We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Memorable, Stunning Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Had two nights staying at the Sands and loved the experience. Very home-like place, rooms simple, super-clean. Kathy is a tremendous host - along with her husband. Very responsive from the first email through to providing advice when we stayed there. From the room, literally twenty steps and you are at the ocean. There is a jetty and the sunsets and sunrises are amazing. No restaurant = no problem as there is a terrific place just seven doors away - Lazy Days. Kathy will book and get you a great table - go for the terrace. Local sea food, freshest fish - and great steaks. If you are in Islamorada for fishing, charter with Rich Burson. Kathy can help out here as well. Sands is very quiet, very charming and a truly wonderful place. Enjoy. Charles L

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I just got back from our second stay at the Sands. The building itself is older, but you can tell the hotel is a labor of love for the managers. I couldn't believe how much had been done since last March! I love that it is a small quiet hotel where I can go to escape, yet it is so close to everything I want to do. Bob and Kathy were so welcoming and spent all day greeting guests and cleaning the grounds. It is clear that they want their guests to have the best experience possible! I can't wait to go back next year and see what else they have done.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andromedari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

When my girlfriends and I first arrived at this hotel, I had my doubts because it was a smaller hotel than I imagined, but once we got a look around, my doubts were disspelled. Kathy & Bob greeted us with open arms and showed us around the grounds, and introduced us to the parrots who were vying for our attention. We were looking for a place to relax and we found it at Sands of Islamorada! The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful and totally relaxing. When we arrived, we were told we were supposed to be in a room that had a problem so the managers immediately placed us into a larger room, for a minimal upgrade charge, and I cannot tell you how happy we were with the room. To make a long story short, the hosts at this hotel are marvelous and I am looking forward to returning to this hotel and having another wonderful relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianerib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sands of Islamorada for week and had a great time. The location is good, as we could walk to several places. We stayed in Room 19 which is on the second floor with a great view, wrap-around porch, nice hammock and great place to just relax. This unit is spacious with a living/dining/kitchenette area and a huge bedroom. The bathroom is small and could use a new tub but is clean with great water pressure. It was a bit musty but that is often the case in Florida until you run the A/C for a while. It was nice to have flat panel TVs in the living room and bedroom, plus a stereo and I-pod dock. There was also free wireless internet service. The pool and hot tub are nice. Bob even turned on the outdoor pool stereo for me one day while I was lounging and sunning. There is a 2-person kayak we used every day and boat docks if you have a boat. Kathy and Bob, the caretakers, are really nice and helpful when looking for things to do. They stay busy keeping the property in good order. The Sands is also dog-friendly, but the grounds are kept clean of doggie do. The only drawback to most places in the Keys along US 1 is the road noise, but it was tolerable in our room and couldn't ever hear it if the A/C was on. Would definately return the the Sands!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed there last week (2 dogs and wife) for 3 days. The room #19 was perfect. The balcony with the table and hammock was somewhere I spent waay too much time in. The kitchenette was just right to cook a few small meals. The grounds are impeccable with outdoor chairs and grills (charcoal and gas). Theres a sea kayak thats a breeze to launch. The managers are soooooo nice and friendly. We expect this to be our keys getaway for years to come.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex2fla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Great if you have pets !!!! the managers are great the rooms are clean,and cleaning ladys very sweet,other than that dont go!!! the rooms are tiny but very clean, theres a marina there, but no boats use it !!! not a marina as advertised no gas, only a place to tie a boat. we stayed in room 18, no black out drapes,it was like sleeping in the parking lot!!! the room was bright all the time,and only one queen sized bed , a kitchen which i didnt need , would rather had another bed but there wasnt room as the room was small and you could hardly move, pools not heated cant swim, nothing at all to do there, Wont go back there either. Guess you gotta go with big named resorts and cross your fingers!!!! We last stay at holiday isl, that was a real nightmare!!!! so far im batting zero at places to stay at the keys!!! Sands of Islamarada is also very old, takes you waaaaaay back ti the1950era, and thats not for us!!!! By the way we payed a little over 200 a night!!! I would have moved on but hubby booked it for 7 days, because of all the good reviews it got,we wouldnt have got our money back , (he paid cash) so we just stayed!!! Wont book for so long next time, we will try it out first and not go by all the good reviews cuz everyones taste is diffrent!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarahb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Kathy and Bob have obviously put their heart and soul into this quaint ocean front getaway. My fiance and I live in Miami and we hop down to the keys every few weeks for a quick escape. We have stayed in more b&b's than I can count and I think we have stayed on most of the keys. The view from The Sands in incomparable. The welcoming committee is exactly that, WELCOMING! The clean, spacious rooms have all the comforts of today (flat screen tvs, nice kitchen, good spa quality soaps, lotions, clean hot tub and pool....) and the quaintness and history of the old keys (boat ramp & docks, grill, beach, beach chairs, palm trees, quiet.........). This place is my new, favorite, secret spot.....maybe I shouldn't tell you about it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janinedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,493 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $140 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing