We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Nearby Hotels
Amara Cay Resort(Islamorada)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$319
$281
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
40
65
42
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
65
42
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbars of soapcabana barwater colddecent bathroomstayed here numerous timeskey westlay your headwalking distancerooms are cleannight's sleephuge rooma wonderful vacationlive musicmini fridgerobbie's marinashort drivelorelei
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 173 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

... not for great cleanliness and freshness of rooms. Floor and table seemed kind of greasy and pillowcases had stains on them.

However, the room was huge and we had a full kitchen (could not use the oven though, because dishes and grills were so so dirty).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for low cost shelter this is the place for you.

Other than price, little to recommend this motel. Rooms are beaten hard, bathrooms are run down and beds are old.

Like ambiance with your stay? Yard has broken down lawn furniture, no phone in the rooms, and the air conditioner blew fumes all night that smelled like a fermenting tub of unknown origin. Don't turn on the heat with A/C unit, it set off the fire alarm in the room.

In hindsight, I would recommend sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. The ones on the north side, with two beds, at least had room enough to swing a cat. The south rooms were very small.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wow. Not sure where to start. I suppose depressing is a good description of this hotel. Run down also works.

Paid $60 per night, but the hotel is worth about $30, provided you can put up with the smell in the rooms. Bring sandals because you won't want to go barefoot in the bathroom.

Lovely landscaping. Very turn of the century abandoned trailer park chic. Not for children unless they have had a tetanus booster.

Concrete block walls in the rooms. Don't see that very often.

I recommend this hotel for stays involving ex-wives and in-laws.

The comments above are meant to be humorous, but this hotel is grim. Take a pass.

Room Tip: To get the best room, stop at another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edmontonoutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Keys are way expensive - like $250 for a good room. For $68 the Blue Fin gives you a kitchenette with old double beds that have lost firmness and there will be little ants and spiders on the counter tops and tub and bathroom sink. If you are really squeemish about bugs you best spend $250 somewhere else. If you don't mind you can save a bundle staying there. We stayed 4 nights so we saved a huge amount. The kitchenette works well.I don't think i would go to the keys if i had to spend $200+ on a room so we make do there. I'm giving it an average due to the price. I don't think you can do any better for that price but i could be wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Review is based on price paid.

Our room was on the Key Lantern side.

Room was absolutely huge, with 2 double beds. The tv was an old tube style, but picture was clear and there were tons of channels. Walls were white brick - odd but didn't bother us. Floor was polished cement or something - odd again but didn't bother us. One bed was quite comfortable, but the other had a very old not great mattress.

Bathroom was huge too with a stand up shower (no bathtub). The shower didn't drain well at all, which was kind of gross since you were standing in ankle deep water by the end. There was a door out the back from the bathroom that we didn't like at all - the only lock on it was a little pin thing that slid a tiny bit into the door frame. This made us feel insecure enough that we didn't leave any valuables at all in the room.

Room had a small fridge in it which was very nice to have.

Room seemed to be quite clean - no issues there for us.

Room had wifi, which worked fine for us. They seem to know that it might not work in all rooms though because I was told that if I had a problem they have a screened in room at the front that I could sit in to get better reception.

Located a very short stroll from Loreilei in a trailer park sort of. Didn't really sit outside but did walk back after dark and never felt unsafe.

The price is great for the keys. I would stay here again if in the area.

ktown

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews