We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfy bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lookout Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lookout Lodge Resort
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfy bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It has a mini kitchen and the beds are super comfortable. They have pillow top mattress, also has a mini pier with access to the beach. Price was OK do to the season we travelled. Wifi is fast. The staff was nice and friendly. If you plan to come in the winter make reservation he Keys get crowded, specially from people coming from Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
30
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was like staying with friends, and we will be back. This is a small property that is beautifully adorned with palm trees, a wonderful sand veranda overlooking the bay side complete with a great view of the awesome Keys sunsets into the bay's horizon, with comfortable chairs, loungers, and hammocks strung between palms. You can swim, dock your boat, snorkel, or simply dangle your toes in the warm water, and watch various kinds of fish swimming in and out of the boat dock lagoon. Two gas barbeque grills are provided and maintained by the management as well as two nice tiki huts to keep the hot sun off. The rooms were dated but very clean and comfortable, the air conditioning will freeze you out if you want it too, and the maid service fast and complete each morning. The folks that man the office acted as if we were long lost best friends, and like to take the time to sit out there with you and tell you anything you want to know about the area, things to do, and maybe more importantly what you may not want to do.

If you are looking for expensive indoor decor, and tons of amenities that make you want to lounge around your suite like Thurston Howell the third and his wife Lovie, this is not your place. But if you simply want good, clean and friendly accommodations to get you comfortably through the night as well as happy hour that allow you to keep some of that lodging money you have set aside for other and much more entertaining uses, you like us will appreciate this jewel of a property and vow to come back again soon, this is your place.

I just hope my review does not create such a demand that we have difficulty in the future booking another stay, but reading a couple of reviews on this page posted by folks that just must be impossible to please made me feel like I had to let the cat out of the bag.

We plan to return.

Room Tip: If it is just a couple, take a look at the studio rooms, they are adequate, families should be looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our flight landed in the evening, and we were an hour drive from the airport. We called, to make sure someone would be there for us to check in, Janet (front desk) could not have been nicer, she said "don't worry, if I am gone, we will just leave the keys in your room, we can check you in tomorrow morning" The view from the hotels lagoon/beach was incredible. We didn't need a view from the room, because we were in the hammocks provided most of the time. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone stay here if you are looking for a reasonably priced, non crowded relaxing place to stay. We weren't looking for any additional services or brand new amenities, but Lookout Lodge resort offered us a quite, low key, easy going experience and we got more than we were looking for here. If more people give this place a try, maybe they will be able to have a hot tub for us next time ;)

Room Tip: As long as the weather is nice, the private beach and lagoon was far better than the view from and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmosbaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is our second stay at Lookout Lodge in Islamorada on the Florida Keys. We came back because we had such a good experience the first time. Guess what? The second stay was just as good as the first. Now, this is NOT a 4 star lodging. It is comfortable. The full kitchen is stocked with enough utensils for preparing basic meals. The lodge has two outdoor gas grills that are cleaned every day. The view, (see pictures) is spectacular and there is a top notch restaurant (Marker 88) right next door. In fact we enjoyed the music from Marker 88 and danced out under the stars and lodge Palm trees right in front of our room. The staff (particularly a guy named Greg) was friendly and the housecleaning excellent. If you are going to spend time in the Keys, this place will not be a disappointment.

Room Tip: The two end units facing the water are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will3642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is not the fanciest place. It is a smaller property and intimate in nature. If you want a real "Keys experience," this is it! I've stayed here MANY times. If anything, it gets better each time. Greg, the front desk person on many night, is first class. He goes out of his way to take care of his guests and really works overtime to make our stay great. We love the small beach they have. You can snorkel right off the beach here if weather cooperates.

Marker 88 (restaurant) is right next door and you can walk over on the beach. Many nights they have a guitarist outside and the music carries over to Lookout Lodge. This trip we danced on the beach at Lookout while listening to the music at Marker 88.

We went on a guided backcountry fishing trip and the guide was able to pick us up at the dock here at Lookout.

You can sit out on the beach and sun, drink a beer, read a book or just hang out. It is QUIET and "old Keys style." It's not fancy, but what a fabulous laid back experience.

Most units have full kitchens and we cooked a bit of the time. They have gas grills out on the beach if you want to use them to barbeque up dinner.

We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off US 1 .... we like Room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenk1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We rented this hotel d/t the cute pictures on the web. Unfortunately it was not that cute when we got there. The room was dirty. The wall was covered in dust from the air return, the kitchen counter needed wiped off, the bathroom floor was filthy, especially behind the door, the bed linen had stains on them and then there was the lizard crawling up the wall...... We were shown another room which was in better shape until the 2" roach crawled out of the stove. Needless to say, we found a different room, which was upsetting because we had really looked forward to staying here.

Room Tip: We ended up staying at the Drury Inn for $50.00 more a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recently got married at Lookout Lodge, and it was a perfect experience. Lookout Lodge was just the right size for our group of about 50 people. Of course, not everyone could stay there because it is a little place, but that is one of the reasons we loved it. Everyone at the location was there for us, so we didn't have to worry about strangers participating in our special day. The other main reason we picked this location is because we were allowed to basically do whatever we wanted. There weren't a lot of restrictions put on us about food and music and time and people like a lot of the larger resorts tend to impose. We are laid-back people, so we just wanted a laid-back wedding, and Lookout Lodge really was the perfect place for this. Everything went better than we even planned because of the staff at Lookout, too. First of all, their event planner/wedding coordinator, Laurie, is amazing at what she does. We didn't need a lot of her help with the planning because we had so much help from others, but she offered it all along the way. And when we got there, she went above and beyond anything we had asked of her to make sure everything looked beautiful and "just right". She helped us set up and clean up and really took care of everything, so that we did not have to worry about anything. Plus, all of our vendors (baker, DJ, steel drummer, caterer) were recommended by her, and we were impressed with all of them and the services provided. Furthermore, Greg was a great bartender for us. He fit right in with our casual, island theme. Before and after the wedding, when he was working at the front desk, he did everything he could to ensure that all our guests were comfortable in their rooms and had everything they needed. In addition, Hector was an amazing help to us. He made sure the place was spotless before the wedding started, and he helped in any way he could. Lastly, Don oversaw everything, so that we could all have the best experience possible. I would HIGHLY recommend this little cozy resort for any special event. But even if you don't have anything special to celebrate, it is also just a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation. All the rooms had plenty of amenities and were very clean. Overall, it was a perfect weekend for us!

Room Tip: If you have a large group and can afford a little more or you might be staying for a while, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
4.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge Resort

Property: Lookout Lodge Resort
Address: 87770 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3051
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookout Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge Resort is designed to be your home in Islamorada while in the upper Florida Keys area. 1 & 2 bedroom suites with beach front sunset views are our specialty. Our resort offers private swimming & sunbathing areas (no pool), with chickee huts, lounges and lagoon. We afford swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers quiet pleasurable hours in the Florida island sun. For scuba divers and snorkelers: beautiful scuba diving, snorkeling, and lobstering in ocean reefs are just minutes away! We custom design island weddings on our Islamorada beach. Come on down as the Florida Keys await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lookout Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing