We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amara Cay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveler rating
731
473
157
63
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
473
157
63
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshampton innoutback steakhousekey westbeach areasea walllazy days restaurantbedroom suiteshuttle serviceman made beachpalm treeslounge chairshot tubdive shoppool barplenty of chairsview of the oceannice beach
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We didn't stay at the resort, but happen to wander into the gift shop Island Trendz. Christina made my girlfriend feel so welcome and was key with helping her find the perfect bathing suit. I would recommend this shop and cannot wait to visit it again and stay at the resort.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JM9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Good afternoon JM9988,
So glad that you stopped by and were able to shop in our gift shop! We think it is probably the best one in town so very happy you guys agreed as well. Next time you are in the area we do really hope that you stay with us and are always welcome.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Islamorada Resort for 2 nights. We got an upgraded room at no extra charge. We were on the 5th floor and our room was close to the road. We could hear a lot of the traffic while we were trying to sleep. The room was nice, but could stand to have an upgrade in decor. We had a separate bedroom with 2 beds, and then a sitting room with a pull out sofa and a kitchen. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was great - with a lot to chose from - cereals, fruit, make your own waffles, bagels, juices, coffee, etc. The pool was clean and the beach was nice. You do have to go down stairs to get into the water. While we were there our first and only full day, maintenance was trimming the palm trees around the pool. They had closed access to the pool/beach for 2 hours (7:30-9:30) but then extended it longer for another hour and a half. My husband complained to the front desk because it was our only full day there and we were spending a lot of money to not be able to use their pool or beach. They had nothing to say except they were sorry. They didn't even offer the suggestion of going around the building by going out front and down the side of the building to the beach. We figured that out on our own. Then to make matters worse, the maintenance crew spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon chipping the palm branches in a wood chipper so you heard that machine running. Fortunately for anyone reading this, they are done trimming, so hopefully you won't have to encounter what we experienced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Good afternoon JodiRoss,
Thank you for the recent review on our property and I am so sorry that the tree cutting took as long as it did and that you were inconvenienced as we hate when our guests feel that but your feedback on the process was a great insight that has been discussed with both the staff and the landscapers. I know New Jersey isn't as close to us as other places but I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if you call me I will be sure to make sure we don't cut trees while you are here.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Employees were friendly and helpful, place was clean, but decor was outdated. Ocean view was nice and beach area was well maintained, however, beaches in the keys are not nice sandy beaches. The on site restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast included.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Good afternoon Dan,
Thank you so much for the recent review on our property. We agree with you and think we have fantastic employees as well and I am glad that you enjoyed our new restaurant. We agree that we are needing a facelift and infact it has already began and we hope to be finished in December and hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for three on our recent holiday in the Keys. The whole experience was first class! The staff extremely friendly and very helpful indeed. The hotel and rooms were very clean and it felt like a home away from home. The facilities were top notch too, the pool,and beach like shore line; the bar and restaurant on site gave excellent value for money, with live entertainment as well. Of course the beautiful weather helped ( much appreciated coming from the UK!). Would definitely stay there again if in the area. Thank you for Islamorada Resort for the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Good afternoon from across the pond! We are so thrilled that you had a lovely holiday with us here and we have passed along all your compliments to each of the departments. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I had a little problem with the website (Expedia) hanging up and inadvertently booked two rooms and didn't realize it until we checked in ( arriving late from Massachusetts ). The woman at the desk graciously acknowledged that there had been a mistake and didn't charge us for canceling the second unwanted room. I really appreciated that.

We had a one bedroom suite which was perfect for the three of us --two adults and our teenage son. Beds were very comfortable and the room nice and clean. Housekeeping comes daily. (Be sure to use the door hanger to not disturb when in the room ). Beautiful view with lounge chairs on a small beach. It was so calming to rent a kayak from Sea Monkey's and go out into the ocean in the morning....gorgeous out there with a cool breeze. Pool was warm and very clean. We really liked having the continental breakfast included. All the staff was friendly. The only downside is that parking is tight. Our rental car got side swiped.. glad it was a rental.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank ksez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Good Afternoon Kim,
So glad the front desk staff was able to fix that reservation mishap for you with no troubles at all and you were able to continue your vacation smoothly. We couldn't agree more kayaking (or anything on the water) is a favorite past time in our lovely island. Hope you come back and visit us again soon, and let us know we will save you a parking spot so you don't get swiped again (sorry about that).

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews