We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service off the chart awesome place .”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

even w the renovations this place is by far the friendliest place to stay .rooms are spacious .pool area and tiki bar very nice.can't wait to come back next yr to see how much better it can be after remodel.by the way we did get the 15% discount and we were told up front about the the work being done.NVR really heard any noise of construction.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Good afternoon Keithbean1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate all the kind feedback because we think our staff is the best in town so we are glad you feel same way. We can't wait to have you come back and visit once the renovations are complete and see all our upgrades.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel was being remodeled so someday it may nice but, they should have warned us of this before booking. This teaches me to read the reviews. When, I checked in they said that I would get a 15% discount due to the construction but when I was check out they had amnesia and refused to provide the discount. Little to no parking due to the construction.
The location is perfect if you are going fishing out of Bud & Mary's.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Good afternoon Bill S,
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay. If you would you please email me directly to look at your room rate, typically when the room has been booked the discount is applied but if it was not then I definitely want to get it fixed for you. We also agree that Bud-N-Mary's is an amazing place so we are glad you got to experience it. Look forward to hearing from you soon, gm@theislamoradaresort.com

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on several occasions. Former Hampton Inn. The rooms could stand to be updated and I believe that is taking place now. Tiki bar and beach are incredible. Hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach have perfect view. Snorkel tours and wave runner rentals on site. Excellent place to stay while on the way to or from Key West.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Good afternoon William G,
Thank you for such a kind review! We love our hammocks and the tiki bar is pretty awesome as well! We hope that you will come back and visit us and stay even longer next time!
Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice and quiet resort. Very clean with a friendly staff. Only drawback was the renovations going on right now that consisted of awful drilling that began at 8am and ended promptly at 6pm. Our rental car was covered with an inch of concrete dust and when I asked about it they quickly got someone to come out with a hose and wash down the car. Breakfast is included....nothing special but enough.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Good afternoon taj4,
Thank you for the kind and very truthful review of our hotel. We think we have great staff and I am so happy that they were able to assist you as we never want to inconvenience our guests and we know that between the drilling and the dust on your car was just that. We hope that you will come back and visit us once we are completed and we will save you some sunshine when it's not as warm during a Jersey winter.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Even though the Hotel was under construction, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Can't wait to see it when the renovation is completed. The food at the pool bar was really good and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping, too, was responsive to all our needs. I had asked for a couple of extra top sheets (instead of using the bedspread at night) and voila~ they were dropped off immediately. This was a family trip, and it was nice to have plenty of space around the pool and out on the beach for family to congregate.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside and really enjoyed the convenience, but might have enjoyed the view from the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Good afternoon jojogr,
Hope you had a safe trip back to Hot Springs! Thank you so much for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed Islamorada and our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience of renovation as we know that it was disturbing but we hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon once it is complete and enjoy some of the great things we offer in the Florida Keys.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked this resort because we are divers, we dive in the morning and then head back to the room and relax then head out in the evening. The noise in the room was so loud from the construction that it was impossible to even stay in the rooms during the day. We payed full price for this room and did not find out about the construction until we checked in, They offered us drink specials to compensate for the construction noise? This is a total rebuild going on, the rooms are ok, the beds are hard, the noise is unbearable. DO NOT go to this resort until the construction is complete. The restaurant is no longer an Outback Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dscomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Good afternoon Dscomp,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel from your past stay. I apologize that the construction was so disturbing to you and your guests as we are trying to be as accommodating as possible during this time and we would like to make sure that you felt this way. When you have a moment if you can contact me directly to discuss in further I would greatly appreciate it as we love our divers and want them to have the best time in the world diving our wrecks and coral reefs. I can be reached at gm@theislamoradaresort.com

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel. The short review is that I would not hesitate to give them my repeat business!

This is a hotel that is going through renovations (Interior renovations are scheduled to be complete mid-December). Our room was a large (lots of space) two room suite facing the ocean. It was freshly painted with bright cheery colors and very clean. The furniture in the living area was a little dated, but clean and in good condition. The bathrooms (there were two) were clean with new tile on the floor and a mix of new and old fixtures. That is to say that some fixtures were replaced in the renovation and others were not. The old fixtures were in good condition, but dated and a little worn. The bathrooms were very clean like everything else. The beds were a little firm for my liking, but in good condition.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, even giving us a late check out on our last day which gave us some more time to hang out on the beach.

The continental breakfast was good, but lacking any type of protein. You could have a Belgian waffles, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, and fruit juices.

The only issue I had with the renovations was the noise (very loud) during the day while the work crew was jack hammering the old concrete and tile flooring in the units being renovated. Most noise was over by 5, but I could see where that would be an issue if you were hanging out at the hotel all day, or just wanted to take a nap in one of the hammocks that were under the shade of the palm trees by the water.

Bottom line: I would return even now, but look forward to visiting after the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and we chose one overlooking the water, but you can see the ocean from any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Good afternoon James B,
Wow what a nice review on the property. We really appreciate all the feedback and hope you are able to come back and visit us as soon as the renovations are completed (or even sooner) as even though you are in Jacksonville it is still not too far away. Hope you had a safe trip home and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $239 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing