We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the 'expensive' Chesapeake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed here for one night in July and have stayed here many times before and we love the Chesapeake. A room overlooking the ocean is amazing and we have always advised people to stay here. However, this time is the first time we have been for four years and despite the hotel being the same, the price has skyrocketed to almost $400 per night. Don't get me wrong, it is a good place but is essentially a motel and is pricing itself out of the market. You pay over $30 for a resort fee and it rained the day we were there so we were paying all that money for breakfast. If it wants to be up at this price, it will have to have quite a big step up. An ocean view at the Cheeca Lodge is less than this, offers more than this and the rooms are a real step up in quality.
Yes, we love the Chesapeake, but it is pricing itself out of the market.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EandHEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

My family goes to Islamorada every year to go fishing but this was the first time we stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort. The resort is just AWESOME! We stayed in an oceanfront room that had just an amazing view of the beach and ocean. The staff at the resort were all so friendly and accomidating, that is not something you see everywhere in the Keys! The room had a large HD TV in it and a docking station for our I-Pods! Next to the resort is fantastic bar called Wahoos, and we got free drinks there because we were staying at Chesapeake! Because I'm getting married next year, I met with their wedding coordinator Thaddeus and now I know exactly where I'm having my wedding- at Chesapeake! I cant think of anywhere else in the Keys that has a better location for weddings, the views from their beaches are just breathtaking! My family has found their new home in the Florida Keys, we'll definately go again next year, I cant wait!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoBucks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed in one of the villas which is so private, it is your own private cottage. The villa has beautiful new furniture and a lovely new kitchen with granite counters too. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. It is a wonderful place to go and relax and absorb the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MyraG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

What a great place to stay for a few days. We were there for the 4 th weekend and could not be happier. The staff offered us so many values at dining places and attraction that saved us a great deal. We stayed in a garden view the first night but changed to the ocean view because of the view and excellent access to the beach area and water sports. We have stayed at many places in Islamorada and this is the best value by far.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OrlandoLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

This hotel has pros and cons.

The pros: beautiful beach, pools and grounds. Rooms are ok. Nice TV and furniture. Mostly clean. Slow season so we had the beach and pool to ourselves. Cool Brazilian Steakhouse right next door and good bar adjacent to that. (You could crawl back if you wanted)

Cons: $285.00 a night for a motel quality room. There was mold in the tile and grout in the bathroom. If you want pool/beach towels you have to walk to the office to borrow and return them. In this $285.00 a night Oceanfront room we received 2..yes two bath towels that would barely cover me let alone my 6'7" husband. You really are paying for location here and it is a nice location. Do not expect 4 star quality for what you are paying.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLBUTTERFLY1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

The hotel was adequate for our long weekend stay. Pretty quick drive from Miami gets you to the well groomed grounds. The rooms were a bit tired but still comfortable. Nice TVs. We spent most of our time on the beach or at nearby restaurants/bars. The breakfasts were fairly weak but there are some real good breakfast cafes just down the street. The one suggestion I would have for the hotel is to put more shade on the beach. There are really just 2 places on the beach where you can lay in shade and it would be nice if there were at least a couple more. If we were to go back we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TXTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We saw this hotel while having lunch at the fish restaurant next door and called in to find out about costs/facilities etc. As soon as we saw the room, that was it - we booked! The staff were friendly, the view was fantastic, the room was great - large size, well furnished, modern, clean and with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We were very pleased with everything (it is definitely NOT a typical motel). Yes the highway runs past the front of the hotel (as it does past all the other hotels in the Keys) but we didn't get bothered by road noise at all. A great place to chill out, enjoy the hammocks and drink in the fabulous sea, sky and sunshine. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Floridafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $220 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing