We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend get a way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weekend get a way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Took my partner here for a birthday celebration. Booked thru a different website so we didn't have the 'resort fee'. The place came recommended by a friend. Was NOT happy with the placement of our room. Not the hotels fault of course, but a couple on romantic weekend doesn't really want to be the closest to the road. We asked to be moved, but there was nothing else available. The unit itself was lovely, yes the bathroom could use some updating but the rest was very nice and comfortable (we were in #306, an efficiency). Honestly I thought the housekeeping staff and groundskeepers were far more friendly and helpful than the front desk folks. The breakfast... Really? I think for the price of the rooms it could be a little more upscale.

Room Tip: Units 301 and 306 are the closest to the road. If i was here with my kids or a Hen weekend, they wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtletam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    269
    123
    48
    49
See reviews for
209
299
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We pulled into Islamorada for a surprise fishing trip for our turning-21 son. Chesapeake rep, Will welcomed us back and made sure our room rate reflected all discounts. After fishing all day 20 miles out in the Atlantic, Will suggested we stop back - even after we'd checked out - to wash up. He had towels awaiting. Nice oceanfront hotel with small town friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Room was large, newer furniture, bathroom needed updating and cleaning. Pools, hot tub, beach, and grounds were fine. Breakfast - go elsewhere. Fountains needed a good cleaning and algicide. Stay off the beach at night - I have dozens of bug bites from the sandflies! Definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is peeling and looks very shabby! The rooms are still very clean - well done house keeping! The front desk staff are appalling! Not friendly, make you feel like they're doing you a hell of a favour giving you a room. Not cool when you've been on the road for hours! Not value for money and the breakfast is not worth mentioning! Never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovellem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in the standard room--overlooking the gardens and tennis court. Bed linens and curtains are updated, Pretty view, even though not an ocean view. Pretty spot on the beach with plenty of room to yourself for sunning. Two pools--one with hot tub. Resort fee is mandatory and was not worth the fee. Mediocre breakfast, a few kayaks, and a few bikes. Onsite bar would help. Not sure that we would stay here, again. Would not highly recommend to friends. Pretty and fairly quiet--that's about it.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure your room is not located too close to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

the best $400/night villa was outdated, dirty, bathroom was gross, simple thing like metal rail inside villa between the rooms that was thin and cut bottom of bare feet.. not worth it at all..
Then there is the main reason we chose this resort was because of the watersport items pictured in website and when talking to receptionist on the phone I wanted to confirm they had enough kayaks and Paddle Boards to go around with limited time I wanted to be sure of this.. Got there and there was ZERO paddle boards and only single person 200 lb. weight limit kids size kayaks.. both my parents whom I purchased this trip for could not use any of the provided items because they are kayaks ment for CHILDREN.. Guy at watersports desk was an absolute RUDE PERSON, talked to me like I was some kind of "watersports" NOT SMART PERSON.. needless to say I live on gulf coast of florida and own 3 kayaks and paddle boards so i'm not some NOT SMART PERSON tourist who wouldn't know the difference between the large size TRIBE kayak pictured on the website and the ALOHA piece of garbage kayaks he had on hand.

KEEP LOOKING, THIS PLACE SUCKS.. all attempts to complain to a manager have been un-answered..

Wording may sound weird, but i had to edit it to get it accepted

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 466mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Back at the Chesapeake this month with great satisfaction. Extremely clean, staff is very attentive, rooms are quite comfortable with a great view of the Atlantic. While there s no bar or restaurant on site, it adds to the quiet lifestyle of the Chesapeake. There are many spots within walking distance

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing