We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the amenities, love the location!”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Juno Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the amenities, love the location!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Much better location and breakfast than the Hampton Inn Key Largo. This Islamorada location directly on Overseas Highway is a little pricier than the Key Largo location but well worth the difference. From almost every room, the property allows a view of the ocean from a nice wide balcony -We stayed in a room on the 5th FL. There is an Outback restaurant on property and a Lazy Days restaurant next door so one does not have to search too far for good food. Gift shop on property and a Sea Monkey facility that offers bike, kayak, paddleboard and jet ski rental.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    437
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
462
544
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful establishment! EVERYTHING was clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Spacious rooms, beautiful views, everything you need all in one place. Looking forward to returning in the future. I am recommending this location to EVERYONE I know. Thank you to everyone at the Islamorada Hampton Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With great anticipation my wife and I booked the Hampton Inn in Islamorada, looking forward to a great adventure in the Florida Keys. What we experienced was a poorly maintained Hampton Inn that uses its location and fantastic ocean views to charge the customers a premium price. I personally would not choose to stay there again, instead I would drive 20 miles north and stay in Key Largo, where the Hampton Inn is in much better condition and significantly less expensive.

We used HHonors points to stay here for one night, and it costs us 2X as many points as most Hamptons in Florida. If it was up to the standard of most Hamptons, it would have been worth it because the views from the upper floors are AMAZING. Only problem is that view is only from the balcony as the bedrooms facing the ocean have NO WINDOWS. And sadly, the condition of the room doesn't make you want to stick around and enjoy the view, with bathrooms that are not worthy of Hampton, and a kitchenette what was far worse for wear.

This Hampton Inn has a Outback Steakhouse, and a TIKI bar in back, so we availed ourselves of the happy hour Mai Tais. A nice pool was unfortunately over-run with a bunch of dudes intent on partying like there was no tomorrow, drinking beer in the pool, so parents with kids should beware that this place might cater to fishing buddy weekends where partying is the name of the game. Nothing wrong with partying, but this is not what I'd consider a great family hotel.

Excellent live music out on the deck made for a great ambiance, but the surly bartender at the TIKI bar who obviously found no joy in his job made us want to leave. Leave we did, out to the shore line (no beach, like most of the keys... just a seawall) where we lazed in a hammock and enjoyed the view. That was definitely the best thing about the stay, enjoying the breeze, sipping on a MaiTai...

We were going to stay a second night, but the bedding is also not to Hampton standards, and upon discovering this before turning in we called down to notify the front desk staff that we would be checking out in the morning. Hard beds with not very nice linens was a surprise to us, as the Hamptons we've stayed at in the past were nothing short of luxurious... but not this place. It was like a Motel 6 dressed up as a Hampton, charging higher than Hampton prices.

In particular, the bathroom was really poor quality compared to most Hamptons. Composite countertops, soap dish worn through, and paint coming off the bathroom door points to a facility that is not being maintained, but that fact is not reflected in the pricing. Disappointing to say the least. The pictures say it all!

You can pay between $209 and $239 to stay at this place on the weekends, and I have to say that it is NOT worth how much they are charging. Front desk staff is very nice, and the morning breakfast is okay, but I don't know how they can justify charging as much as $100 more than the average going rate for a Hampton makes me think that they probably rely on one-time customers and don't have much repeat business.

Don't get me wrong... I really like Hampton Inns in general, but this place was by far the most expensive and least nice Hampton we have ever stayed in, so you might want to consider staying in Key Largo, or trekking down to Key West where they are supposedly opening a new Hampton Inn which I'm sure will be very nice...

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms have no bedroom windows, for opt for a partial ocean view overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plantation, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

hotel staff very friendly and helpful. room was great even upgraded us as quest of the day. would recommend to anyone staying the Islamorada area. outback was right there and even delivered to your room. location was great and close to all we wanted to do. breakfast offered good choices. hotel basically has it all, gym, pool, Jacuzzi and nice beach front for R&R in hammocks, etc. located close to activities and things to do. 2nd time we stayed here and would absolutely do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great Hotel, modern amenities, which is hard to find on Islamorada, superb breakfast, friendly staff , nice pool area and enough beach/sand area to sun tan and enjoy the ocean view, highly recommend, and we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank paulfortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada. I really enjoyed the property. Rooms were Modern and up to date. I had a two bedroom suite, and although the lay out was a little odd it was still nice.

The nicest part of the hotel was the staff. Angela seemed to always be at the front desk, and was always very helpful. Whether it was just a question or asking her for a late check out. Kara was also very nice in granting me the late Checkout. I am a Hilton Honors member, and Hilton, and its sister properties are my preferred hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was included. It was very nice, and a step up from the usual continental breakfast. They had a small gym, but all of the equipment was nice. Outback Steak House is also in the building, and that was nice. It has a beautiful view of the Ocean.

Good Job guys, and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, and was able to upgrade to a two bed room for $25.00 extra. We also book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeluca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The king suite w/ kitchen faced the ocean and the view was great. Coffee on the balcony was perfect. The room was big, nice and very clean. The staff was wonderful. The engineer even blew up a raft for me that I bought in the gift shop. It was quiet and I felt very safe. There is live music by the pool early evening and was not to loud or disruptive. I will stay there again on my next fishing trip to Islamorada.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfoster419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,340 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing