We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I almost hate to tell everyone how much I love this place because I'm afraid there won't be a room available next time I want to stay here!
This is such a cute, charming, clean and cared-for hotel. The rooms are more like little cottages. We stayed in a downstairs room with 2 double beds, a large closet, a table and chairs, refrigerator/freezer, toaster, coffee pot, sofa, and of course a bathroom. Each cottage has its own entrance, They allow pets here for a small additional fee, and doggie cleanup bags are provided if you don't have your own. There is a private beach in front of the inn with a boat ramp, and a long dock where you can tie up several boats. Adirondack chairs are provided for your lounging pleasure! The swimming pool looked very clean, and there are a couple of beautiful birds on the property. I didn't hear them, but the caretaker said that they can speak a couple of phrases.
I think the ONLY negative thing I can say about the inn is that the electrical outlets need replacing, as they are stretched out and plugs do not stay in the sockets.
There are quite a few other places to stay in Islamorada, but I will come back to this one every time. The manager in the office went out of his way to accommodate us on 2 different nights.
Check out the photos of the rooms from other people on TripAdvisor! I am already planning an extended vacation at the Sands of Islamorada next year in room #19!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakkerBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Sands of Islamorada Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This quaint little property is an idyllic setting. It is quiet, away from crowds and quite simply beautiful. We stayed in one of the efficiency units with a wrap around porch and beautiful view of the ocean. It is my understanding that this property is under new ownership as of Nov. 2012. The property is older and it appears they are working to improve it and hopefully will continue to do so, a few minor quirks but it would certainly not discourage me from staying again. The property manager is friendly and helpful and the property is dog friendly.

Room Tip: Room 18 and 19 are efficiencies with wrap around porches and incredible ocean views. Definitely wort...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justretired09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here with our dog and a small boat. The room was very clean and the bed was act ually comfortable! It is older but most are in the keys. If its reasonable in price it's not going to be modern. The manager was friendly and helpful. Must like dogs if you stay here. There are not many that accept dogs so there will be a few.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you like nature you love this place! It’s like paradise and when I say paradise I mean simplicity, very typical Caribbean place where the true beauty comes from nature. If you like loud, crowed and fancy ,this is not the place for you. There is a ramp for the boat. Property is in the ocean side not the bay facing Alligator reef. (a great famous fishing and diving place) If you go towards the right away from the canal you can walk and walk and see very interesting marine life or go in a kayak. At night you can have your BBQ facing the ocean, listing to the sound of the palm trees and feeling the ocean breeze, at the morning the sunrise is facing you. Very personal service and your pet does not need to stay behind. The rooms are impeccable clean they have full kitchen fully equip. There are also Macao’s that will call your attention every once in a while. This motel is close to the theater of the Seas, many restaurants like Green Turtle, Lazy Days Restaurant and many others. You are only 2 hours from Miami. Great for a private family weeding, and bring the family over. The motel will give you special rates for those occasions, or just because you deserve to get away!

Room Tip: There is only one room in the second floor with balcony a little more expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtalk2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great stay in Unit 19, the upstairs unit overlooking the bay. It has a private deck. We were here in September, though so very few vacationers. This small property is older, but well maintained. There is a pool and hot tub. The other cottages are downstairs units which do not overlook the bay. Would definitely stay in this unit again!

Room Tip: Upstairs Unit 19
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SAOTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here since we brought our dog. I like that on the website it shows you the actual room. Owners were very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions. Dog friendly property, they even supply bags so you can clean up after your dog. Very laid back atmosphere. Rooms were older key west style, but were very clean. Bathrooms were small. Parking is a little tight. The pool area is very nice and they have a dock with areas to sit. Two parrots are on the property which makes it more key west-ish. There are nicer hotels but when you come here you feel comfortable and at home. Much ambiance and def key west style! Thanks Bob and Kathy!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surferd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here July 13-15, 2012 and it was exceptional. Very clean, quiet and just perfect. We stayed in one of the complete rooms (efficiency) and it had everything you need to be comfortable on a long weekend - kitchen w/all the essentials, central air, beach towels, dining room, living room and bedroom...the pool and hot tub were inviting; BBQing with a perfect view, couldn't be more relaxing and My dog love it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Babyblues1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
4.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $120 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing