We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Vintage, Spotless, Excellent Value,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint, Vintage, Spotless, Excellent Value,”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in Room 5 of Key Lantern Sat & Sun 6/1& 6/2/13

I arrived a couple of hours early and John was kind enough to let me check in which was much appreciated.

Upon entering I was delighted to get a efficiency with about 18 cu ft fridge with a good freezer, apt size gas stove, nice storage space, a good window air conditioner, overhead fan , coffee pot, dishes, kitchen table and 4 chairs and writing desk and set of drawers and 16"(?) flat screen tv with Comcast xfinity with at least 200 channels it seemed, which my husband really appreciated because it rained hard and we didn't lose any programming due to weather.
Bathroom (shower only)had vintage pink tile and new white pedestal sink and medicine cabinet. There was no shampoo provided but I travel with my own anyway. Double bed was comfortable and linen was clean. Bedspread was the nylon quilted flower type from yester year. Each room is furnished differently in eclectic vintage keys fashion.

The campers across from from our room were mostly vacant but I had a couple of friendly conversations with the residents who were there. There was coin operated washer/dryer next to room 11.

While there in NO pool or beach. Beach is a short walking distance away. Key Lantern/Blue Fin Hotel is within walking distance to Mangrove Mike's for breakfast/lunch and also Loralei Restaurant for dinner/drinks and live music 7 days a week. Great for watching the sunset and look for the manatees swimming by.

The owners Deb& Dennis and front desk man John are very knowledgeable about the area. John recommended going to Robbie's Marina to watch the tourists feed the huge Tarpin with bait fish on the docks.

The room was very clean (I know because I really checked it ,out as a frequent traveler I know what to look out for) A hidden gem with many repeat customers, so book as early as you can.

The best value in the Keys and owners that care. I plan on staying here often.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
67
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

it was entertwined with a trailor park and not a nice one. the rooms had dirty chairs with cigarette holes in them,the door to the bathroom had a hole in it. the towels were flimsy and i thought they smelled. there was no shampoo offered only bars of soap. the chairs on the porch were dirty. i was very uncomfortable with this place. when we turned the tv on at 10 pm someone in an adjacent wall kept pounding and pounding we had to notify the manager . the owner gave me 20.oo back on my bill because i was so unhappy. the only thing that i felt was good was that it was within walking distance to lor e lei resturant .. the air conditioning worked well.

Room Tip: i wouldnt stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debthelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice basic motel on the main highway going through the Florida Keys. Rooms are clean, with TV, refrigerator, AC, etc. No pool, but the ocean is walking distance. If you just need a comfortable place to rest your head for the night at a good price, I would recommend.

Room Tip: Two sections... the Blue Fin Inn and the Key Lantern Motel. Choose the Blue Fin Inn unless you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's no frills, but it's everything you need - for literally about half the price everything else was asking for. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, climate controlled, and have a kitchen and fridge. The place is a little old, but it was better quality than the joint we paid 50.00 MORE for the night we left here.

Also, one thing that really irks me is when you book a place for multiple nights, but you still get 1 night's worth of toiletries etc. These guys gave us 6 bars of soap. It might be a strange thing to appreciate, but I appreciate it nonetheless.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely book in advance. Because of the great value and the repeat customers, this place never ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STUART
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at this "Mom & Pop" motel several times and have never been disappointed. You can't beat the price! Clean and comfortable rooms, delightful hosts, and great location...all at a bargain price in today's economy. You just can't beat that combination! Can't imagine staying anywhere else when I go to Islamorada!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes, but I've never stayed in one equipped that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DEBBIEB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place offers Spartan but adequate accommodations for people traveling on a budget. The place looks as if it were built sometime in the ‘50’s and might have been updated around 1972, but if you’re just looking for a place to lay your head and aren’t hung up on aesthetics, this will do just fine. The room was old but clean, the water was hot, and everything basically worked. Put yourself in an old Keys Jimmy Buffett frame of mind and it’s okay for the $80 per night during high season (Christmas week). If you don’t mind paying $200 a night and up you can probably find nicer accommodations but you’re by no means assured of them.

The Lorelei waterfront restaurant/bar was just a 5 minute walk away, and was a delight on our first night there. For a couple days of scuba diving and roaming the Keys, the Key Lantern/Blue Fin did just fine.

The place is actually two motels under one management (you register in the same place for either). There’s mobile homes parked between the two, it’s kind of scruffy, and overall tacky as hell, but it was home for us for a couple days. We’ll do it again if we’re on a budget.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John_and_Linda53562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Pricing is great. I have to admit the beds were real comfortable. It's not the Hilton but who cares its all about location ,booze and the freaking Florida keys. I will be back soon. Lots of great places to eat around here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junior40Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing