We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend in the keys”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

hotel staff very friendly and helpful. room was great even upgraded us as quest of the day. would recommend to anyone staying the Islamorada area. outback was right there and even delivered to your room. location was great and close to all we wanted to do. breakfast offered good choices. hotel basically has it all, gym, pool, Jacuzzi and nice beach front for R&R in hammocks, etc. located close to activities and things to do. 2nd time we stayed here and would absolutely do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great Hotel, modern amenities, which is hard to find on Islamorada, superb breakfast, friendly staff , nice pool area and enough beach/sand area to sun tan and enjoy the ocean view, highly recommend, and we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank paulfortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada. I really enjoyed the property. Rooms were Modern and up to date. I had a two bedroom suite, and although the lay out was a little odd it was still nice.

The nicest part of the hotel was the staff. Angela seemed to always be at the front desk, and was always very helpful. Whether it was just a question or asking her for a late check out. Kara was also very nice in granting me the late Checkout. I am a Hilton Honors member, and Hilton, and its sister properties are my preferred hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was included. It was very nice, and a step up from the usual continental breakfast. They had a small gym, but all of the equipment was nice. Outback Steak House is also in the building, and that was nice. It has a beautiful view of the Ocean.

Good Job guys, and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, and was able to upgrade to a two bed room for $25.00 extra. We also book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeluca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The king suite w/ kitchen faced the ocean and the view was great. Coffee on the balcony was perfect. The room was big, nice and very clean. The staff was wonderful. The engineer even blew up a raft for me that I bought in the gift shop. It was quiet and I felt very safe. There is live music by the pool early evening and was not to loud or disruptive. I will stay there again on my next fishing trip to Islamorada.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfoster419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is in a good location of Islamorada, but is from the 1970's and although has had a minor facelift, which was on-going at time of check-in, Sept., 2013, still has that old time vibe, i.e., old bathrooms with formica countertops. At $200.00 a night I would expect a little luxury. However, the bed linens were of the usual Hampton Inn good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visit the Florida Keys several times a year and always chose the Hampton Inn in Islamorada as the place to stay. Clean, comfortable, convienient facilities, perfect for a trip with the guys fishing, or with family for some down time. Kudo's to Kara and her entire staff for continuing to make me feel welcome every time Ii show up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is fabulous but we were on the 1st floor by the pool/bar area and there were a lot of loud guests playing their own music and talking loudly in Spanish. This made it difficult to get to sleep. Plus my bed was way too firm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
5 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
23.1 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $267 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing