We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a relaxing weekend getaway.”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We're just finishing a terrific long weekend getaway. The property was more than we expected, and then some! We arrived on a Friday morning and were able to check into our room...or should I say one bedroom apartment. The room was immaculate, with a full kitchen, including cooktop, microwave and full size refrigerator. The living area was tastefully decorated and had a small balcony with an ocean view. The bedroom was basic, but for us, that was just fine. The hotel public spaces were also extremely well maintained, with a nice pool and hot tub. The beach area was small and honestly not conducive to swimming. Outback Restaurant shares the public space and offers guests a nice poolside bar with a respectable selection of craft beer. My only disappointments (and they are minor): No place to "walk on the beach" (not really the hotel's fault), and the fact that the property is somewhat isolated; we only found one other restaurant that was within walking distance. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for Amara Cay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

More than your ordinary Hampton! Beautiful setup with well landscaped pool attached to Outback Steakhouse with outdoor Tiki Bar and nicely maintained beach front, but it isn't the most affordable Hampton though either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stay here if you are staying in Islamorada, happy and responsive staff, great rooms and increadable views, very clean property, beautiful sparkling pool, Great and healthy breakfast, awesome location, private beach and great value

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had an great time... Now I am ready to go back to reality. This place is super clean and comfortable. The pool is very nice and the atmosphere is great. They had live music during the weekend. Having Outback inside the hotel is also very convenient. Their food is great. I love this place and will come back many times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Much better location and breakfast than the Hampton Inn Key Largo. This Islamorada location directly on Overseas Highway is a little pricier than the Key Largo location but well worth the difference. From almost every room, the property allows a view of the ocean from a nice wide balcony -We stayed in a room on the 5th FL. There is an Outback restaurant on property and a Lazy Days restaurant next door so one does not have to search too far for good food. Gift shop on property and a Sea Monkey facility that offers bike, kayak, paddleboard and jet ski rental.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful establishment! EVERYTHING was clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Spacious rooms, beautiful views, everything you need all in one place. Looking forward to returning in the future. I am recommending this location to EVERYONE I know. Thank you to everyone at the Islamorada Hampton Inn!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With great anticipation my wife and I booked the Hampton Inn in Islamorada, looking forward to a great adventure in the Florida Keys. What we experienced was a poorly maintained Hampton Inn that uses its location and fantastic ocean views to charge the customers a premium price. I personally would not choose to stay there again, instead I would drive 20 miles north and stay in Key Largo, where the Hampton Inn is in much better condition and significantly less expensive.

We used HHonors points to stay here for one night, and it costs us 2X as many points as most Hamptons in Florida. If it was up to the standard of most Hamptons, it would have been worth it because the views from the upper floors are AMAZING. Only problem is that view is only from the balcony as the bedrooms facing the ocean have NO WINDOWS. And sadly, the condition of the room doesn't make you want to stick around and enjoy the view, with bathrooms that are not worthy of Hampton, and a kitchenette what was far worse for wear.

This Hampton Inn has a Outback Steakhouse, and a TIKI bar in back, so we availed ourselves of the happy hour Mai Tais. A nice pool was unfortunately over-run with a bunch of dudes intent on partying like there was no tomorrow, drinking beer in the pool, so parents with kids should beware that this place might cater to fishing buddy weekends where partying is the name of the game. Nothing wrong with partying, but this is not what I'd consider a great family hotel.

Excellent live music out on the deck made for a great ambiance, but the surly bartender at the TIKI bar who obviously found no joy in his job made us want to leave. Leave we did, out to the shore line (no beach, like most of the keys... just a seawall) where we lazed in a hammock and enjoyed the view. That was definitely the best thing about the stay, enjoying the breeze, sipping on a MaiTai...

We were going to stay a second night, but the bedding is also not to Hampton standards, and upon discovering this before turning in we called down to notify the front desk staff that we would be checking out in the morning. Hard beds with not very nice linens was a surprise to us, as the Hamptons we've stayed at in the past were nothing short of luxurious... but not this place. It was like a Motel 6 dressed up as a Hampton, charging higher than Hampton prices.

In particular, the bathroom was really poor quality compared to most Hamptons. Composite countertops, soap dish worn through, and paint coming off the bathroom door points to a facility that is not being maintained, but that fact is not reflected in the pricing. Disappointing to say the least. The pictures say it all!

You can pay between $209 and $239 to stay at this place on the weekends, and I have to say that it is NOT worth how much they are charging. Front desk staff is very nice, and the morning breakfast is okay, but I don't know how they can justify charging as much as $100 more than the average going rate for a Hampton makes me think that they probably rely on one-time customers and don't have much repeat business.

Don't get me wrong... I really like Hampton Inns in general, but this place was by far the most expensive and least nice Hampton we have ever stayed in, so you might want to consider staying in Key Largo, or trekking down to Key West where they are supposedly opening a new Hampton Inn which I'm sure will be very nice...

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms have no bedroom windows, for opt for a partial ocean view overlooking the poo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank groovology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,846 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $215 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing