We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Smelly and Misleading”
Review of White Gate Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Gate Court
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old, Smelly and Misleading”
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I'm not sure where to start. Overall it is very, very expensive for the value received. The rooms are old and smell like cleaning products covering up smoke and other scents. The front desk staff was less than helpful and rude at some points. The strangest thing is that you are expected not only to tip the housekeepers but the landscapers and other property help as well. The description of the suites make them seem like they were totally remodeled in 1995 but more like just patched up. The sheets are only changed every 3 days. The air conditioners barely kept the room cool. Like the other reviewer said, you have to pay upfront for the entire stay and it is only refundable with 30 days notice, now I know why!!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank worldlytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
51
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Folks, don't kid yourselves. Yes - this is no Ritz, but this not even a Motel 6. Motel 6 would have clean sheets and decent, non-hostile front desk service. It's been a couple of years since we visited and we still remember this place as our worst vacation nightmare...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank floridatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

If you want concierge service, a heated pool, and breakfast in bed don't book here. If you want a "Keys experience" for you and your dog this is the place. We've been here seven times now and always come back whenever we can. The villas are immaculate, located in well landscaped grounds, and just a short walk from a well maintained private beach. You can swim, but as with most Keys beaches the floor is rocky in spots so bring some sandals or booties. Snorkeling under the pier you may spot a grouper or resident lobsters. Each villa has a kitchen, but we barbecue most nights out on our patio under the stars with a glass or two of wine. We have always met friends here as everyone usually has a love of dogs in common, but respects your privacy too. Our Yellow Lab, Breez, loves the swimming and chance to play with the other dogs. The owner,Susan, is a great lady and strives to meet your every need...if it's not there just ask and she'll do her best to make you happy. End each day with the sunset on the pier (and another glass of wine?).

  • Liked — Dog friendly, relaxed atmosphere, location, clean
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We spend a wonderful week at White Gate Court, arriving on the 18th of December, departing on the 28th. We were so sad to leave! Our cottage was immaculate, with cold filtered water waiting for us in our fridge. The king size bed was very comfortable and fresh towels were available every day, if needed. The staff were wonderful and keep the grounds beautifully. Although every cottage was booked, we felt like we had the beach all to ourselves.
Susanna and her husband were gracious hosts and even gifted us with a bottle of bubbly on Christmas Day. Please disregard the negative reviews posted about this wonderful place. We felt so welcomed, our dog had a wonderful time and we will be back next year!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — We loved everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We arrived on Saturday December 29, 2007 earlier than the check in of 2:00, they immediately had our room ready. It was perfect for the weekend! Beautiful, clean, well kept spot that my one dog did not want to get in the car to go home. It was quiet, serene and truly a nice little getaway from the hustle of everyday life. The owners made us feel welcome, the other guests all were very nice and friendly. My 2 pugs had a blast, off leash with plenty of room to run around to their hearts content. Cleaning people showed up early each morning and walked the grounds cleaning up any issues they saw. Truly a great place if you love your pets and want to bring them along. Beautiful views and very quiet. We will definitely be returning to the White Gate Court.

  • Liked — Clean, Very pet friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband, I and our little rat terrier, Chloe spent a long weekend. Check-in was not a problem at all! We'd been told that our cottage (#7) would be open and sure enough it was. The AC was adequate and as cold as one chose to have it. There were gas grills, patio tables and torch lighting at each cottage. We also had a nice covered porch on the front where we were able to sit and relax.

It is very quiet. Cranes, egrets, pelicans, gulls and osprey along with regular birds inhabited the area. One night, we spotted a manatee swimming parallel to the shore. It crossed right under the dock.

The dock was great fun! We found the fishing from the dock much better than from our boat, although when it was still with no breeze, the no-see-ums were bad.

The cottage was clean and attractive. There was a stove, a nice sized frig, microwave. Utensils, silverware, plates, glasses were plenty. Internet dial-up was available, as well as a portable telephone with free local calls. Unlike many accomodations, we found the beds to be very comfortable, the linens clean, fresh and well maintained.

The cleaning staff (exterior and interior) were on the grounds everyday with no extra charges for this service, which is unique in many places these days.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (3 nights). The only thing that would have made for a better trip would have been better weather!

  • Liked — Comfortable, Attractive, Peaceful, Natural, Pet-Friendly
  • Disliked — Rain/wind caused the water to be cloudy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VEve_713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Awesome vacation for those who want a beautiful Old Florida experience....and don't want to leave their dog(s) at home. If you're looking for an over-the-top, designer-sweater-tied-around-your-shoulders experience, this is not for you. The cottages are charming and equipped with all the necessities (in the Keys, you don't need much to begin with) and immaculately clean (crew visits daily to make sure you have new towels and trash removed). The grounds are gorgeous, the fishing and snorkeling fantastic, and the on-site managers absolutely warm and wonderful. The only drawback...no-see-ums at dawn and dusk who bite like crazy. When I die and go to heaven, I hope it looks like this. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The simple, exquisite way of living
  • Disliked — not cheap...but not much is these days
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
6.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
8.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,415 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gate Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gate Court

Property: White Gate Court
Address: 76010 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 1528, Islamorada, FL 33036-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, secluded getaway, where Pets are always welcome. Only 7 units on 3 acres of tropical beauty, with old time charm and modern comfort. 220 Feet of private white-sanded beach area, free dockage, great snorkeling and night fishing, complimentary beach towels, free use of Kayaks and bicycles. BBQ grills for each unit, filtered water supplied for each refrigerator, fully equipped kitchens and more. Personalized attention, great hospitality. We have a brand new Dock!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gate Court Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing