We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2009

First of all, Kathy & Bob are wonderful hosts. Very friendly. Pets are welcome. The view we had was spectacular. We had a wrap around porch on 2nd floor w/ a hammock. It was so peaceful, and relaxing. Rooms were clean. Nothing real fancy, just comfortable and inviting. If you like fishing, we caught a 6 ft. shark off the pier one night and a 80-100 lb. Tarpon the next. If you want exciting night life, thats right down the road too. Some nice restaurants to see beautful sunsets at. I would definately recommend them and can't wait to go back. 2 thumbs up Kathy & Bob!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mssully09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 213 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

This beautiful, cozy (9 rooms), quiet resort is a tropical piece of heaven, managed the nicest, friendliest & helpful people you could ever meet - Bob & Kathy Snyder. From the moment we pulled in, we felt like we were part of the family. Bob came right over and helped us get the boat in the water & tied up at the dock. Our son & our dog were warmly welcomed. Our room (#13) was clean and fresh, with 2 queens, table & chairs, frig & micro. Nice sandy area to relax, gas grill, picnic tables, hot tub & pool. Grounds are very pretty. The location was perfect, close to great restaurants, local shops, parks and beaches. We are already planning a trip back this fall!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our time at the Sands of Islemorada was amazing. Beautiful rooms & surroundings, this resort was so relaxing & gorgeous! Views everywhere you look! Islamorada also has the most welcoming hosts we have ever had the pleasure of meeting- Bob & Kathy, & their sweet dog Odie! They were so kind, genuine, funny, down to earth, also pet & child friendly. & they took care of anything we needed. Very personable!! & Our kids were entertained just by being there. Cannot wait to visit again, & will recommend this resort to everyone, thanks to the care & pride that Bob & Kathy Snyder take in this place, it's surroundings, & particularly with their guests!! Thank you guys!!! See you again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I had the best night's sleep that I've had in a hotel in a long time. Room was very clean, a little crowded with the kids' stuff. Parking was tight - someone actually scraped the bumper of our car. Very well maintained, Bob and Kathy were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmb913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Great find....Well maintained and relaxing place to stay. The Manager was very pleasant and proud of the property. Certainly a place to seek out while in the Keys.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband, our Boston Terriers and I stayed here for one night on 5/24. I had flown into Miami and our ultimate destination was Key West. This was a good stopping point.

Kathy was very friendly and our two dogs were welcomed and even got to run around a bit with the resident Jack Russell.

Our room was clean and comfortably furnished. The grounds are just beautiful.

The hotel is on the water and we spent time sitting out by the water relaxing.

Our only regret was that we didn't have longer to spend. Next time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sycamore72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We have stayed at the Sands of Islamorada twice, once at Christmas 2008 and again at Easter 2009. We had a wonderful experience both times. The Sands of Islamorada is a delightful, small, immaculate place to stay. We were able to relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy the beauty of the Keys. The natural beauty of the Keys is present in every aspect of this resort.. I cannot say enough about the managers, Kathy and Bob Snyder. They attend to your every need, while respecting your privacy. After staying there twice, we consider them our friends. We enjoyed this resort with our beloved dog, Winston. Kathy made Chai Tea for him every morning. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winston2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,391 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
10.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
757 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $183 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing