We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tranquil and serene.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Tranquil and serene.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing time overlooking the ocean and surrounded by beautiful grounds, this is your place. It's not fancy and the rooms are a bit outdated but it's really a lovely place. Make sure you get the ocean front rooms, though! I don't think we would have enjoyed it nearly as much had we not had the balcony with the view. Breakfast is included and it was nice to grab a bit and sit outside near the water. There's a pool and jacuzzi on property and they were never crowded when we were there. It is walking distance to a couple of great restaurants...one of which provides "room service" through an agreement with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean front all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    249
    105
    41
    44
See reviews for
194
260
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

a good way to describe this place is like a " beach compound." its snuggled nicely within its property boundaries and even though your near the road and the neighbors on the sides, you wouldn't know it. pretty large beach area with large tiki hut where you can use the kayaks and paddleboats, also a small marina where you can stroll and watch the boats and talk to the captains and see the catch of the day. beautiful view of the sunrise and plenty of lounge chairs to sit by the water and relax or enjoy a cold beverage. also a nice pool, hot tub and respectable breakfast spread in the morning. eggs, bacon, toast, muffins, coffee, juice, fresh fruit and friendly staff. rooms were clean and room service comes from the restaurant next door called "wahoo's" and was fast and although not cheap, was very good food. no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and recently stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort on Islamorada for 3 days following a business conference in Miami. It's an older, smaller hotel with a bit of wear and tear, but overall a great value. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The beds in our room were a bit on the hard side, but I slept well. The setting on the Atlantic side was beautiful, uncrowded, quiet and relaxing. I spent the better part of one afternoon reading and snoozing in a hammock about 30 feet from the shore. Just what we needed after being in Miami for several days. Plenty of good, close restaurants, including several with beautiful sunset views. Key West was approx. 1.5 - 2 hour drive away. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am from Toronto, Canada and here at the Chesapeake Beach Resort for two weeks “working”. My room is overlooking the lagoon, there are hammocks between the palm trees, and the views are spectacular. I come every year to recharge my batteries. I love to swim in the lagoon; I have seen manatees and dolphins. I spend many leisurely hours on the point taking pictures, enjoying the sunrise and getting inspiration for my writings. The room is clean; the staff is so friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful place. A # 10 for me. it is a piece of Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birgittemelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I can't think of anything but excellent to say about this resort! The staff was friendly, rooms wer'e spotless and very comfortable. My husband and I make a trip to the keys several times a year for the last eight years wev'e stayed at alot of places. This is now are favorite place to stay! Book a room here and you won't regret it !!!! FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: We had a suite it was waterfront view excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this sleepy resort with beautiful ocean view. The rooms are slightly outdated, but very clean. The pools were nice, one with view of the ocean since in the Keys no places have very nice beaches. Enjoyed using the kayaks that were included in the resort fee. I'm not sure what some people expect reading some of these other reviews, but we very much enjoyed our stay. Walkable to restaurants and short car ride to charter fishing and snorkeling fun.

Most importantly, we left our iPad in the safe and the staff made sure it was returned to us!!!

Will stay here again..
Will definately come back again. Go for the ocean view rooms.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin_S_Milw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom villa with kitchen. There was mold in cabinets and rat poop under the sink. I had three young kids and they didn't even have a bath tub. The kitchen had only four plates and we were a family of five. The place when we walked in smelled like mildew. The only thing good about the place was the view. My son got so sick the last night we were there we had to bring him to the emergency room. We still are not sure why he got sick. We complained about the mold and told them where it was they said they would clean it and never did. I would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing