We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the price and the big rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2012

... not for great cleanliness and freshness of rooms. Floor and table seemed kind of greasy and pillowcases had stains on them.

However, the room was huge and we had a full kitchen (could not use the oven though, because dishes and grills were so so dirty).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for low cost shelter this is the place for you.

Other than price, little to recommend this motel. Rooms are beaten hard, bathrooms are run down and beds are old.

Like ambiance with your stay? Yard has broken down lawn furniture, no phone in the rooms, and the air conditioner blew fumes all night that smelled like a fermenting tub of unknown origin. Don't turn on the heat with A/C unit, it set off the fire alarm in the room.

In hindsight, I would recommend sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. The ones on the north side, with two beds, at least had r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wow. Not sure where to start. I suppose depressing is a good description of this hotel. Run down also works.

Paid $60 per night, but the hotel is worth about $30, provided you can put up with the smell in the rooms. Bring sandals because you won't want to go barefoot in the bathroom.

Lovely landscaping. Very turn of the century abandoned trailer park chic. Not for children unless they have had a tetanus booster.

Concrete block walls in the rooms. Don't see that very often.

I recommend this hotel for stays involving ex-wives and in-laws.

The comments above are meant to be humorous, but this hotel is grim. Take a pass.

Room Tip: To get the best room, stop at another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edmontonoutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Keys are way expensive - like $250 for a good room. For $68 the Blue Fin gives you a kitchenette with old double beds that have lost firmness and there will be little ants and spiders on the counter tops and tub and bathroom sink. If you are really squeemish about bugs you best spend $250 somewhere else. If you don't mind you can save a bundle staying there. We stayed 4 nights so we saved a huge amount. The kitchenette works well.I don't think i would go to the keys if i had to spend $200+ on a room so we make do there. I'm giving it an average due to the price. I don't think you can do any better for that price but i could be wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Review is based on price paid.

Our room was on the Key Lantern side.

Room was absolutely huge, with 2 double beds. The tv was an old tube style, but picture was clear and there were tons of channels. Walls were white brick - odd but didn't bother us. Floor was polished cement or something - odd again but didn't bother us. One bed was quite comfortable, but the other had a very old not great mattress.

Bathroom was huge too with a stand up shower (no bathtub). The shower didn't drain well at all, which was kind of gross since you were standing in ankle deep water by the end. There was a door out the back from the bathroom that we didn't like at all - the only lock on it was a little pin thing that slid a tiny bit into the door frame. This made us feel insecure enough that we didn't leave any valuables at all in the room.

Room had a small fridge in it which was very nice to have.

Room seemed to be quite clean - no issues there for us.

Room had wifi, which worked fine for us. They seem to know that it might not work in all rooms though because I was told that if I had a problem they have a screened in room at the front that I could sit in to get better reception.

Located a very short stroll from Loreilei in a trailer park sort of. Didn't really sit outside but did walk back after dark and never felt unsafe.

The price is great for the keys. I would stay here again if in the area.

ktown

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This central location brings you stumbling distance from the live music and great sunsets at the Lorelia, short cab ride to Morada Bay, tower of pizza and Islamorada Bakery. The money you save can be spent on gas for your boat, bait for the fish or drinks for fun.

Room Tip: Book ahead and get the kitchen for 10 dollars more.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Big studio suite, kitchen equipment was old but clean. No WIFI signal in the room, but if you stay for 1-2 nights, its not a big deal. For 88 bucks incl tax great deal for Islamorado. Will stay there next time on the way to Key West

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
970 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#3 of 11 in Islamorada
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $39 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing