We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stressed? This is the place to R-E-L-A-X...”
Review of White Gate Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Gate Court
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

YES I DID...I had to stay here 2 L-O-N-G extended weekends back to back to get a good sense and feel of this very unique property and atmosphere. Pretty much, Langenfass' contribution was spot on. We brought most of our own food to cook, our own pillows and pillow top mattress, liquor & drinks (which made a significant difference in sleep), and we have NO dogs (but we LOVE dogs)! Yes, the cottages are certainly old and outdated; however, they are quaint, clean, and you have what you need. Of course there are pros and cons...just like with everything. Yes, sometimes you have bugs...this is south Florida, we just have to get over it. But here at the White Gate Court (at least for me), the pros certainly outweighed the cons. The overall experience for me was much more rewarding than staying at many 4 or 5 star resorts.

I travel frequently for business and usually stay at upscale properties and enjoy finer things (but not overly picky and/or pretentious) and love the appeal and amenities they offer; however, staying at the White Gate was the answer to my stressed and hectic life. Somehow, in it's own unique and heavenly way, it gave me solace and provided much needed relaxation.
The grill outside was perfect. The table and chairs outside...perfect. Making new friends...perfect. Service (thanks to Terri and everyone there)...perfect. The beach area...perfect. The View...Oh the View...perfect. The stars seemed brighter...perfect. The wildlife, including Egrets, Blue Herons, Pelicans, Cormorants, Ibis, Ospreys and many other birds...perfect. The bikes to use to ride up to Robbies...perfect. The kayaks to use for fun over the crystal blue waters...perfect.

Islamorada and the Middle Keys is such a perfect location and I want to visit more of it. I've lived in FL for 28 years now and need to explore more of the Keys, more Scuba Diving, more Kayaking, and more Exploring! Don't get me wrong, I do want to stay at other neat places and locations that need to be checked out, but I will tell you without hesitation: I WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK. And if you're lucky enough to travel with dogs...OMG, such a No Brainer. I just left this morning and hated to pack...I want more time here! We stayed in units #6 (closest to water but a bit small for me), #1 (closer to main entrance but nice suite with sitting area), and #5 (larger villa and adequate for 2 couples). You can check out their floor plans on their website.

Have FUN when you go, take time to take in the tastes, sights, sounds, and smells at this special secluded property.

Conch on everyone...

Room Tip: Included in my review. BUT Uh, don't be ridiculous like us and take your phones (to use for came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Good Afternoon: Thank you for such a great review, we really appreciate the feedback, so we can make it even better for your next vacation here at WGC.

We were very happy to hear that you had a great and relaxing time here with us. The next time
you feel stressed out again, please come and join us!

Please be advised that we have a brand new Dock and it is beautiful, especially at night.

Hope to see you soon...

Warm Wishes,

Jane
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent Valentine's weekend in #4 with comfortable, clean king bed. Everything else in these rooms is, as others have noted, worn and small...but my dears... this is the Florida Keys. The value of the White Gate is the secluded property, soft grass for your dogs to run free and swim in Florida Bay, gas grills, a private beach, a new dock for fishing, a short paddle to grass flats and mangrove islands. We met three other couples, all kindred souls who enjoy nature, their dogs and kids, and a glass of wine with conversation at sunset. Perfect...if you understand the Keys. There is great food nearby in Islamorada, although my favorite was breakfast on the dock with the tarpon and pelicans at Robbie's. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I, with our dog, stayed here over the past weekend. We stayed in unit # 4, which is a studio room with king bed and full kitchen. It was so cute, very comfortable, and very clean. It had been freshly painted too, which was great (except for the slight smell of paint still lingering). The housekeeper had placed some fresh flowers right from the resort grounds in spots throughout the room, which was a sweet touch. The bathroom is a bit small and the shower stall is very small and concrete brick so it felt a bit like showering in a prison cell, but that is the nature of the old 50's style buildings in the Keys, and certainly no big deal - the shower still felt great after being out and about in the hot sun all day. The mattress was good, but just a bit too firm for our taste, but again no big deal. There was a nice flat screen tv in the room with cable and a dinette table and chairs which we used to enjoy a takeout dinner from the nearby Outback Steakhouse one evening and had a lovely dinner in our room. The fridge and kitchen are very convenient, even though we didn't do any cooking on our vacation. This was our first stay at this resort and we chose it because we wanted to travel with our dog and this was the most pet friendly place we found. Also it is very close to Robbie's Marina - which is our favorite place to spend time (and to have wonderful meals at their restaurant The Hungry Tarpon), so it was a convenient place for us to stay. Terri was very helpful to me in answering many questions by email before our stay and was a pleasure to meet in person upon check in. However, you are left alone after that to enjoy the resort and your stay - which is great. As a matter of fact, 99% of our time here it felt as if we were the only guests. We did meet a couple of other guests and their dogs and had quick friendly chats, but for the most part it was like we had the whole place to ourselves most of the time. Our cottage had a small seating area off the back porch area facing lots of trees and the lovely grounds. Out the front door there was a patio table with umbrella, chairs, and tiki torches to enjoy the view of the water. The beach area was pretty roomy and we saw lots of fish off the dock area (LOTS of parrot fish, a baby barracuda, yellow tang, and other colorful tropical fish). We even watched an evening of tarpon action at the neighbors' dock which had underwater lighting that attracted them. Unfortunately, we were unable to allow our dog to be off-leash at the resort as it is not closed in - the large entrance gate is left open at the road and we were afraid to have our dog run out the gate onto the highway. So, we were limited in our relaxation having our dog leashed to us the whole time. However, you don't hear the highway at the resort and the room was very quiet, didn't hear the neighbors, etc.. Overall, we would definately stay here again, and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a nice (partial) view of the water. Seemed to have the best water view of all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank indianakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a tough place to review because it has pros and cons. We loved it, and will definitely go back. A lot of our friends will also love it, but not everyone will.
First: We like small places with personality---no concrete high-rise boxes or acres of asphalt---and the grounds here are beautiful. Plenty of thick green grass, shade trees, ferns and flowers, and open space. The grounds really are like a park.
And we wanted waterfront----not just a boat ramp, or a seawall (which is what you get in a lot of Keys places thjat advertise "waterfront") --but a real sandy "beach" area you can lie on and access the water from. It's right here.
Here's the big surprise that was really great: the snorkeling off the beach rivals the reefs. Amazing tropical fish and sea life right there. Even the few Keys places that do have a beach usually just have an empty sandy bottom---sure, you can see bottom, but there's nothing to look at. Here, there are docks and other structures that provide shelter and attract fish, so the snorkeling is just terrific.
They also have paddleboats and bikes guests can use at no extra charge, any time.
Here's the down side: the interiors are old and tired. They are spotlessly clean, and everything works, and the kitchen has everything you need (or at least everything I can imagine needing; their web site is more detailed about what's there or not).
But things are definitely tired and show signs of wear. Just a few new fixtures and some minor fix-up of dings and dents would make a world of difference.
If you're looking for a place featured in a design magazine, or for a rocking bar scene and crowds, then this is not the place for you.
You also need to take whatever personal items you want with you, or drive about 3 miles to the nearest stores, bars and restaurants. We had no problem at all, going by their own website and just asking before arrival, knowing what we needed to take and doing so.
In short, if you're looking for trendy luxury, bars and service, you probably won't like this.
But if you want a quiet, uncrowded green spot with terrific snorkeling and pet-friendly, this might be the place for you. It definitely was for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a long weekend at White Gate Ct. with friends. We booked here so we could bring our dogs. This property is a fantastic place for animals to run and enjoy time with the owners.. It end there. The cottages are tired, shabby sheets and towels and the most shocking of all a kitchen with ovens removed.....really! We had brought food for an on-property weekend and could only grill or cook on a stove top. I had to go to the store to buy soap for the dishes. The kitchen equipment was terrible as well. This could be a lovely property with some attention and up-dating. Our last trip here as there are other better choices in the Keys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We hate to hear that our beautiful pet friendly place did not meet with your standards. We don't advertise ovens in the cottages, really, and we always make sure our guest know that we provide only basic items in them. We inform guests that they need to bring any personal items that they will need. If there were problems, such as no dish soap, all you have to do is come to the office and report any problems and we will do our best to fix them to your liking. Since we didn't hear anything from you, we thought you were content and comfortable. We are confident that we are unigue in our pet policy and anyone will be hard pressed to find another place that makes vacationing with your pets as good experience as we provide here for them, where they can play everywhere on the beach and grounds without being on their leashes with their owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived after 5:00 pm and was greated by a man who spoke broken English. The usual person who does the check in was "taking a nap". He told us the door is unlocked and the key is inside.

The cabin (number 5) itself is a good size and clean. However, a previous guest must have dropped a pasta sauce jar, because there was dried old sauce still on the fridge door that never got cleaned. We found a few creepy crawlies, but we are in Florida, so it is to be expected. I just did not like it when I found a bug crawling on my chest when I was trying to fall asleep. The beds were firm, but comfortable. I wish they were a queen size though. My husband and I fought for space.

The kitchen is stocked with mostly what you need for a basic meal. They even supplied the doggie food and water bowls.

The grounds are nice. You can use the single kayaks and bicycles available. Someone left behind a Bocce set for others to play. They have space for people who want to bring their boat.

They only supply several sample bars of soap. Shampoo and conditioners are up to you to bring.

I think for what you get, the cabins are over priced. I only paid the higher fees because it is hard to find a place that allows dogs and can accommodate 5 people.

Room Tip: The cabins are set away from the busy road, so road noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annaegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I give the White Gate Court a four based on it is some place you can bring your dogs and let them run, the cabins and grounds were kept neat and clean. The staff was friendly. The cabins are pretty old but well maintained and comfortable. If you want staff that waits on you hand and foot this is not the place for you. It was perfect for what we were looking for.

Our dogs had a last running and swimming! They were super worn out by the end of the day. One note of importance, the place is note completely fenced in and they leave the gate open. Our dogs decided to take a side trip on their own so we had to really pay attention to them after that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tugdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
15.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
663 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort & Marina
8.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gate Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gate Court

Address: 76010 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 1528, Islamorada, FL 33036-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range: $169 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, secluded getaway, where Pets are always welcome. Only 7 units on 3 acres of tropical beauty, with old time charm and modern comfort. 220 Feet of private white-sanded beach area, free dockage, great snorkeling and night fishing, complimentary beach towels, free use of Kayaks and bicycles. BBQ grills for each unit, filtered water supplied for each refrigerator, fully equipped kitchens and more. Personalized attention, great hospitality. We have a brand new Dock!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gate Court Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing