We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place offers Spartan but adequate accommodations for people traveling on a budget. The place looks as if it were built sometime in the ‘50’s and might have been updated around 1972, but if you’re just looking for a place to lay your head and aren’t hung up on aesthetics, this will do just fine. The room was old but clean, the water was hot, and everything basically worked. Put yourself in an old Keys Jimmy Buffett frame of mind and it’s okay for the $80 per night during high season (Christmas week). If you don’t mind paying $200 a night and up you can probably find nicer accommodations but you’re by no means assured of them.

The Lorelei waterfront restaurant/bar was just a 5 minute walk away, and was a delight on our first night there. For a couple days of scuba diving and roaming the Keys, the Key Lantern/Blue Fin did just fine.

The place is actually two motels under one management (you register in the same place for either). There’s mobile homes parked between the two, it’s kind of scruffy, and overall tacky as hell, but it was home for us for a couple days. We’ll do it again if we’re on a budget.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John_and_Linda53562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
60
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Pricing is great. I have to admit the beds were real comfortable. It's not the Hilton but who cares its all about location ,booze and the freaking Florida keys. I will be back soon. Lots of great places to eat around here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junior40Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed in Islamorada many times, but this place consistenly delivers on cleanliness which is a lot to ask for down in the Keys. If you want a clean, no frills place to crash between dives or fishing trips this is your place. The innkeepers are very nice too. No mold problems like other Keys lodging...

Room Tip: The room next to the innkeeper is large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a fifty's style Mom & Pop type motel. I stayed there in April for the first time and will stay there on my future trips to the Keys. This is an excellent place to stay if you take your bicycle as it is all flat land and there are all kinds of restaurants and attractions within easy cycling distance. This is a $45-$65 motel in an area where most motels start at $90-$100 and average about $200 a night and up so it pays to call ahead for reservations. The owners are very friendly and helpful and if you just walk in they will try to accommodate you but with their prices they tend to fill up fast.
All the rooms are on the ground floor and you can park in front of your room so you don't have to lug you baggage onto an elevator or up a set of stairs.

Room Tip: The Blue Fin has better parking for RVs and large SUVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

The room was large and clean as was the bath. There is no ambiance here, but just a block away is the Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar right on the water with good music and drinks. If you just want a place to spend a night or two without any frills, this is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GtwnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

... not for great cleanliness and freshness of rooms. Floor and table seemed kind of greasy and pillowcases had stains on them.

However, the room was huge and we had a full kitchen (could not use the oven though, because dishes and grills were so so dirty).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for low cost shelter this is the place for you.

Other than price, little to recommend this motel. Rooms are beaten hard, bathrooms are run down and beds are old.

Like ambiance with your stay? Yard has broken down lawn furniture, no phone in the rooms, and the air conditioner blew fumes all night that smelled like a fermenting tub of unknown origin. Don't turn on the heat with A/C unit, it set off the fire alarm in the room.

In hindsight, I would recommend sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. The ones on the north side, with two beds, at least had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#2 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing