "clean" and "good value". Yes, it was cheap for the area. No, it was far from clean. The room was sparse, the furnishings worn and scarred, the walls bare and filthy and the baseboards nonexistent. Come on, paint isn't that expensive! The only good thing was the location. I wouldn't recommend this motel to my enemies.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slomo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

Deb and Larry offer quaint motor lodging on Islamorada. Basic room, clean and centrally located. A great value for budget minded travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithontheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed in the Key Lantern Motel 5 friends in September just for one night and we did not pass a long time in the room too. But I was pleasantly surprised - everfything was very clean - the room and sheets. There was a little mildew in the shower but nothing really bad. The staff was very friendly - the man at the reception (maybe the owner) recommended a local restaurant, can not recall the name now, which was great - very close - great food at reasonable price.
Ont the other hand, the motel was too quiet, which I did not like- did not see many people here but I guess that this is because of the season. There are two buildings - Key Lantern and Blue Fin - we stayed in the first one and it seemed better. The other building is older. Islamorada is a great place for snorkeling. Will recommend this motel to anybody looking for a cheap place to stay in Islamorada.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colibrisailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you don't mind cockroaches, this is the place to stay. The fact that it's only $75 (with tax) off-season on a weekend doesn't make it worthwhile. The grout on the tile floor was filthy and actually had white mold growing in several places. The stove was nasty, the shower had either cold or scalding water - nothing in between - and at 4:00 a.m. I was awakened to pounding and banging 2 doors down. At 7:00 it sounded like the neighbor was rearranging all the furniture. Never, ever again.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank akacratsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My family and I stayed 3 nights. The bed was clean and comfortable, but this motel is not clean. There was dust caked on the ceiling fan, the shower was covered in mildew and soap scum, and their were ants. We had the room with the double bed, and kitchenette. The stove and fridge were next to each other, and the side of the fridge was splashed with food. This hotel is also directly next to a trailer park. The owners were very friendly, but this motel needs a good scrubbing.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kllksjiemeiejlkjeiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at Key Lantern/Blue Fin for 4 nights. My father-in-law, husband, and I shared a room with two double beds and a kitchenette. The accomodations were basic, but clean. The owners were extremely friendly. The motel is within walking distance to the Lorelei which has decent food and nightly entertainment. There is an onsite laundry facility (open air- but come on people this is the Keys). We were very pleased with our stay. We were looking for an affordable place to sleep and shower, and this definitely fit the bill. The beds were extremely comfy and the kitchennette was furnished with dishes, cooking implements, etc. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights, and wow, what a great deal! The accomodations were very comfortable (the bed was especially nice), and we'll definitely be back again. I would recommend the Key Lantern to anyone looking for a nice place to stay. No frills, but inexpensive, the area was quiet, and the owners were super-friendly. Check it out!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
978 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
636 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor Lights Motel
Harbor Lights Motel
#19 of 19 in Islamorada
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $39 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing